We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a GREAT time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonnie Castle Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bonnie Castle Resort
Save
You added Bonnie Castle Resort to your Saves list
One Outer Holland Street, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Norwich, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Had a GREAT time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I haven't stayed at the Bonnie Castle for many years. My wife and I went up to A Bay for a quick 2 night getaway. I think that they are doing and OUTSTANDING job at renovating this resort. Our room was in really great shape, very comfortable and quiet. Yes, the balconies are small, the exterior looks a bit dated, but this is an old resort undergoing extensive renovations. We knew this going in, and we couldn't have had a better time. The front desk staff was great, the grounds clean, the outside pool was beautiful. We ate dinner both nights in The Point, and had a great experience both times. The food, even though limited, was great. The service was OUTSTANDING, and the prices very reasonable. People have to understand that this is an older property among older properties, if you know what I mean. If you're visiting A-Bay, that's par for the course. I would highly recommend Bonnie Castle, and can't wait till the next opportunity to visit. Please, keep up the good work and progress.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Andy,
Thank You for your recent stay at Bonnie Castle, we are thrilled that you can see our potential as a older property. We are striving towards many renovations and have accomplished many already. Thank you for reccomending us and we look foward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    28
    11
    16
See reviews for
22
54
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel primarily because it is within walking distance to the town and they had vacancy. Now we know why...our room was clean, but it seemed as if we stepped out of a time machine and entered into the early 80's. Our sheets and beds were clean and new. They are slowly renovating, but the furniture and bathroom needs to be updated. We had a box tv (a zennith) in our bathroom. We thought it was funny and tried to use it, but the buttons were pushed in and it did'nt work. Upon request, we had an amazing view of Boldt Castle with a balcony. Not all the rooms have a view. The layout is awkward, and when you arrive it feels like you are entering an old boat yard with a rundown motel in the back. Most of the rooms face the parking lot or boat yard. I was speaking to another guest near where our room was located and it turned out they were upgraded because the bathroom in the room above them caved into theirs... Overall, I did have a nice time due to my loving partner and staff. I think they are the only resort (more like motel) with an indoor and outdoor pool (indoor jacuzzi available). The views from the dinning areas are beautiful, but once again I was let down by the decor and smell of mold in the mannor house. The new owners took over the resort only about 2 years ago. It is a large property with much needed improvement. The rennovations are in progress. All the staff including servers in the mannor house, housekeeping, and front desk were friendly and helpful. I don't know if I would return. The price was reasonable only because we had triple A discount. It was midweek and without the card it would have been to expensive for the quality. We booked last minute and we were lucky we found a room during Pirates Week. The town was busy and most of the hotels/motels were booked.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for trying our Hotel, we are a work in progress. The new owners actually took over a year ago and although much has been done we do know that much is still in need to be done. This property is a very big Beautiful property that has so much character and potential. We are and will continue to make improvements every day. Your feedback is important to us and we do appreciate your comments. Please we hope that you again will visit us to see what we are striving for.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Having spent over 25 years in the hotel industry, I can honestly say this place is a dump. It was smelly, dirty and hasn't been renovated in an age. The bathroom tile is literally from the 60's at best and the Formica counter was a real treat. The overall condition of the resort is poor and the prices are expensive given supply and demand this time of year. While we enjoyed the boat museum, the castles and all the locale had to offer, I would not recommend staying at Bonnie Castle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent trip to Bonnie Castle. I am disappointed to hear of your discontent with your room. From the sounds of the room you describe it definatley was not a renovated room. We are in the progress of moving forward in cleaning the facility up. This is such a beautiful property that fell through the cracks with the previous owner. We are aware of many challenges that are ahead of us, but we are confident that we will accomplish all of them. We already have accomplished much in such little time, i am only sorry you didnt get to see these. Please feel free to contact me so that I may rectify your dissatisfaction.''
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The outside of this hotel is really beat up. It looked like an old motel. We booked a room for $160 a night at this place calling itself a resort. Not so much. A couple of rooms below ours had boarded up windows, the parking lot was all broken up and not maintained. The room itself was nice, but not noteworthy, and certainly not resort material. Upon checking in, we found they did not have our reservation. We booked online, and according to the staff the 'fax didn't come through'. They found our online reservation but had not reserved a room. Nonetheless, they found a room that was the same as what we had booked. The staff did comment with a chuckle, though, that she was glad they weren't busy (customer traffic-wise), I was too, because I didn't want to start my vacation by yelling. The pool area was beautiful, but we noticed that the tile surrounding the pool was EXTREMELY slippery. Not only did both of our daughters slip twice and fall, but several other children did during our stay. And none of them were running. Also, you had to go outside to access the pool from our room. Same with the restaurants and front desk. Nothing was connected. A little inconvenient, since our decision to go to the indoor pool was based on the fact that it was pouring outside. Our mirror closet doors were off the track and kept falling open, the jacuzzi hardware kept falling off. There were 2 nice chairs on our balcony, but there was no clearance to walk in front of them to even sit down. I didn't let my daughters out on the balcony because the railing was very unstable, and there was a quarter inch wide crack where the railing was anchored to the floor. We didn't dine in the restaurant as it was very upscale and not suited to families. They did have another restaurant that was more like a grill/bar but we passed on that so I'm not sure how it is. The grounds are nice to walk, but when you first pull in, it looks a little trashy due to the marina like area, docking, and boat repair. I thought I had made the wrong turn. It wasn't a horrible experience, but it wasn't worth what we paid either. I expected much more for the money. The phrase 'you get what you pay for' did not come in to play here... I wish it had.

