We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manathai Resort, Phuket

Save Saved
You added Manathai Resort, Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Manathai Resort, Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121/1 Moo 3 Srisunthorn Rd. | Cherng Talay, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 52 hotels in Thalang District
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

The Manathai is a nice hotel that on paper ticks all the right boxes..across from the beautiful Surin beach,nice rooms and a good restaraunt.
However there were things that let us down.Firstly it took almost an hour for the reception to check us in(We were only there for 2 night so time was precious!).The room we had booked supposedly had a private pool on the patio,I naivly thought this would be a swimming pool,not a mini moat around the room!
The breakfast was very dissapointing,fruit was tinned,not fresh.We had to pay extra for fresh juices and any hot drinks other than regular tea and coffee and the pastrys' and bread were stale.
The hotel does supply beds on the beach,however they are not owned by the hotel,they belong to one of the more rustic beach bars and perhaps aren't as stylish as the ones the neighbouring hotels offer and we had difficulty getting two towels each from the owner of the beds.
They do have a good happy hour deal at the bar but be warned if you turn up 1 minute after the specified time they will not apply the happy hour discount.
I can highly recommend the restaraunt..good food and good service.
When it came to check out we could not find any staff as there is no front desk..all the admin work is done in a little office so locating reception staff can be difficult.So the check out took just as long as our check in.
All in all it is a good hotel But unfourtunatly it has overlooked the little things that can make a huge difference to their guests overall experience and make the difference between a top class and a middle of the range hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    121
    60
    43
    36
See reviews for
46
213
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Just came back from our stay at Manathai Resort in Surin Beach. We stayed for 4 nights and had an overall pleasant stay. It's a pretty resort with ok rooms, I was hoping for something a little more luxurious as I had just come from the Fairmont in Singapore, so my level of expectation was a little high. Had I come here first, I might have liked it a bit more. I did get a huge discount though on Agoda.com so payed very little compared to the Twin Palms next door. We stayed in a standard room overlooking the pool and it was good but looks a lot nicer in pictures. The bed is a little hard, our toilet had trouble flushing even though we got it fixed and the shower didn't drain properly although did have a rain showerhead which I liked. Surin Beach is a little quiet although we were here during the off season and is far from a lot of activities. You have to either rent a car or get cabs everywhere and cabs are not that cheap. It did have a nice row of restaurants along the beach though.

I do have to say, the staff were great and responsive, it had a decent breakfast and free internet. Overall, good value for the money. If you want a place to stay that's away from the craziness of Patong that doesn't make a dent in your wallet it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

My husband and I decided to spend our second honeymoon in Phuket, and chose Manathai Resort based on the glowing reviews and hotel pictures we saw on the hotel website. We booked online for a 3 night stay.
The hotel and room looks pretty much like what is shown on the website. There are renovations going on now (it is the low season after all), but guests are not disturbed because the suites are away from the area being renovated. We did not hear anything, and only saw workers walking by with tools, so the on-going renovations did not disturb our holiday.
Room - We stayed in the pool suite on our first day and because it rained almost the entire day, we spent most of our time in our room, only going out to town in the evening when the rain stopped.
Good: The private pool is just a sliding door away from the bedroom, with a lounge chair to sunbathe on.
Not Good: Our suite was at the end of the block and although there were trees and shrubs for privacy, the building next door is much taller, hence not a good idea to work on your tan minus the bikini. Due to the weather there were swarms of mosquitoes at the outdoor pool area, and some got into the room. We tried burning mosquito coils, but that didn't work too well.
The next day we asked to change suites and were given the much larger duplex suite instead. We liked this suite better, and since the common pool is near the suites, did not mind giving up the private pool.
Service - Staff very friendly and believe in service with a smile.
Cleanliness - Do check toilet when given your room. There were faeces stains in the duplex suite toilet. And I'm talking major stains here :-(
Location - Not the most convenient if you plan to see other parts of Phuket. You are pretty much at the mercy of the taxis (there is a stand just opposite the hotel) and the hotel does not provide shuttle service, not even to Patong.
Beach - Just 300m away. Rather rough seas, so don't expect to do much swimming. There are Manathai beach chairs available, don't rent your own. Sitting on the beach with a good book is a good idea.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

