We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had higher expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Otter Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Otter Creek Inn
Save
You added Otter Creek Inn to your Saves list
2 Crossmon Street Ext, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tonawanda, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I had higher expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

My wife and I just returned from the Adirondacks and took the opportunity to stop in Alexandria Bay. We chose the Otter Creek Inn based on the reviews we read on Tripadvisor. While it is clean and quiet as many have reviewed, I didn't think it was that great of value since this time of year Alex Bay has limited shopping and restaurants to frequent. The bed was too hard for me and the bathroom could use a nightlight since the only fixture in there is connected to a fan. The owners are pleasant and allowed us to check in early. We had a nice overnight stay but like I said there isn't much to do in the area this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor if you don't mind stairs. No one is above you and will cut down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    55
    12
    8
    13
See reviews for
55
101
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

By no means luxurious, this motel is clean, quiet, accommodating and comfortable, and what more does one require? The sunset from the dock out back was very nice, and we were walking distance to a couple of pretty good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie, pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Otter Creek Inn is the GEM of Alexandria Bay. It was convenient to convenient to everything we wanted to see & do in upstate New York. The owner, Dennis, and everyone who worked there were very friendly & gave us suggestions to restaurants where the locals eat. Thanks. (Not fancy or upscale, but the price can't be beat.)

Room Tip: We always ask for first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We needed a one-night, sleep-over room in A-Bay for the off season during the week. Go to the hotel website for rates (http://www.ottercreekinnabay.com) - reasonable for the area. Quiet area with a boat ramp and docks would be perfect those guests with boats - remember to bring a fishing pole if you're so inclined. Accommodations were very clean but basic. Although designated a "no smoking" room, as a life-long non-smoker, I could immediately detect the distinct smell of stale cigarette smoke in the carpets and upholstery, complete with a cigarette burn in one of the chairs. Nice touch was the small dorm-size refrigerator in the room. Ice by the bucket could be obtained at the office per room info. Coffee available in the office in the morning. Had no idea there was a hairdryer in the room - apparently it is tucked in the dresser per another reviewer. The mattress was pretty darned hard, but I could live with that if it weren't for the plastic mattress cover. Very slippery and the fitted sheet wouldn't even stay on the bed. If the management were to place a simple quilted mattress cover between the fitted sheet and mattress cover, it would be a vast improvement. It would also quiet down the "crinkly" noises made when turning over in bed and make for a more restful sleep. If I were to stay longer, don't know if I would choose again due to the uncomfortable bedding.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Otter Creek Inn. The owners were very nice and helpful and our room was very clean and comfortable. We were there to fish and liked the convenience of the boat launch right there by the motel and the dockage was great. Loved having the electric outlet right by our boat as we have to charge batteries every night. Left my charger on the dock one night and it rained and ruined my charger and kicked the breaker on the dock (my fault) The owner was nice about me kicking the breaker and even offered me a charger to use during our stay (bought a new one) but very nice of him to offer. He even gave us some electrical tape as we had to work on our boat light., Our next stay at Alex Bay will be spent at Otter Creek Inn for sure. We travel there every year for our vacation in September. Close to downtown ( easy walking distance) Just the kind of place we were looking for! Very good rates!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a king bed, slept like a king, very quiet,ultra clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Stayed here from Sep 12-14/14 and were very happy with the helpfulness of the owner, the privacy we experienced and the comfort and space provided by the room. It was far enough away from the festivities along the water (hog show and entertainment) that the music did not keep us up, but close enough to walk to the boat docks. As it was a rainy Saturday, I was very happy to find a hair dryer in the dresser.

Room Tip: We were on the main level with a single king sized bed and parking right on our doorstep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This is a very well cared for and clean property. It is conveniently located a couple of blocks from downtown. That said, I am puzzled why the linens, bath towels and beds are so poor. Our sheets would not stay on the bed. It's a sheet over a plastic bed liner. The elastic was so worn out that you couldn't keep it on while you slept. The cleaning crew knew this but continued to use the same worn out sheets and linens. The towels were terrible. When you rent a room the important things are the bathroom and beds. The beds were very uncomfortable and for the price of $90 to $130 a night I expect to be comfortable. The many posted rules in the room state the cleaning crew will be around from 8-11am. I did not appreciate the 9am pounding on the door every morning. There are no do not disturb notices to hang out. I don't understand why the owners don't ask about what your needs are for refreshing rooms. Why isn't there a swap out of towels available in the office? There should be convenience involved for the paying guests. My husband would trek to the office to get coffee and hot water for tea every morning. The woman was surly. He honestly thought he had offended in some way and was prepared to ask her what the problem was. After the second day he figured it was just her demeanor and we did not want to rock the boat. She actually smiled at him on day 4. Too bad that courtesy was not afforded Days 1-3. Out of a two week trip and staying at some of the other Mom and Pop places in Clayton and Alex Bay, I would not stay in this motel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottercreekinnabay, Owner at Otter Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
We are sorry that this couple did not enjoy their four nights at Otter Creek Inn. We hope they enjoyed the Thousand Islands and Alexandria Bay. Our policy for removing worn out linens is strict and adhered to by the housekeeping staff. We consistently receive good quality ratings for the linens and beds from unannounced professional AAA inspectors. As per the information posted in the room, a quick phone call to the office, a discussion with the owners, or a request to the housekeeping staff would have covered their many issues pertaining to when and what they wanted done to their room. It is troubling to us as owners that these guests did not speak up while they were here, they would have been happier, as would we. If someone needs something, we do our best to help them out. Our goal is for everyone to have a good time and to welcome them back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otter Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter Creek Inn

Address: 2 Crossmon Street Ext, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in picturesque Alexandria Bay on Otter Creek with main channel access and close to museums, golf, miniture golf, tennis, hiking, go-carts, Scuba diving and other family entertainment. We are 2 blocks from downtown and within walking distance to restuarants, boat tours, shopping, boat rentals, park with swimming beach, fishing and guides, and night entertainment. We also offer picnic tables, gas grill, lawn chairs, adjacent boat ramp, fishing from our docks and boat dockage by the foot. All rooms are smoke-free with two double beds or one king bed, AC/heat, full shower, cable TV, telephones and refrigerators. Coffee and microwave available in the office. Locally we have the best ameneties for a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Otter Creek Hotel Alexandria Bay
Otter Creek Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otter Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.