We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am I a thief ????” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows
72/3 Moo 3 Tambon Cheang Talay | Bang Tao, Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Eidsdal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Am I a thief ????”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Well the good things first.. Location : Great, actually on the beach, no roads to cross when you get out of your bungalow, a quiet place for relaxation.
I did love the 3 swimmingpools and the beach.

The bungalows are so so, clean but.. the AC was poor, the TV had seen better days, the bathroom was large but "empty" a shoower on the middle of one wall and the drain on the other side of the room.. but ok you did get clean and you could do the most basic stuff there.

And it is over priced, I mean everything is overpriced, the rooms the drinks and the food, I suspect that the place is sweedish owned or at least has a sweedish manager... (Sweeds are really cheap) even the water bottles did you have to pay for (25 Bath each) normally you get them for free, this was the only place I had to pay for them out of 7 the hotels I stayed on in Phuket..

And here comes the thief part... When I did check out the girl in the reseption stated that I had to pay for 1 bottle of water, I asked why since we did not use anything from the minibar at the room, well it was missing she said and I replayed that it was not possible since we had not used the minibar..
Then she told me that they had a lot of problems with guest stealing from the minibar and I was one of them !!! I was a simple thief robbing them for a bottle of water !!!
In anger I want back up to the bungalow where the maid still where, opend the minibar togheter with the maid and got it confirmed that all of the waterbottles where still there.
Finnaly back to the reception the girl there did not even say that she was sorry for calling me a thief.. But she managed to add 3% to my bill for using a visa card...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnestans in China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Loved this place. Nice little cottages on a beautiful beach. This place had a wonderful beach and a beautiful pool. It was tough to get to town cost 600 bht one way. Rent a car or a moped like we did much cheaper. (Moped 100 bht for the day). The cottage was very nice. The only thing we didn't like was the bed. It was a little hard. My wife actually got some extra pillows and put them under her on the bed. Didn't really help still didn't sleep well. The cottage had air conditioning, mini fridge, fan, the shower could have used some more pressure. The only other problem we had with this place was that there weren’t really any restaurants nearby that we liked. We tried a few up and down the beach but we found that the best eats were in town. As I mentioned earlier get a car or a moped and drive into town.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiaBangtao, Owner at Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows, responded to this review, October 11, 2009
We have just upgraded all Superior- and Beach Bungalows with a mattress topper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We have just participated in the Phuket Laguna Marathon last weekend and stayed in Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows (BLB). We had a great time in BLB despite some downside.

Here are the reasons why we like the place:
i) The hotel Manager, Sheila is an angel in Phuket. She is from the Philippines and made our stay fun and easy. This lady never seems to go back and always at the reception. She managed easily all our confusing travel arrangements especially with a big group going different places at the same time. We do hope to see Sheila again the next time we visit Phuket.
ii) BLB has 3 pools and enough space to cater for all. The pools are clean and beautiful
iii) The hotel location is nice and quiet. Its a bit far from Patong beach (where all the night life is). But if you are in Phuket for a relaxing holiday, better to stay further away from Patong Beach. BLB in Bangtao beach is a good choice.
iv) The rooms are clean and comfortable. Sheila told us that the renovations to the toilets have started and it should be much better from end of this year onwards.
v) The Java Cafe restaurant food is not bad and value for money. The restaurant is very comfortable and airy.
vi) The beach is clean especially with the current high tide. But not sure during lower tides.
vii) There is free WIFI for hotel guests which is a blessing.
viii) They have many cable TV channels, if you need them.
ix) Generally, the whole hotel is clean.

The downside:
i) the service in their restaurant Bar@Beach is very bad. The bar manager is not helpful and looks unhappy all the time. Food was served cold and kitchen did not look so clean.
I hope the coming renovations will improve the restaurant to be better.
ii) Transportation is a bit costly as its further away from everything else. To counter this, I suggest you rent a motorbike (THB200 / USD6 per day, very cheap!) or rent a car (if you are staying for long) so that you can move around easily
iii) The air-conditions in the room needs some upgrade as it is quite noisy. But its still bearable.

Generally, after some improvements (under-going now), the Bangtao Beach Bungalows is a good place to stay.

Thanks Sheila !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

We really hemmed and hawed over where to stay in Phuket before we went, and we spent a lot of time on this site trying to figure it out. We booked 3 nights here and probably should have left early. Staying here was a learning experience--we learned a lot about Phuket, a lot about this site, and a lot about ourselves.

First let me say that for Thailand, the rooms are pretty good. For 1950 baht/night we got a bungalow with A/C, hot water, and a TV with satellite in a mostly clean room. From my research, during "high" season this is a very good rate. The prior reviews had been mixed. I had to take those with a grain of salt, however, because most of the negative reviews had stated "we went across the street to X hotel which was much better" and then when I looked up X hotel, it was 3-4 times as expensive as Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows. And we were on a budget. We wanted to have more money to spend on beer rather than wasting all our money on international 4 and 5 star resorts. So we booked.

