We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Focused on small children and young families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sunwing Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunwing Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Moo 2, Bangtao Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FAMILY GETAWAY PACKAGE!
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Thalang District
durango
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Focused on small children and young families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice resort. Focused on young families with really young children. I was there with my three kids (ages 14,10 and 8); I think we were the only ones there without a stroller!
Everyone was friendly and helpful. Service was good, rooms were very average, beach was great; gentle and protected.
This place had very little local flavor and very mediocre food. I would only recommend this for those that want a really coddled, non-Thai experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    95
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
166
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Te Anau
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a great resort to relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. It is absolute beachfront and the beach is immaculate - no rubbish. The resort has great pools and restaurants so you don't really need to go anywhere else if you don't want to. In saying that there is a great local market on Monday and Wednesday afternoons with a huge range of items for sale and good prices. Not pushy stall holders either. The staff were also really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our family loved it and would definitely return

Room Tip: Our rooms were 3306 and 3307 - a little close to the stage where the evening events were held and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What it is not
Sunwing is not a 5-star establishment and it doesn’t pretend to be. If you’re looking for hi-end at Bangtao, stay at the Laguna group of resorts. You get what you pay for here. You don’t get smoked salmon, herbal teas, chunks of honeycombs, egg benedicts nor freshly squeezed juices at breakfast. If you want that, go stay at the Renaissance Mai Khao.

What it is
It is in essence, a family-friendly resort chain. There’s a clinic, kids club, and kids below 12 eat free with paying adults. The rooms come with 2 sofa beds, with enough towels and beddings for 4. The pantry is equipped with cutleries and a microwave. However, there isn’t a bathtub or a hand held shower. Not so easy to shower young kids properly. A baby tub is provided only in the Happy Baby Studio. The TV is CRT, so you can’t plug in your media player. There’s cartoon network, so that helps keep the kids entertained briefly while you jump into the shower.

Where it is
Sunwing Bangtao is located almost in the middle of the 6km stretch of beach. Mostly calm, shallow sea. Just a few jelly fish to watch out for. The hotel has direct beach access, which is great. The wading and kids pools are by the beach too. There are a few easily accessible beachside eateries but beware of high tides in the evening. If you venture farther, chances are you’ll be wading in sea water trying to get back to Sunwing. Just opposite the hotel entrance, there’s quite a nice restaurant. The prices are the same as those casual beach side ones. If you prefer to have more variety, choices, shops and free internet access, stay at hotels nearer the Best Western side. The shops are there.

The experience
As we visited during the low season, the breakfast spread wasn’t great – we had better at a cheaper hotel – but hey, it filled us up good. Food quality was fine.

The Spa was a let down. The treatment wasn’t bad. Just overpriced for a place so old and uninteresting. It’s 5 star price for 2 star ambience, amenities and 3.5 star treatment. Definitely had better for the same price. There are much cheaper and better value available nearby.

Like most international branded hotels, in-room internet access is expensive. They do have free access at the lobby though.

No complaints re service staff. Those from The Philippines speak English and the Europeans are multi lingual.

On the whole, we prefer the newer Sunwing at Kamala beach. Sunwing Kamala has bigger pools, better movie area and is better located to amenities. The only downside is the rooms are located far from the beach, unless you get the beach front rooms. OH and no free internet access at Kamala.

We’ve been to Phuket close to 20 times and stayed from Kata Noi to Phang Nga, at US$50/night – US$1000/night hotels. Chances are, we won’t be staying here again even though we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: No extra charges for kids below 12 sharing room. But the extra adult charge is high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here in October 2012 with a group. (4 adults, 4 children 7,7,6,5 years). Purchased voucher through deals.com.au so initially was unsure about what we'd be getting but it was fantastic! Had a ground floor room, very comfortable beds (1 queen & trundle single beds for the kids). Rooms cleaned spotlessly every day, pools (yes there really are 7 of them!) cleaned and maintained daily. Grounds kept beautifully. This resort is right on the beautiful bang Tao beach. We stayed during "off" season and the first few days the resort was practically deserted, last few days was busier but we never felt crowded and never had problem getting sun loungers or space by the pools.

Only slight negatives (and they are very slight), breakfast choice is somewhat limited and a bit repetitive after 9 days and kids activities are really for 4 years and under, even our kids were too old for some of the activities.

I would absolutely recommend this resort to any families looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday, it's very easy to get taxis to patong or any other town and there is a small local market in bangtao twice a week. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in block 4 are close to the children's pool and main pool and have a nice gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Acquired this through an internet deal $699 for eight nights for four people so naturally went the family deal. Found on trip advisor that this was a family orientated resort but this did not really concern me cause my children are late teens.
In short had a great stay out of the hub of Patong. Breakfast was selection was good and plentiful, staff were excellent and condition of the resort facilities were more than acceptable. On site shop come supermarket will cater for your needs and reasonable price.Bang Tao beach was very nice and a short walk to at least three or four good restaurants and massage places that earned the respect of the missus. Markets on Mon/Thu nights only 100 baht cycle or Tuk Tuk ride away. Patong only a 600baht ride away.
Full day taxi (private) driver 10 persons 3000 Baht.
No complaints from this happy traveller.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenport, Iowa, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

1st I have to start with a HUGE thank you to the staff! They were super friendly and very accomodating the entire vacation. Every employee we encountered acknowledged us (housekeeping, restaurant, maintenance, front office...) The Sunwing's best asset is their employees. Even picked up a birthday cake for my neice at the local store since we ordered it late and were leaving the next day.
With all our family members added up we speak English and very limited Chinese and Spanish. We speak NO THAI. We had no issues communicating with any staff member, they all spoke English VERY well, and even taught us a few Thai sayings.
Our room included breakfast daily and there was always a good selection. You can also get omlets daily which was a nice touch. We had several lunches and dinners in the restaurant. The "upscale" restaruant Fino wasn't open during our stay (due to it being the low season), but they still offered it's full menu in the regular dining area La Tasca for dinner. There were several options and even though majority of our meals were eaten here, I don't think I ordered the same thing more than once! Large selections of Thai & Western fare.
Our family consisted of three sleeping rooms, two Royal Suites by the pool, and one family room (great for kids!!) I would definitely suggest getting a family room if you have children, there is so much more space to spread out and the children will have thier own space/TV/bathroom...
During our stay we had several massages, which were very relaxing and right on the beach. We were in sticker shock when they said only 300 baht for an hour (about $10.00 USD) which is about $50.00 cheaper than back in the states. The only thing I didn't like about the massages is that there was constant chatter from the staff, it made it hard to relax. Also there are several people getting massaged along side one another, if you wanted a private room for massage you need to go to the spa and the prices are nearly as reasonable.
We stayed from 9/27-10/5 and with very little rain we had a wonderful vacation! I wish we had a couple more days!!

Room Tip: The poolview rooms are ideal, they have a balcony and you are right at the pools edge, only a few st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We got a deal for a suite and at @$80AUD per night incl breakfast it was great value. We negotiated a ground floor room and had the pool and beach almost at our doorstep! For a resort the restaurant was actually good value and great food with the kids free. As it was a bit quiet the kids club wasn't in full swing but our 8yo met some play mates and had a great time. The resort mini mart was well stocked and Tesco supermarket was only 100 baht each way for supplies. Room fridge was mid sized so good for cooling beverages!

Room Tip: Any first floor have pool access, block 3 and 6 are beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunwing Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Resort & Spa

Address: 22 Moo 2, Bangtao Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#25 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#33 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunwing Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort And Spa
Sunwing Hotel Thalang
Sunwing Hotel Cherngtalay
Sunwing Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunwing Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.