We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people in fantastic surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LHC Phuket Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added LHC Phuket Resort to your Saves list
LHC Phuket Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Cherngtalay, Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Thalang District
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Friendly people in fantastic surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

The management and staff at Laguna Holiday Club were warm and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are spacious, with a large bedroom, lounge and kitchen area. Outside was a pleasant balcony. Everything was provided to make the vacation perfect, including fresh complimentary water every day and shower/bath products.

The food at the hotel was good but VERY pricey! We ate on our first night of arrival, but most lunchtimes we walked into the town to eat with the locals - lunch was typically 200 Baht between us!!! Evenings we wandered to the little community that has sprung up outside the complex, where you could eat well and still pay less than the hotel.

Our favourite restaurant was Tatonka, where the owner (a very affable German chap by the name of Harold) encouraged us to try the tapas - and are we glad we did!! Fantastic food, well presented, and not unreasonably priced. Totos (Italian cuisine) was also very friendly and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

I was browsing for holiday packages in Phuket, and found this 100,000 Smiles Promotion in Laguna Phuket, and boy did it put a smile on my face :-)
It gives 1 free night stay for every online booking. Stayed in the 2 room suite for 4 nights (2 free nights)...2 couples, different bookings in April.

Our first impression of our 2 room suite is REALLY good. Upon entering, you will see a large living room with adjoining kitchen area and 2 huge bedrooms. The whole place is well furnished (with new furnishings), there's 3 TVs and 2 fridge, utensils, a microwave, a toaster, a few sets of saucers, plates, and cups. There's even a stove, but sadly we didn't plan to do any cooking since we're on holiday. By the way, you can't drink from their tap water, so the hotel provides 10 bottles of mineral water everyday.

The suite is well kept and very clean. Hotel provides jasmine scented shower cream and shampoo, which smells really good. There's also the bathrobes, towels, face towels, hand towels, blow dryer and body cream which my gf really loved! The toilets are clean, where toilet cleanliness is on top of my hotels must have list. Also, a laundry service, free in-the-hotel slippers, as well as out door slippers.

Greenery is everywhere, which is why I love this place so much. There's lakes everywhere, but do note that these are ex-mining lakes, so take care not to swim in them, plus they do look a bit muddy. The hotel's swimming pool on the other hand, looks really inviting, and well equipped with pool side chairs. A golf course is just right behind the pool area, but needs to be accessed some other way around, because we're separated by a river.

Main attraction of this Laguna area is that all the hotels built in this cluster is fairly new, and looks really good. They actually have free shuttle buses, or rather Tuk-Tuks, to take you around the Laguna compound. All you need to do is to inform the receptionist, and they will radio in the nearest Tuk-Tuks. They are not traveling on a schedule, but rather on request.

Basically, we really loved the place and enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately, just like what many people have been saying, including the forums, this place is not really recommended if you are looking for the "fast pace/night life/partying" as you won't find any of this here. A cab to Patong Beach would be around 20-30 minutes.

Food prices here are pretty steep (being a 5 star resort), but you can always take the free shuttle bus to the edge/entrance of the Laguna area and walk out and you'll see plenty of eateries, at about half the resort prices. Generally, about THB450 in the Hotel restaurant for a plate of fried rice, etc (ala carte) and half the price outside the Laguna. By the way, if you know the name of the restaurant outside the Laguna, you can call them to pick you up from your hotel lobby, and after finishing your meal, they will gladly send you back...no kidding!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

We managed to get a one bedroom apartment as a week long timeshare rental for the price some people pay for one night.

The resort is definately 5 star by internation (not Asia) standards, with a pool, a good gym and free WiFi in the lobby. The apartment was huge (I think that there are some smaller one bedroomed apartments). The bed was huge and comfortable, the pillows were feather and luxurious, the towels very thick and soft and the kitchen was reasonably well equipped, but the kind of people coming to this kind of place are unlikely to do much cooking.

The Laguna resort is a gated enclave of 5 star plus hotels, and all eating, drinking, massage and motorbike rental options in the immediate area are so expensive they are laughable. The taxi's have the place sewn up too, and are ridiculously priced. It's a good 45 minute walk to the main road where you can get Pad Thai for TB35 instead of TB175++, but the kind of people staying at any of the hotels in Laguna wouldn't care. If you have the money, it's a really amazing place to stay.

Full review at www.littlewhiteswan.com/Accom/az08/0802.html

  • Liked — Luxury at it's finest
  • Disliked — Islolated location, sterile enclave
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Hotel is situated in the Laguna Complex which includes the Banyan Tree, Sheraton, Laguna Beach and Dusit Thani hotels which face Bang Tao Beach in Phuket. Laguna Holiday Club is approximately 18 months old and is situated directly behind the Sheraton Hotel. Laguna complex is on 1000 acres, to assist guests in getting around the resort and to the beach free ferries and shuttle bus operate around the resort.

