We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Friendly Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sunwing Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunwing Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Moo 2, Bangtao Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FAMILY GETAWAY PACKAGE!
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Thalang District
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Family Friendly Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Great place for a family friendly holiday. I wouldn't necessarily recommend it for people without a family, but for families it's just perfect. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms and grounds are all impeccably kept, the restaurant is quite good and overall it's a great value. We had a really, really excellent stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    95
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
166
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Hotel is next to the beach, and has a long swimming pool running parallel to the rooms. Those staying in first floor will have superb access to the pool. The location of the hotel however is secluded from the crowded areas in phuket and the nearest shop is a few km away. There is a shop located in the hotel for you to buy your stuffs. Hotel is suitable for family with kids as they have quite a few activities for children. Wifi is not free in the room (only free at the lobby) so this is a poor rating for this hotel by today's standard.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here during low (monsoon) season in June 2014. Bang Tao Beach is farther north than the big party beaches of Patong and Karon et al. so it feels more secluded. The property is off the main roadways and on a smaller road, leading to the more secluded feel. There is a Tesco Lotus plaza within 5 minutes which is extremely convenient.

The resort itself feels completely self contained. Once you are inside, you hardly notice there is an "outside" due to this inclusive feel. It is directly on a very picturesque stretch of south Bang Tao Beach. There are beautiful green mountains to the north end of the beach and a closer coastal hill to the south end with some properties in that direction. The beach is very walkable and at low tide the width is amazing. The beach in front of the resort is partially shaded with trees and it makes the beach experience even better.

There are many services that we enjoyed at Sunwing that we didn't have to leave the resort for. There is a laundry facility, a very nice and affordable restaurant (free kids meals!), multiple massage options, ice cream and dessert cafe, a minimart, a great kids program for different ages, and of course the pools! The pools here are stunning. There are six total. One is a quiet "garden pool" that snakes around near the lobby. There is a kiddie pool with a small slide. There is a "sports pool" with swimming and volleyball. There is a "island pool" with a literal grass island in the middle that is immense in size. There are also fantastic pools for kids right on the beachfront: a mid-age kid pool (4-8 years maybe) and a toddler pool (2-4 years). We were never bored as the variety of swimming options was great.

The staff were always friendly and helpful. The staff in the lobby were helpful always and the restaurant staff were pleasant every day. The housekeeping and kids club staff were great as well. We had zero issues with staff.

We had a royal studio which is just a regular studio with a prime location (usually right on a pool and/or very close to the beach). It is all one big room but tastefully divided by a curtain. The bathroom was showing its age but was still good. There was a tub and stand-up shower. There is a very nice queen bed on one side and two great pullout kids beds on the other side. The room suits families of 3-4 very nicely. There is a family room available for families of 5+ people.

We stayed at two places in Phuket but this is the only one I would return to. It is oriented towards the family and we would gladly return here with our family if the situation to do so ever presented itself.

Room Tip: The Royal Studio upgrade is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have just had 8 nights at Sunwing Bangtao beach and loved it. We (my husband, 2 daughters aged 5 yo & 3 yo) stayed all together in a studio room on the ground floor with direct access to the pool. The breakfasts were good and the kids ate free at restaurant with adults. Best aspect was being right on the beach. Also 300 THB massages and other restaurants and convenience store only 10 min walk away. Kids' miniland offered lots of activities to keep kids occupied. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had a wonderful experience.As the hotel is on the beach,the experience is amazing.Child-friendly with a lot of planned activities ready.Good rooms and nice view.Food variety may be improved to include food for halal preferences.
Free Wifi should atleast be provided in all rooms rather than only in the lobby.

Room Tip: Do look for rooms with a sea view - it always gives a good feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunwing_Management, General Manager at Sunwing Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear adilnoormohd
Thank you for your review and your positive comments!
We are glad you felt calm and laid back and we can only say “mission accomplished”!!

We will definitely consider your request of providing some options of halal meat in our menu in the near future. Welcome back to try and enjoy the rest of summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here in jun for 3 nights with three kids age 11, 8 and 3. If you are looking to have some family time, then this is the place to go. Away from the hustle bustle of city life this place provides a good venue. With five pools and lots of activities for younger kids it is sure to keep them engaged.

The room is spacious and quite ok. Although a little refurbishment would make it much better. We only had breakfast there which needs to improved both quality and choice wise

As we had rented a car so we did not had issues moving around the island. I would suggest same for others too as it gives you the luxury to move at your own convenience.

Overall our experience was a good one so I would surely recommend same to others.

Room Tip: Try to get the room on ground floor as they do not have lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunwing_Management, General Manager at Sunwing Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Hamid,

Thank you for your pleasant review.
We are glad to hear you felt that the hotel gave you and your family some quality family time. After all, this is part of our concept.

At the moment we are in fact improving both our breakfast area and many of our rooms.
The breakfast area is being upgraded in material and lighting as well as a wider and prettier food selection. It is ongoing as we speak.
The rooms are going through an “operation” including everything from balcony chairs textiles to light switches. 2 rooms are being completed daily starting from yesterday!

Welcome back to test!

Ps. we are also installing two new lifts this summer which means that the majority of our rooms can be accessed through the elevators. Ds.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawalli, Kuwait
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel itself was okay. The pluses were that it is right on the beach and like a Sunwing Kamala, has many pools. The lobby and communal areas are old and look like they need to be refurbished soon. The breakfast was horrendous! I felt like I was in a cheap cafeteria. And to be honest, the people who stay thee are not the type I'd associate with. Yes, that does sound snooty but I'm uncomfortable in a hotel where people physically rush to grab food and return to their tables with 8 stacks of toast. The staff were grumpy and when I asked for something they told me to come back the next day. The Bangtao beach, whilst nice, is dirty and it lacks the charm of the nearby village that. kamal has. Unlike Sunwing Kamala, at Bangtao you have to catch a tuk-tuk or taxi or risk walking I. the heat for 20 to 39 minutes to get to where you can explore the shops. This hotel is the 'poor cousin' of the other one, Sunwing Kamala.
Rather stay at Sunwing Kamala if you prefer this hotel group. But read my review of Sunwing Kamala first.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunwing Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Resort & Spa

Address: 22 Moo 2, Bangtao Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#25 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#33 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunwing Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort And Spa
Sunwing Hotel Thalang
Sunwing Hotel Cherngtalay
Sunwing Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunwing Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.