We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sunwing Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunwing Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Moo 2, Bangtao Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FAMILY GETAWAY PACKAGE!
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Thalang District
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We just stayed here for 3 nights. We booked at the last minute and we thought it would be good based on the reviews. It is very much a family resort and definitely not for people without children. The positives for the Sunwing Resort are the close proximity to Bang Tao beach, the convenience of having large, kid-friendly pools, a shop on site, and a pretty good restaurant is definitely appealing. The food at LA Tasca was actually really good and the free kids buffet was excellent. Our two kids, aged 2 and 4 really liked the place. Unfortunately we just felt it was too crowded. The staff were very helpful generally but there were so many guests that it was impossible to provide personalised service. The rooms were ok, ours had a really bad smell coming from the bathroom and a "studio" on the 4th floor when you have two small kids just isn't a good idea. Everything felt a little bit shabby and the piles of garbage in the communal hallways, the beach and pool toys scattered around the grounds and the rundown appearance of the buildings was a distraction from what could have been a really nice holiday. There are also no lifeguards at the pools and no requirement to put swim nappies on little ones... While we were there they had shut the kids club "mini land" temporarily as they had had cases of hand, foot and mouth disease, not surprising given how many people were there and the lazy cleaning. This resort caters for Scandinavian and Russian tourists, with activities and staff specifically for those groups so, as Australians, it was the wrong place for us. They also charge for everything! The wifi (unreliable at best), sun lounges on the beach, kids club activities, all came at price. We would not stay again

Room Tip: There are no elevators so try and get a room on the ground floor if you have small children. The fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    95
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
166
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahti, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was our second time at this hotel. Our first visit was 2011. The hotel has stayed the same. Everything works and rooms are nice and clean. Pools are suitable for children. Breakfast is excellent. The variety of food is adequate. Most of the guests are Swedish or Russians. Staff has became quite serious. That's what Russians as quests do to you. Back in 2011 the beach was very peaceful and relaxing. Now it is too crowded and noisy. There are too many Russians shouting around. After silence in Koh Lanta, this was irritating. We don't think this place is worth the money anymore.

Room Tip: You can't be too close to the beach. Closer the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have been bouncing around thailand for 2 weeks and needed a place close to Puket airport for my flight in the morning (it is not close BTW about 30 min away). This place is not near anything else at all - they charge huge amounts of money for stuff and really just suck you in to only provide you with their stuff on their time. They switched the room on us and gave a free dinner as comp. with no free drinks. The room was dilapidated and in really bad condition compared with less expensive alternatives in the area, breakfast buffet was not even as good as under a $100 dollar places around here. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who also enjoys Chuck E. Cheese venues and standing in line with kids at Disney World.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you enjoy Chuck E. Cheese type places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I just stayed at the sunwing resort and spa on bang tao beach in Phuket and it was great. If you have kid's this resort is what you are looking for, great pools, fantastic beach seconds away, and very good food. The breakfast buffet was free and good with a wide variety of foods and the thai food at the restaurant was delicious, and we tried at least 8 different dishes and all we very good. We are from Canada so not a lot of English speaking people as it caters to Russians and Scandinavian's but that was fine, and the kid's had a blast at the kids club. Very good family resort!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed there 2 weeks, pleasant stay. Pools were just wow, beach so close and beautiful! Staff was friendly, everything worked smoothly.
Won't go back, because Bang Tao is too far away from all the shops and so on...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My boyfriend and myself went here for a 2 week holiday but I wouldn't go here again as it isn't suitable for couple, however, would be a great destination for families.
We had a studio room which was lovely, clean and modern. Although the bathroom does not have a bath.
The cleaners were great....our room was always spotless and they always said good morning! I was ill one day and when they clean your room they leave you 2 bottles of water...obviously our room could not be cleaned that day...so they knocked to see if we wanted water etc :)
We were constantly woken by kids running down the hall early in the morning.
There are lots of different pools to choose from, some quieter than others.
On site there are 2 restaurants (not very much choice of food...we got very bored of it very quickly). There are several other little restaurants on Kamala beach...some of which were very nice! We stayed on a B&B basis and there was lots to choose from at breakfast!!
The food was OVERPRICED on the resort and only a little bit cheaper on the beach....we were told that Thailand was cheap and we ended up having to budget our money!!
The beach is nice although they charge you for sunbeds....we paid 200 baht for a day and got a free bottle of water each. The waves can sometimes be rather choppy and probably not suitable for kids.
There is only kids entertainment in the evening so we found ourselves at a loose end unless we decided to venture out.
Overall the holiday was ok but I wouldn't return here....unless going on a family holiday as this resort it definitely tailored to family's.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My family stayed in here in December in the excellence beach. It was a great stay – rooms were nice and cleaned, pool was lovely and heated, there was a good variety of food – which was average resort food (at times yummy at times not but you’re always full). The pool was so nice it didn't faze us. For a resort so large the service was really great and everyone was always nice and accommodating. Overall a great stay and we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Pool access royal family very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunwing_Management, Manager at Sunwing Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear "kmaew2009"

We are very thankful for your positive feedback and we would be more than happy to welcome you back to Sunwing any time!
Until then we wish you will have a prosperous and happy 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunwing Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Resort & Spa

Address: 22 Moo 2, Bangtao Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#25 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#33 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunwing Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort And Spa
Sunwing Hotel Thalang
Sunwing Hotel Cherngtalay
Sunwing Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunwing Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.