We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food great prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
River House
Market st., Alexandria Bay, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Capital Region of NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food great prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Our party of 5 all hot pasta dinners and enjoyed the food and the front porch seating. Pasta with mushrooms , fettuccine Alfredo , and stuffed shells were enjoyed with salad, rolls and fountain drinks . We got there around. 5 pm and were glad we did by 6 you had to sit inside to eat dinner. Our bill was about. $80 and for the meals we had there were no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Having a dinner on the front patio is a pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

People get this place confused with the Riverboat on Church Street which makes sense since they are attached and under the same ownership. Riverboat is more of a party bar while Riverhouse is a quiet and decent restaurant. I had dinner here earlier this month and everything was up to standard. The server Kim was most pleasant and deserves the 5 stars I gave her. I dined alone as my daughter was back at the motel and enjoyed the steak dinner with salad, waffle fries and buttered roll. The interior of the place looks like someone's home which it probably was at sometime. Sitting out on the front deck though is strongly recommended. There's many eating options in Alex Bay.....some aren't that good. This is one of the better ones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

There were 4 of us in our party, all of our dinners were excellent, we also had Long Island Ice teas which were excellent., but food was very tasty! Would defiantly go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently had dinner at this restaurant and have to say it was the worst place I have ever been for service. We sat on the patio and only saw our waitress for ordering of our food and the bill. At no time did anyone show up to ask if we wanted more drinks or clear the table. She even saw us twice in the main restaurant getting our own drinks and asked "are you lost?". When told we were getting drinks...she just shrugged and went on her way. We had to resort to cleaning off our own table so that there was room for our main dishes.

When the food finally did arrive, most of it was ok. The pasta was swimming in oil however and we didn't get everything that the menu stated it came with. In addition, the ladies bathroom ran out of bathroom tissue. We informed one of the patio servers and they just ignored us. I went inside a second time and informed one of the indoor servers and she promptly informed someone to re-stock.

We are a very low maintenance group, and all in all, it may have been the poor service of just our waitress that tainted our experience. However, it was genuinely a terrible enough experience that we were prompted to write a bad review. Too bad, I think the restaurant has potential.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Italian food and excellent service from our blonde waitress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We're apprehensive based on other reviews but everything was excellent. Highly recommend stopping by.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River House also viewed

 

Been to River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.