We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a week's family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meninx

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Meninx to your Saves list
Hotel Meninx
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sidi Mahrez | Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Djerba Island
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for a week's family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I must admit, on arrival I wasn't too sure if we were going to enjoy a week at this hotel, but after the first day we relaxed and got into it.
We travelled as a family of four, 2 small children (2 and 4 years). The rooms are quite small for a family. It is essentially a quadrouple room as there are no "family rooms". Our daughter slept at the bottom of a bunk bed but it was quite narrow and she fell out of it a few nights in a row. We made room for a cot which was provided by the hotel so we used the top of the bunk bed to store toys, nappies etc. Our double bed was two single beds which were pushed together but made up separately so essentially we slept in two separate beds for the week. We also requested to have the mattresses changed on our bed as they were very old and my husband woke up two mornings in a row with a sore back. Eventually after a couple of reminders, they changed our mattresses and all was good. Also, the mosquitos in the room were a killer. My husband and I went on a covert operation before going to sleep each night to ensure our children didn't get bitten during the night.
Otherwise, the pool areas are great. The outdoor pool was a little 'fresh' so the kids mostly enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool which also has a basin which is very good for little ones (50cm depth). The tiles around the pool areas get very slippery so we were cautious at first with our 2 year old but he came out unscathed.
The beach is nice and the sunchairs and parasols are free and private to the hotel. My husband took a jetski for 30 minutes for 40 euros. There are a lot of offers on the beach for camel rides or horse rides but after you say no 5 times they tend to leave you alone.
I would recommend a couple of day trips as staying at the resort the whole time gets a bit boring. We went to Flamingo Island on a "pirate" ship for the day. After waiting for the main pirate for 45 minutes we took off from the dock. On the island, you could do quad biking, camel riding or horse riding or swim in the sea. It was quite windy the day we went so not fantastic with sand blowing and two small children. The pirates cooked a very tasty meal for lunch and then put on a show which was entertaining and funny, although it's mostly in French and Arab so a lot went over my head.
The other trip we took was a tour of the island. We went to the Djerba museum which was really nice and very interesting. Mostly about the rituals involved in marriage. The displays were great and even our 2 year old enjoyed himself. They also take you to the main city centre for a stop which is busy but good to see.
A couple of tips: check in the fixed price stores before you go and start haggling in the other shops in the town centre. We found that the fixed price stores located near Hotel Meninx and at the hotel itself were very well priced and you didn't need to spend energy haggling over 50cents!
If you are Australian you will need to pay for a visa at the airport. Go with Dinar as they don't accept euros. It was 100 Dinar (50 euros).
Take beach towels as you have to pay 5 euros each for them with another 5 euro deposit.
Take your own tennis raquets as the raquets provided had no grip and were broken a bit.
Take lots of clothes because getting your washing done is expensive (european prices).

Overall we had a good week, but a week was definitely enough for us. After speaking with other travellers, we learnt that going 4 stars (Meninx 3 stars) doesn't get you that much more so I think we had a good holiday for a good price.

Room Tip: We had room 146 which opened up at the back to the pool and easy access to the beach. Our kids had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    371
    141
    63
    50
See reviews for
310
223
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Unfortunately we stayed here only for one week. But it was one of best weeks in my life. Staff was so friendly and open-minded, they smile at you every morning and make your holiday very nice. Animation team VERY NICE...Samir, Jemal, Calimero, Anes and Rafael entertained us every day, we had so much fun with them. Rooms are cool but there are many mosquitos inside. Food was great. There was huge choice of meals. F.E. pasta, pizza, salads, potatoes or rice with meat, grilled meat, desserts... Hotel is really close to the beach. There are three swimming pool, one is outdoor and two are indoor. Unfortunately we couldnt try indoor pool with medicinal water but the other pools were great, water was warm and pure. Beach was also very nice, there are deckchairs and parasols for free. The sea was almost all the days pure and warm, there were waves during two days and therefore some mess. I miss this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

(a child opinion)
i really liked the hotel activities, rooms are cool, restaurant is not bad, miniclub good but they say its a miniclub from 6 years to 13 rears old i'm 13years old and i didn't had fun i felt like the only people who had fun are the 6 years old kids and the animation team!
i really liked the pool and the activities they do but still not so good but i heard its improving and i hope next year will be better.
i hope it was useful for some of you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Estoril, Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed for a week at Meninx.
Must say when we 1st arrived i was a little bit unsure what to expect.
The staff are all very very friendly, most speak fluent french and some speak English also.
The beach is simply wonderful. We took long walks and i have to say that its by far the best one.