I just noticed that I had neglected to write a review of this property.
We stayed here as Twinpalms was full and Hilltops was too expensive at this Easter.
We booked the Splendia as the hotel were very slow in getting back to us and the rates were better on third party sites.
When we arrived our Pool suite had an air conditioning problem and we were put in a Studio suite (I think t was called) for the first night. The room was an excellent size and the bathroom beautiful. The next day we moved to our pool suite which was much smaller but as the pool was in the shade the water was cool and great for a dip.
The water in the hotels main pools was very warm - as the weather was extremely hot and the sun shone each day.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel - which was quite average. I nearly forgot one day my husband had a burger which he said was great.
We got an excellent rate at the Manathai and I would recommend it highly - it is small well designed and the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Manathai is located in Surin beach – a quick 10 minute cab/tuk tuk ride from the very popular Patong beach -- just to the south. For those who gravitate more towards the center of the scene, Surin’s probably not for you. I’d suggest making reservations instead in Patong. If you’re looking for something less boisterous though, Surin beach may just be it. And, there are decent and pretty affordable options such as Manathai that you can consider.
Some of the goods: First impression, the hotel’s beautifully designed. I’d say the photos you’ve see are pretty spot-on. There’s an overall tranquil effect guests immediately notice as they enter the premises. There are large trickling water pots placed around the compound which adds to the overall Zen nature of the property. There are a couple bars (one poolside) and a restaurant (Weeves) onsite, free wi-fi, and public terminals guests can use for internet access, free breakfast buffet (adequate—not excellent), pool, and easy access to the beach across the street.
The not so goods: communal areas are not properly cooled. I was visiting in the summer and the restaurant and lobby area weren’t terribly comfortable to lounge in. I’d imagine this being a non issue however if you’re visiting in the cooler months. Overall the service was decent but not exceptional. I think it’s important to be mindful of this before you make your reservation, so that you’re not disappointed - especially if you’re used to top-notch treatments in other locations. I think if these can be sorted out, it has the potential of being a fantastic property.
For the nightly rate, location, and included amenities, it’s a good deal. If you’re a finicky traveler though, this may not be terribly ideal—at the moment. Other properties nearby to consider: Twin Palms and Courtyard by Marriot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

The staff is very friendly. The hotel is beautiful. The amenities are great. The pool, great. However, the breakfast is disappointing. More importantly, the bed was not comfortable. we planned to stay 6 nights but checked out after the third night simply because i could not get a good night's sleep on their bed. This is a boutique hotel who has tried hard and is good in many areas, but alas is not quite there yet. Stay here if you are not fussy about beds (like i am) because it is good value. The website boasts beautiful photos, and it is a nice place, but if you are looking for a truly relaxing experience, the Chedi next door has what you want.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and I just returned from 7 days in Phuket. We stayed at the Manathai for 3 nights and I wished we had booked it for all 7 (we moved to the Amari Coral Beach to experience a little of Patong Beach-which one day would have been enough). It was a fabulous boutique property with a very ZEN atmosphere. We booked on Hotels.com and got a rate of an incredible $100 USD per night for a regular room. Once arrived, they surprised us with an upgrade to a 2 story studio that was magnificent. Attention to details in this hotel is everywhere! From the walk ways with special lightingand flowers and seating, to arromatice oils over a candle light for us each night. It is not directly on the beach but it was such a short walk across the street and down a short path that it was definitely not a problem. Once at the beach there was really no reason to leave for the day. There were quaint Mom & Pop restaurants (with GREAT food) and shops; massage services right on the beach; and umbrellas/chaise lounges/towel services. We absolutely loved everything about the Manathai and Surin Beach! Make sure you visit Catch Beach Club (affliated with Twin Palms). The food and atmoshphere are both AWESOME! We will definitely be back to the Manathai!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manathai Resort, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manathai Resort, Phuket

Address: 121/1 Moo 3 Srisunthorn Rd. | Cherng Talay, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manathai Resort, Phuket 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Manathai Resort, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manathai Resort, Phuket Hotel Thalang
Manathai Hotel Phuket
Manathai Hotel Surin Beach
Manathai Resort, Phuket Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manathai Resort, Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.