Our 1 bedroom apartment had a spacious lounge, large bedroom with writing desk . A. well equipped kitchen with 4 elements, a microwave and small electric grill, interestly though we only had one pot and a frypan to cook with. You can obtain food supplies from Canal Village in the complex or take a taxi to Tesco's local supermarket about 2kms from the complex.

The main life of the resort is the scenic swimming pool, which gains its pristine views because of its adjacent proxity to a lagoon and the wide expanse of the Laguna golf course. As an attraction to families with children, the pool comes with a tube slide and spa jet area with several stone elephants spouting water. Bang Tao beach is not the best for swimming as it shelves very steeply and becomes quite deep. Kata Beach is probably the best and safest swimming beach in Phuket.

The lobby adjoins the property’s only restaurant, which is an open-air all-day eatery. In low season you have a choice of two set breakfast menus. Lunch and dinner are A-La –Carte. Sundays a wonderful buffet is available for 1080 BHT++ from noon to 4pm.Small lobster, large prawns, steak, chicken, lamb with a huge variety of Asian salads and soups, stir fries and a choice of 10-12 desserts, cheese, fruit and coffee are available. The price includes a free flow of semi frozen margaritas or beer.

Check in was very smooth, a nice welcome drink was provided and the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.
For us the real downside was we could have been staying anywhere in the world, as the hotel was quite westernized and access to the Laguna complex is restricted, so you may feel isolated from the real Thai culture. A taxi mafia operates and you are charged inflated rates to travel anywhere on the island from Laguna. Eg published rates from Phuket Airport to Kata Beach ( 50 minute ride) are 650 BHT, from Laguna to Phuket Town or Patong, about a 30 minute ride is 500 BHT. Taxis from outside the complex are not encouraged to collect guests from Laguna, as they are denied entry access to the Laguna complex. You can easily get a taxi from outside Laguna and enter Laguna to be dropped off at your Laguna hotel. If you want an independant taxi, you actually have to get the Laguna shuttle bus to the front gate (25 minute walk) and go outside to get a taxi if you want to be collected from Laguna. At Laguna food and beverage costs were 50% more than at Kata Beach.

We highly recommend a Thai French Restaurant called the Black Cat which is outside Laguna on the road to Phuket Town. Black Cat's food was the best value we experienced in our 2 week stay, after 5 days of using the restaurants in Laguna and also Chaba (suspect one of us got food poisoning here), Bluebells and Italian outside the Laguna gate we ate at Black Cat for the next 9 nights. Laguna restaurants and those mentioned outside the Laguna gate all charge service tax and government tax ( extra 15%) on your bills, Black Cat rates are much cheaper and no extra charges are incurred.It is a simple Thai Style restaurant which offers Thai food, fresh seafood and western meals a visit is strongly recommended. All restaurants mentioned outside the Laguna complex offer a free pick up and delivery service for diners.

  • Liked — Swimming Pool
  • Disliked — Isolation and Taxi Mafia
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Booked and stayed at the Laguna Holiday Club, Phuket between 16-19th August 2008. The resort is rather new and well maintained. Our first impression was good, nothing great but okay, clean and comfortable.
On arrival, the check-in was quick and easy with courteous staff. The lobby was simple. We actually expected something more from a resort that's rated gold crown by RCI. Hmmm.

We stayed at the 2 bedroom villa overlooking the lagoon and golf course. The unit had a partially equiped kitchen, dining hall and a 10x10 feet sitting room. All was clean and well furnished. 3 big TVs in these units. Nothing exclusive, just very basic and practical.

The resort was sort of quiet during the low season, nothing very much to do or see during the next 3 days. There were free shuttle buses to all the laguna resorts and free boat rides as well. Our kids age 4 and 6 just loved this... and the kids club of course.
Facilities, only 1 restaurant, 1 charming pool beside the golf course; thats about all.

Would I recommend to my friends this resort- yes. Would I stay there again. No thank you.

  • Liked — Unit size
  • Disliked — Isolated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

Loved this hotel! Great staff, beautiful surroundings, good facilities, good food.......and goes on and on!
The Angsana spa is a must!
We will be back definitely...just wished we had stayed for longer!!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Wish they allowed buggies on the golf course, it's far too hot to walk around!!!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LHC Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHC Phuket Resort

Address: 61 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Cherngtalay, Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#36 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — LHC Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your LHC Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lhc Phuket Hotel Thalang
LHC Phuket Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LHC Phuket Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.