We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our place to stay in the Bay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Ledge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Ledge Motel
Save
You added Rock Ledge Motel to your Saves list
45302 State Route 12, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our place to stay in the Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

As we have done for the past ten years (!!) we spent this past Memorial Day Weekend at the Rock Ledge Motel – and were just as delighted with the place as ever. We like staying at the Rock Ledge because we know what to expect: super-clean rooms, prompt and friendly service, and plenty of amenities. It‘s been that way every time we’ve stayed there, and I truly believe you’ll have the same experience. Or course, part of what makes the experience so great is what you DON’T get – you don’t get any ridiculous hassles or snarky employees to deal with or (my favorite) a huge bill when you check out. Add it all up and you’ve got a fine place to stay that enhances your time at the River – in the best tradition of Thousand Islands hospitality that I remember from many years ago. Outstanding place – I think you’ll love it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    17
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Home-like welcome and treatment during stay.Full house,no vacancy.Assortment of guests,loud exhaust piped motorcycles,not all Harleys, in fact the Harleys were quieter than the Japanese bikes. Families with children in mom soccer vans.Blues Fest weekend and AlexBay was busy.Stay was very pleasant for us which included our 72 year old parents.Everyone got along famously on the front porch of each of our rooms.Hosts offer a do it yourself Grill area.Plenty of property for a field party!Since BluesFest was going on in downtown AlexBay nobody took up the Grill.We stayed in motel section,clean,beds comfy,appointments are simple.Very. Pleasant outside environment.Cottages had the exterior look to be rustic romantic.Would return for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in mid august. We rented two rooms for our family of four liking the two bathrooms and more space for when we all get ready at same time. It was clean and very well kept. Beds were comfortable and towels plentiful. Owners were very nice and helpful. It was pirate week and they had the itinerary and info on what to do in the area for the celebration. Parking right outside your room, and the lawn and grounds were well kept. It's a ways out of town so you need a car but considering town was busy and somewhat crowded the week of our stay we were glad not to be in the center of it all. Bath, carpet, beds all very clean, our whole family was pleased.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

HELLO
This motel is a hidden gem we stayed here in august for 2 days it is clean safe and reasonable price the owners are great this is a must stay if you are in the Alexandria bay area we will return for another visit thank you so much

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

great place, clean, comfortable, well maintained and the owners were great

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This was rated #1 at TripAdvisor for Alex Bay.
We reviewed also others and decided to go with it.
We were not disappointed - friendly service, and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I've spent many a summer at the 1,000 Islands, but no longer have family there. Never had been in need of a motel when visiting before, BUT I certainly chose the right place. I stayed at the Rock Ledge with my 15-year old granddaughter and her best friend. The 2-room cottage was perfect! It afforded me just the right amount of privacy and the teens had "their own side". I was hesitant to book one of the cottages, thinking it may be "spidery", etc. but it was not at all. Neat, clean and just all-around nice. Owners very friendly, too. Only one suggestion...one side has the tv and sink, the other side the fridge, coffee pot and microwave. Would be more convenient to have the appliances on the "sink side" for filling coffee pot, etc. (So minor...sorry!) We will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Ledge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Ledge Motel

Address: 45302 State Route 12, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Ledge Motel is family owned and operated. It is located one and a half miles from the downtown business district which makes this a great choice for a good night's rest. When staying at the Rock Ledge you can be confident that your room will be clean and tidy at your check in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rock Ledge Hotel Alexandria Bay
Rock Ledge Alexandria Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Ledge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.