We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Dirty!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Otter Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Otter Creek Inn
Save
You added Otter Creek Inn to your Saves list
2 Crossmon Street Ext, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
USA
2 reviews
“Old and Dirty!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

I stayed here for a few nights, and it was one of the nastiest places I have ever stayed. The furniture was old; the bedding was worn and stained. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABay_Otter, owner at Otter Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2008
Our motel, Otter Creek Inn, is not old, dirty or nasty. It is the only AAA Approved lodging in the area. We continuously pass all AAA (Automobile Association of America) and NYS Department of Health inspections with great reviews. We work very hard to make sure that our guests enjoy their visit to Otter Creek Inn, Alexandria Bay and the Thousand Islands Region. If this reviewer had brought their complaint about their room to us, we would have done our best to resolve the issue. We understand that we can’t please everyone, but this reviewer’s statement is simply untrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    55
    12
    8
    13
See reviews for
55
101
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at the Otter Creek inn, the middle of August, and had a lovely relaxing time. Dennis and Debra couldn't have been more accommodating and made our stay very comfortable. Coffee was always ready first thing in the morning and they were always happy to heat me water for tea. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, and always very clean. All we had to do was ask for any recommendations for places to eat or things to see and our hosts were glad to help. Within 3 blocks walking distance of town we never felt the need to move our car and walked everywhere we wanted to go. Sitting out on their docks in the evening, watching the sun set, ended our evenings just perfectly!! If we ever get back to Alexandria Bay we will be sure to stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

this is a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, the owners treat you like family.
Been returning for many years now and hope to return for many more.

  • Liked — friendly owners
  • Disliked — bed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Otter Creek Inn was great! Rooms are VERY clean, owners were amazing and helpful, close to town and great value! I WILL be back next year!

  • Liked — Ideal location within walking distance of town
  • Disliked — I had to leave!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

stayed 3 nights midweek,i guess i would rate it average.they seemed to have zero tolerance for any excess noise or variation from the rules ,so i don't think this is a great choice for younger people on there own.room was pretty standard,although i was surprised they did not offer any shampoo or other bathroom items and no coffeee maker or hair dryer as i have come to expect in this price range.if you're in town for the nightlife,i would stay closer to the main drag,james st.if you don't bring a boat ,3 days is plenty to see what the area offers.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

My husband and I rode our motorcycle to Alexendra Bay and had a wonderful two night stay at the Otter Creek Inn. The owners were very nice. The chairs by the boat launch were a great place to unwind after our 2 1/2 hr. trip. When we asked if they had local menues, they brought out a stack and gave us their recommendations. This was a great little get away.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stayed in Alexandria Bay for our 33rd Anniversary. I looked through all the hotels/motels and was unable to find even a consensus on a "nice" hotel. I took the reviews for the Otter Creek Inn and decided to book there. At check-in....I got 2 room keys and warned of the rules...."Look next to the thermostat in your room and read the information". Talked about $25 for losing a key...no unregistered guests etc....some just common sense stuff...but a very negative first impression. The king room had only 1 nightstand and small TV (good cable selection)
They say there are the "newest motel" in the area....that being said...don't think they are "New"....has to be over 20 years old..it's just that others are older. Sink in room...not in bathroom.
The linens were terrible. thin bedspread and blankets. The bath towels were extremely small and thin. Very helpful people at the office, but the property needs to be refurbished. Think twice.

  • Liked — Cable Channels
  • Disliked — Linens, Towels
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otter Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otter Creek Inn

Address: 2 Crossmon Street Ext, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in picturesque Alexandria Bay on Otter Creek with main channel access and close to museums, golf, miniture golf, tennis, hiking, go-carts, Scuba diving and other family entertainment. We are 2 blocks from downtown and within walking distance to restuarants, boat tours, shopping, boat rentals, park with swimming beach, fishing and guides, and night entertainment. We also offer picnic tables, gas grill, lawn chairs, adjacent boat ramp, fishing from our docks and boat dockage by the foot. All rooms are smoke-free with two double beds or one king bed, AC/heat, full shower, cable TV, telephones and refrigerators. Coffee and microwave available in the office. Locally we have the best ameneties for a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Otter Creek Hotel Alexandria Bay
Otter Creek Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otter Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.