Room Tip: Choose one of their 'Deluxe' rooms. They are right next to the indoor pool and open up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Bonnie Castle. We are under new Ownership as of a year ago, and although we have accomplished much in the past year for renovations we are aware that there is still much to do. This is a huge property that to say the least fell into some much needed renovations. Both Pools, indoor and outdoor have had extensive work done on them, all beds, TV`s, linens, balcony chairs and P-tacs are brand new. Most Bathrooms and Bedrooms have been stripped and freshly painted along with some rooms have already been re-carpeted. We are and still we be renovating on a daily basis, we are aware of the needed repairs and are working diligently on them. Again Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iroquois, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had booked a 5 night stay at Bonnie Castle but because of my ill health had to go home early, we always go to A. Bay for our summer holidays, this is our fourth time staying here and will not be our last they did a great job on the renos, from the pool to the rooms even the main restaurant they opened up, they cleared around the windows for a greater view of the St. Lawrence River and Boldt Castle, we were there when the place was just packed with a wedding, the service was excellent at reception as there was a line up when we first checked in, we had room 309 which was almost over the main lobby and we didn't hear a thing, the room was kept spotless, they will give us a credit for the nights we didn't stay but paid for, another good thing is they take Canadian money at par throughout the resort

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent trip to Bonnie Castle, we hope that you are feeling better and can again return to enjoy the beauty of the Thousand Islands. It is nice to know that you noticed the changes that we are making, we still have more to do but we are a work in progress and we will get there. Again, Thank you for your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My self and 3 other couples stayed one night during the St Paddies day weekend...what was offered as party favours and Irish food was substandard...Irish meals that were advertised were not available ( there were not many persons in the hotel ) ...the meals that were served were horrible and ahd to be returned...the hotel was under rentovation was several safety issues were apparrent...eg hotel door that would not lock...rooms that only one way out as the second door was being repaired...a smelly dumpster immediatly under the balcony... that the staff tried to rent...lots of stuff to trip over...
A letter of complaint was e mailed immediatly after which went unanswered for 2 months after 4 emails were sent...no vouchers or compromises were offered by the hotel....all in all was a awful stay and a constant battle with the staff over rooms and food...the place is worn out...
RJ in Kingston Ont

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your previous stay back in March. Please be assured that there has been many changes since then and we strive to move forward with new improvements everyday. Also as the new General Manager that joined Bonnie Castle back in April i know that the owners did rectify your situation with upgrades in your group. If this was not exceptable please feel free to contact myself. Thank you again for you patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were in Alexandria Bay for the fireworks celebration of the TI Bridge. The hotel has seen some much needed improvements and was very clean and neat. The beds and bedding were new and very nice. There were also new windows and new heat/ac unit. It is a work in progress. The price was right for the condition! We were pleased! The restaurant was a different story. I don't mind paying top dollar for good food but this was far from even "good". Chicken parm was way over cooked and could not even be chewed. Steaks were tough. Chicken marsala was VERY thin. Shrimp was over cooked and chewy. Will not return to the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Bonnie Castle and your visit to the Manor House Restaurant. We appreciate that you can notice the improvements that we are striving for in the Hotel and will continue to do so. I apologize that your dining experience wasnt the way it should have been, we have recieved many compliments on the new changes in the dining room. I will make sure to let the new Chef know about your experience and dissapointment in your meals. We do try and touch every table that comes in to ensure satisfaction and i apologize that this wasnt the case. Again I thank you for your feedback..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonnie Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Castle Resort

Address: One Outer Holland Street, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the St. Lawrence River in Alexandria Bay, New York, Bonnie Castle Resort is your gateway to the breathtaking beauty of the Thousand Islands.A world of beauty, history, and relaxation awaits you at Bonnie Castle Resort. Enjoy fine dining in our Manor House Restaurant, grab a sandwich on the dock at The Pointe Bar and Grill, relax by the pool, or simply sip a cocktail on our expansive decks overlooking Boldt Castle on Heart Island. Visiting by boat? Take advantage of our full-service marina.Whether you’re looking for a fun family getaway or a perfect spot to host your wedding or other event, Bonnie Castle Resort and the Thousand Islands region offer something for everyone. We look forward to making your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible.Please note that Bonnie Castle Resort is under new ownership and management as of May 2012. Come visit and see what’s new as we update this property in a manner deserving of its rich history. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bonnie Castle Hotel Alexandria Bay
Bonnie Castle Alexandria Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonnie Castle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.