Room
No mini bar. The staff was kind enough to, without anyone asking, tune a Portuguese chanel. How good and though full is that?.
Beds are kinda small but the room is very very clean.
We only had a shower no bathtub.
A lot of giant ants :)

Restaurant
Always a lot of salads, 2 grilled dishes ( liver is almost always one of them), typical food and medieranian food (lunch and diner).
Breakfast is ok, although for a fresh real orange juice u pay extra (1 euro i think). Scrambled eggs, omelets etc. No bacon!

Bar
All included is pression drink beer, Coca Cola Sprite Fanta tea coffee kinda bad the coffee) and national alcool drink, one made of fig and the other from "Tamaras" ( national very tasty fruit). No water bottles!! You have machines that provide water all over the hotel (bottled water) but no bottles.
At 4 pm they do pancakes and serve some cakes

Animation team
"Ice ice" very nice animation team! Momo, Calimero, Max, Bisha and all the others are really friendly!! Everyday theres a new show and there are always a lot of activities to do!

Beach:
Caribbean style!! Hot water, clean and pale sand.
Camels, Horses and vendors, but very good!

Ahhh. The hotel has a photographer! very good !

Thats bout it.
Hope you will like it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

All-inclusive package from Paris at 966 euro with Promovacances.com

flight with TunisAir, arrival at the hotel at 3am and the departure from the hotel at 3.30pm

hotel
hotel conveniently close to the beach. small swimming pool. no or small places to stay quite during the day and night, as there is always loud music.

rooms
standard rooms are ok for a 3-stars hotel but have little isolation, especially the doors. rooms no. 8xx are newer and larger, but they might be more expensive.

food & drinks
good food and varied, bottled water, simple but good wine (it does not give headache), fruit and dessert nearly always the same. anyhow I never had stomach disorder.

bar
coffee is made with the espresso machine and quality is ok. local beer and spirits are also served, included in the package.

entertainment
adequate to the hotel category.

other
internet is available through wifi or in a PC both at the hall. the service is expensive, I think 5 dinars for a quarter of hour.
staff is friendly.
clients are requested to bring a plastic bracelet for identification (hotel and package). As I did not feel comfortable with it, I get rid of it at the second day and I had no problem.

Room Tip: rooms no. 8xx are newer, larger and quieter, but maybe more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Petersburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We had a plesant stay 08.08.2009-19.08.2009. Recommended for families with children

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

A medium class hotel with nice and helpful staff.
We where there the two first weeks in august 09, two adults and an eleven year old girl and for the most of the time we had a pleasant stay.
The Settemari animation team was a big plus and so was most of the staff at the hotel.
Wery good shows every night from 22. to 23.00.
The hotel it self was not as glamorous as some of the neighbours but it didn’t bother us.
On the other hand the hotel I think is some years old and in some places it shows.
The pools and surrounding areas was nice both out and indoors.
The hotel was situated on a nice beach.
The food in general was good, breakfeast, lunch and dinner.

On the minus side I must mentiont:
The sun beads, all for free but very run down.
Not much meet on the menu, mostly chicken and grilled fish. A steak would have been nice. The hotell
We had a room with ocean view, but nobody told us that the disco also was on the beach and that there was no way of sleeping until 1:30 -2:00.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meninx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meninx

Address: Sidi Mahrez | Midoun, Djerba Island 4116, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Djerba Island
#27 Spa Hotel in Djerba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meninx 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Meninx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meninx Hotel Djerba
Meninx Resort Djerba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meninx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.