We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT food -- service can be slow when it's crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Area Bakery and Chocolates

Bay Area Bakery and Chocolates
23 Church Street, Alexandria Bay, NY
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT food -- service can be slow when it's crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

You will totally break your diet when you walk in here! The breakfast/lunch offerings are great, but it's the confection creations that are to die for! If you love chocolate, you gotta stop in this place!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Looks, smells and tastes GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

we stopped in after eating breakfast at a different location and were so bummed. Everything LOOKS and SMELLS so good!!! We did try some treats (cookies and cupcakes) which were awesome! Would love to try for breakfast sometime!!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recommend not going!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

If you want to experience what its like to not have your business appreciated than this is the place to go. I have a camp across the water and love coming to the bay for breakfast. I have given this place many opportunities and it has failed every time. Older lady who appears to be the owner always seems miserable. Each time Ive visited each member of the staff was extremely unproductive, and performance was like it was there first day. Service is poor. Coffee is poor, usually out, no flavored creamer etc... No A/C, multiple fans on floor stirring up all sorts of dust. Im not a person to usually write reviews but this establishment is a slap in the face to people that world hard to give customer service and a nice appearance. Its unfortunate that people stop here because it takes away from other businesses and makes Alexandria Bay look bad.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Go healthy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We went there twice during our 3 days stay in Alexandria Bay. The bagels are great and very fresh. You can also get yogurt with fresh fruits and other bakeries.
We really enjoyed the place and it's a good choice if you pay attention to what you eat.
The regular coffee however did not meet our expectations. Not tasty enough.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bagels, Yummy Cupcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great little breakfast place. Gourmet coffee, espresso, chai, baked treats, fruit, yogurt, juices, and sodas. breakfast sandwiches to die for! Traditional egg, cheese and meat sandwiches as well as items like salmon, onions, and capers. The cupcakes are named after islands in the Thousand Islands, and are not to be missed! Grab two to go, and head up to the Scenic View Park to enjoy the sunset. A great experience!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Area Bakery and Chocolates also viewed

 

Been to Bay Area Bakery and Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Area Bakery and Chocolates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.