We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for kids, BUT services are expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort to your Saves list
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Moo 4 Srisoontorn Road | T. Chengtalay, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book & Enjoy 30% OFF
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Thalang District
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel for kids, BUT services are expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Whole area of Laguna is very exclusive, well kept, neat but all servoces are very expensive, the food and drinks at hotel are very expensive and not very good. Bedsbare excellent and we sleps vey well. Play room and water slide are good for kids but you need to rent a car to get anywhere. Renting car is good deal if you consider taxi prices, so best is to rent car for first day and go and do groceries at big Tesco in Thalang, about 30 min. away. There is a nearer Tesco express about 15min away, but with more limited selection. The hotel shuttle only takes you around the laguna area, and the nearby Canal village grocery store as well as nearby other village grocery stores are very expensive.
On wednesday night there is anight market nearby where one can buy grilled fish and chicken at cheap prices. Trip to zoo was long drive, monkey show was nice but rest mediocre. Forget about going to Patong, as the place is really obnoxious and people are angry and rude when you dont buy their overpriced goods. Within one hour we got into 3 argumentayive situations, for not buying at their given price.

Room Tip: Nearer to the lobby and pool is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    70
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
41
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Phuket can often be full of activity and action but Laguna is a private resort town that offers a great chance to wind down and relax.
I stayed here at Laguna Holiday Club and the first thing that impressed me was the size of the suites. I was in a one bedroom apartment with separate living and dining areas, kitchenette and two TVs. Ample bottled water is supplied daily and rooms are kept clean and cool. The rooms are also mainly cleaned in the afternoon so there's plenty of time to sleep in and get ready to go.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is reasonably priced and quite nice (try the papaya salad- yum).
The pool is more than adequate if you're not looking for more than a little cooling off and relaxation. But the free shuttle takes you to other resorts where you can pool share or walk through the resort to head to the beach and Laguna Holiday Club has its own set of beach chairs you can use for free right near the cafe on the beach (where food and drinks are also nice and much cheaper and cocktails are half price in the evening).
Although the area is quiet, there's still plenty to do. Laguna Holiday Club offers great activities for the kids or you can use the adjacent golf club, the elephant park is within walking distance as are a small set of shops and they walk the elephants on the beach a couple of times a day and the kids love this.
The staff at the hotel also arranged a cooking class for me at nearby Dusat Thani hotel (but the rooms at Laguna are much nicer) and save your money for the cheaper massages on the beach or get the shuttle to drop you at the edge of town and walk further in to town to the main street and grab a massage or meal there for a bargain.
The hotel arranged a driver at a very reasonable price to take me around the island and go to the markets- really there's heaps you can do at a great price if you want or you can just do nothing without being disturbed. There's also free wi fi in the rooms so if you want to stay in and surf the net, that's ok too.
I really enjoyed it here and I think if you're looking for a quiet, undisturbed or private location, this is perfect.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites are huge and even a group of friends won't need much more than that- the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

beautiful resort huge 1 bedroom room cleaned every day has lift to floor, pools a bit small and 1.2 mtr deep. if you want a relaxing time and do nothing you will love it but we thought is was boring nothing to do but get to the beach have a beer for $1.50 and a feed. the beach closes and nothing going on after dark no music just food. the resort pool closes at 7pm no entertainment at the resort. i live on the Goldcoast Australia the prices in the resort the same as home. hardly any English speaking people holidaying at the resort.
we wont be back thailand i believe is a holiday place lots to do nightlife eating not to expensive
Barry and Sue

Room Tip: all rooms great and huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The stay was pleasant. Rooms were cleaned daily, staff were their usual thai hospitable best. Breakfast was forgettable as it was the same throughout our 5 days stay. Facilities, like swimming pool, gym and kids club were basic compared to the other hotels in the laguna region.

Overall, good, no frills hotel for that price. Worth considering if you have a big group as the rooms were huge and hospitable staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was our 8th visit to Phuket and our usual resort is currently being renovated, so we therefore had to try somewhere different, we love the Laguna ( Bang Tao Beach area) so we searched for somewhere there, The Holiday Club was the result of much searching and comparing, we had a 1 bedroom suite, it was massive, king sized bed kitchenette, dining table and lounge room combined, TV in lounge and in room, serviced each day, we left all phones tablets and chargers out at various times and we had no problems the housekeeping staff are very trustworthy, the lobby staff were happy and fun, the breakfast was great all you could want hot food, cereal, juices, coffee/tea, pasteries, breads lots of yummy goodies, the pool was nice and waterslide, alothough the tiles around the pool are very slippery, which could be dangerous, Laguna Holiday Club is family and couple friendly, it is about a 10 min walk to the beach going through Angsana Resort ot a quick trolley ride to either the Dusit or Angsana. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Second stay for the past two years. I just like the surrounding where the whole Laguna area is combined by a total of 6-7 different resorts. You can take the free shuttle or ferry to stop by every resorts and use the facilities and restaurants there. So this makes up lots of choices even though you are only staying at one resort.

I am staying at the LHC private pool villa this time, you can enjoy the privacy and have a good lake view just outside your private pool and garden. All my family members are very satisfied with the villa and surroundings, although I find the furniture and room design is a bit outdated (but comfortable). For sure will come back to try the newly renovated Angsana which is more fancy and modern.

However if somebody wants to have some busy night life at Patong beach, this might not be a good option as Laguan is about 30 mins drive away from Patong.

I recommend to everyone who visits Phuket.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Now we are into our 3rd week of our 4 week holiday. I am looking forward to a little more room as hotels are nice but it is nice to have room. We are with RCI & this was a trade. I had E-mailed resort and asked to upgrade to a 2 bedroom-no problem and the extra charge wasn't much.
The unit was very comfortable-pool clean & refreshing,enough cooking items for what we needed. The comforters on bed were very nice & the AC worked extra good-too cold for my husband.
I had pre arranged a guide who picked us up at hotel & toured us around and arranged for us to go to James Bond Island & The Beach of Leonardo Di Caprio.
Also there was a shuttle bus that would take you to differnt hotels in the area and you could charge a meal to your hotel room. I thought that was nice. I asked the desk for reccomendations and was very happy with their choices.We ate a Japaneese meal at Tamarind in Banyon Tree-excellent. Ruen Thai in Dusit Thani also very good. I wanted a special meal for our anniversary & we chose Lotus on the beach. I splurged on a fresh lobster and to tell you the truth my husbands meal was better. The service wasn't that great there either-getting served the wrong items-not checking on you.
The LHC had a cake for our anniversary which was nice.
We were in Thailand & Bali for our 25th anniversary so it was fitting to celebrate our 30th back in this part of the world.
All the people at desk were extremely friendly.
We tried to make happy hour every day-they made a great margarita. The food there was so so.
Just outside the area you could take a shuttle to Laguna Waters and walk to the little town. I went a few days & got my 12$ wonderful massage & we ate a few meals there that were good.
Great week-our trip is coming to an end

Room Tip: We were on a lower floor and after a few nights we had people above us banging. I would make sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort

Address: 61 Moo 4 Srisoontorn Road | T. Chengtalay, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#28 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#32 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort features 79 spacious suites available in three room types ranging from 65 - 113 square meters. All suites feature separate living and dining area, convenient kitchens and furnishings. Resort amenities available to guests include a swimming pool with waterslide, a pool bar, restaurant, kid's club, plus free wireless connection throughout resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Hotel Thalang
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.