We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewood Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgewood Resort
Save
You added Edgewood Resort to your Saves list
Edgewood Park Road, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Couldn't handle the mismanagement of this operation it just didn't cut it for aan enjoyable stay. locatuion was good for fishing the st lawrence, lots of fish with the correct bait. The pool was not well taken care of either...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    42
    33
    13
    32
See reviews for
43
65
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went to an event here for the Army. The rooms were gorgeous and we had said how we would like to stay here again. Unfortunately, the service was horrendous and the staff is full of the most rude people I have come across. When we had a problem the women told me that they are in the business of making money and that's it. So apparently once the have your money they don't care about return business or the quality of your stay. I will never again stay at this resort nor will I ever attend another function there. Please save yourself the headache of a ruined getaway and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Drum, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was the worst hotel experience that my husband and I have ever experienced. We booked a room because my husband's squadron was having their military ball there. At the end of the night when we went to our bedroom, we could literally hear EVERY word the couple next to us was saying. The walls were literally paper thin. I went to talk to the front desk and let them know we were just going to leave and asked for a refund or at least discount and she refused. I went back to the bedroom and my husband was already packing up because the couple next door was having more than a conversation now... if you know what I mean and we could hear every second of it. We went back to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager. The manager on duty looked like a bartender. He was wearing an apron and my husband swears he was drunk. He was extremely rude and basically said that because we were part of a military group, we're expected to be rowdy. He didn't understand that we didn't care about people having fun and being loud but we shouldn't hear EVERYTHING that was happening in the room next to us. He said that his manager just left who could give the refund so I asked him to call her and he laughed and said he wasn't calling her about this. What a slap in our faces. We had to walk away at that point because we were so dumbfounded that we were being treated like that. We never got a refund. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Edgewood resort this past weekend for my sister’s wedding and we had a great time.
The location is ideal for a wedding on the water- the views are great, and pretty much some of the best of Bolt Castle Island from Alexandria Bay.

Here’s my breakdown of Edgewood:

Grounds: 5/5 – Great upkeep, great for kids/family, and I felt very safe. I can tell the owner is trying to update across all of their rooms and lobby, to make this the premiere resort in Alexandria bay.

Rooms: 3.5/5 – Only issue I had was when our door locks failed and we had to be moved to another room. It was supposed to be an upgrade, but the bathroom was older, the beds weren’t very comfortable, but the view is what saved me from complaining. I would recommend that these rooms should be updated to those similar of the Curtis Cottage. I stayed in room 109, and room 108 was the same décor. (Family stayed there as well) The décor is very.. well.. Rustic, bears, moose, reminds me of a ski lodge or cabin in the wilderness. I didn’t find it tacky, but some modern updates would be nice!

Food/Drinks: 4/5 –We had food from Oscars and the chowder, bruschetta, and their garlic pizza bread was delicious. I can’t say must for their entrees, but I was pretty impressed with the appetizers, catered food for the wedding, and the rehearsal dinner. Bartenders were friendly in their main bar by the lobby, and we had great drinks and great draft pours. A+

I will admit the staff goes out of their way to make you happy. Prices are fair, but I would think some small updates and live entertainment would definitely bring more clientele ( I do know this is the off season).
I would recommend staying here as other places locally didn’t look near the quality. I would like to visit again next summer!

Thanks for a great stay in Alexandria Bay!

Room Tip: Curtis Cottage! 903 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have never in my life asked to change hotel rooms, but after 5 minutes we went to the front desk and asked for a refund and went to a different hotel (Riveredge) and had a much nicer time, this hotel practically ruined our 10th anniversary

Highlights
1. Jacuzzi suite meant a Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom (which BTW did not hold water)
2. Way too pricey for the quality of the room!!
3. View of Boldt Castle is actually a view of the trees and roof from great distance
4. The main picture is NOT of the hotel, it is Singer Castle
5. Porch overlooking the river of the riverfront rooms was practically unusable due to hot air being blown on you from AC in the wall and bugs attracted by the lights next to your door that you or the front desk cannot control

This hotel doesn't seem like it has had any updates or even maintenance work for the past 10-20 years! I am from Northern NY and so I knew not to expect a huge "resort" with all the amenities. I rented a Jacuzzi riverfront suite for our 10 year anniversary. I was surprised by the price for the area: over $300 for one night (weekday). In addition to the problems listed above the décor is very dated, Woodsy I would say, all moose and bears. There were large areas where paint was missing, the room was stifling hot when we arrived. The only positive was that it was a large room with large bathroom and sitting area.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suites are large and have a kitchenette, but ask them to make sure the tub works! But I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Aug 30- Sept 1 2013. Everything was wonderful couldnt ask for better service from the front desk to the people in both of the restaurants the maids and even the gentleman that gave us s ride back to our room in his golf cart. The view that we had was amazing. The walk to town wasnt bad either about a mile one way and we walked it twice a day.The grounds we beautiful and very well cared for. I would definately stay here again. As a matter of fact we are thinking of booking our room now for next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed this past Labor Day Weekend. The landscaping around the grounds of
the hotel are beautiful. We had a beautiful view of the river. I would suggest that they
give free coffee. Most hotels and resorts have done this for years. Good
food at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewood Resort

Address: Edgewood Park Road, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 101
Also Known As:
Edgewood Hotel Alexandria Bay
Edgewood Resort Alexandria Bay
Edgewood Alexandria Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.