The problem with this place is not easily articulated. The place is conflicted. The bungalows are basic old school Thailand, while the pool is truly gorgeous and the restaurant aspires to a higher level of clientele and charged accordingly (though it failed to live up to its promise of international level cuisine and amazingly did not accept credit cards). The "mandatory" breakfast that everyone complained about I think is an outgrowth of the owner trying to figure out how to make the restaurant profitable. On our first two days, it was a buffet, but it seemed no one was eating but us (because we knew we had to pay for it anyway). It was a terrible waste. On the last day it was like someone finally got the memo and we got a made to order breakfast, which was fresher and seemed much more cost efficient than the buffet.

There were only really three problems with our stay. First, there were some minor issues with our room. Birds were nested in the roof of our bungalow which woke us up early every morning and pooped into our room through various gaps in the ceiling tiles (thankfully mostly in the bathroom). Also, no one ever repenished the mini-bar. We found our local mini-mart, which was much cheaper, so this wasn't a problem, but you would think that a hotel hoping to make a profit would see to such things.

The next problem, and one that the hotel can't do much about, is that the beach was completely polluted. The beach looked gorgeous from afar, but closer inspectionr revealed huge piles of washed up trash during all but high tide, when it was washed back out to sea. We were told this was due to the tides during time of year we were there, and for the future of Thailand's tourism and foreign investment in this area (in which it seems they are entirely relying for their financial future, as ill-advised as that might be) I really hope that is the truth. It was depressing to see such beautiful sand and surf dotted with such a proliferation of trash. It wasn't just our resort either--we walked the length of Bang Tao and the trash was everywhere. We didn't even want to go in the water. It made the tri-level tiled pool that much more appealing.

The final problem, and one that is easily rectified, is that the staff was put out by our presence and un-helpful. The most enthusiasm I saw them exhibit was when we left and the all ran out to wave goodbye. During our stay, only the manager helped us navigate around Phuket. If you haven't been there before, your hotel staff will be integral to helping you figure out how to get around as it's not as easy to travel between the various beach communities as you might hope. We had three guidebooks and none of them mentioned that the only way between the beaches was by motorbike rental or overpriced cab, and that there are no official licensed cabs in the area besides the airport. If you want to take the inexpensive public bus, you have to go into Phuket Town.

Ao Bang Tao has very limited restaurant and other service options, and most are too far to walk to from this hotel. We weren't comfortable driving after dark by motorbike, so we were limited to 4-5 overpriced (and not very good) dining options by staying here.

Actually, Phuket Town was charming and a much better home base for exploring the area with lots of cheap food options and easy access to ferries and cheap public buses. If we come back, we will skip the overpriced beach side resorts and use the city as our base for exploration.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

I loved Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows for the fact that they were directly on the one of the best beaches I've ever been to. I loved the infinity pool too! The Bungalows were basic and fairly clean, the bathrooms were gross though. We had to call reception in the middle of the night as the toilet was gushing water out and we never made a fuss but it would have been nice if there had been an apology! I'd forget all this though for the fact that you can't beat the location and the other places on this beach were vastly more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

Forced to pay 3000 baht for a New Years Eve dinner which certainely did not live up to what was advertised, and the band started singing Auld Lang Syne ten minutes too early. We were given a half bottle of cheap wine and a paper lantern, Big Deal!!!
The breakfasts, which you MUST pay for even if you do not eat anything are apalling. Same food everyday, fried eggs and greasy bacon, no cereal no Thai food.
The staff at the beach bar are lots of fun, especially in the evening what the miserable Swedish manager has left. That man could turn milk sour.
The Java French Restaurant serves good food.
Accommodation is simple, and I stayed one night in a superior room, but there was nothing superior about it. Teh standard rooms were much better and in a better location
Great location though, right on the beach.
Would we go back again, I doubt it. Though we did find Sheila very nice and helpful, but the management would not give you the time of day... You see Madam Pia around the place, and being manager you would have thought that she would want to get out and meet the guests. Maybe she knows that all she will hear are complaints
Find somewhere else to stay on Phuket, this place is not really worth it

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Too many to mention
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Stayed there for 15 nights. Location is great but the rooms are in need of serious updating. The bathrooms are terrible, very grotty. The room descripitions are also very misleading. We booked a superior room, which in no way can be described as such. They are also very dis-organised, and one of our party had to move rooms due to a mix-up, something which happened often during our stay to other guests.

Also from a health and safety aspect, it leaves a lot to be desired. My partner fell down an uncovered manhole in the dark. We reported it as we were concerened a child could have fallen down. They said they would deal with immedialtely but it took 2 days and another complaint before they covered it.

Sheila who is the reception manager will be nice if things are going her way. If you have any problems/complaints she quickly turns very rude and will talk over you. We have been to Thailand a few times and never expereienced this type of treatment before. She will tell you what you want to hear and then nothing is followed through.

All the other staff were great, paticularly friendly in the beach bar, very good fun. It is a shame that one person can spoil your experience.

Cafe Java is good for dinner, the best profiteroles. The compulsory breakfast is not so great, not enough fruit and the juice is not fresh and very sweet.

Perfect location, a shame they do not care enough to make the rooms nicer. The outside areas are so well thought out and the restaurant is nice, shame about the rooms. We were there for a friends wedding and she had checked out the rooms before we booked in July last year. She was told the rooms were all being re-decorated but this had not happened. Do not believe what they tell you.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows

Address: 72/3 Moo 3 Tambon Cheang Talay | Bang Tao, Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 56 Specialty lodging in Thalang District
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows Hotel Thalang
Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.