We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Disappointed.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Manathai Surin Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Manathai Surin Phuket to your Saves list
Manathai Surin Phuket
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121/1 Moo 3 Srisunthorn Rd. | Cherng Talay, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly Disappointed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I were so looking forward to the last three nights of our holiday in The Manathai. We splashed out and booked a plunge pool villa. Now, we had a lot of personal things about why we rate this hotel the second worst we've stayed in, however, I will only point out the facts. It is after all only our opinion.

1. The service was shocking. We felt as if we were imposing and not a paying guest. For example:
* They offer a free shuttle to Patong, however, everytime we went to book we were told it was 'full.' It was never full, they just tried to discourage guests. We had to kick up a fuss to even get the free transportation they offered.
* We asked for a late check-out by one hour and one staff member said instantly NO without looking. We tried again later, only to be told yes, no problem.
* Staff drank and ate and chatted in reception and in lobby. Not proper customer service.
* No bar staff and when asked to have a drink we were scoffed at as if we were putting THEM OUT.
* Staff used the guest toilets around the pool - staff quarters should be adequate that this DOES NOT happen.
* Breakfast was lack lustre and low choice. No pastries and bread was stale.
* We had children staying in the room above us - screaming, running. It was very loud and not romantic at all.
* Room was tired, as was the rest of the hotel. I would rate it a 3 star, if that.
* The area of Surin is not nice. We MUCH prefered Karon in terms of restaurants, price, drinks and beach.

In our opinion The Manathai needs a serious overhaul in management. Not only would we NEVER stay there again, but we instantly wanted to leave when we arrived. If you want a romantic, peaceful resort, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    126
    59
    43
    36
See reviews for
46
224
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Manathai is really everything I could hope for in a Boutique Hotel. The hotel itself is so beautifully designed from the lobby, to the restaurant to your room. They thought of every little detail and it just feels amazing to be there. The price is amazing for a 5 star hotel!

30 seconds walk to the beach, private chairs on the beach, happy hour, beautiful ambience, gorgeous pools, comfortable beds, wonderful staff, lovely breakfast buffet, great food at restaurant.

Room Tip: We had a Pool Suite.....they are really big rooms in the older section of the hotel. The room had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Front office staff really nice and smiling, english not perfect but more than enought.
The room just amazing but some finition are missing, But you can stay ine the bed for all the day.

The breakfast really good lot of choice and fresh product.

The pool was really quiet and relaxing

1 bad point was the room service not really efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Manathai resort for 6 nights we bought a deal from Cudo which was great value we thought for a 5 star boutique resort.
The photos on the site depict a beautiful resort unfortunately for us we had a room on the old side of the resort where we had Mould all around the bath the windows where filthy where we had to get them cleaned.We took our friends who had never been to thailand before and where very embarrassed as to the dirty state of the rooms.
There where tiles falling of the roofs a tarp covering 1 part of the hotel a pool that was dirty for the first 2 days but they did get it cleaned.W e only swam in it once as we had to walk to the other side of the resort where it was like being in a totaly different resort.
We did get moved for the last 2 nights to a pool suite which was very nice apart from the garden that you look at while showering looked a bit scary wasnt sure what was going to crawl out of it.
The lighting in these rooms is very dim and needs to be looked
The staff where nice but I found them to be very lazy and could have been on their toes more instead of us trying to find them to get a drink at the pool bar while they where congrigating in the kitchen.
After breakfast one morning we where sitting in the lounge area and a rat ran across the doorway in front of me >I told the staff but they where disinterested .
This could be a very good resort if the managers or owners spent a liitle money and fixed things and paid attention to detail
DEFINATELY NOT A 5 STAR RESORT.
Surin is a great place to stay the beach in beautiful and the limited shops and massage parlors makes it for a serine holiday away from the madness of Patong.
With a bit of love and care this would be a great resort but the way it is I wouldnt recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Manathai this October for eight nights. Our room, the pool suite was large enough, lovely toilet and with a nice private porch with a small lounge pool. Rooms have coffee/tea maker and is very comfortable - the only issue we had with the room was the lighting as it was not sufficient to read. The staff are very friendly and responsive including the day-time security guard. Manathai is very very good vale for money. The easy access to Surin beach is great especially since the hotel has beach loungers, towels and umbrellas for free on Surin beach. We were very disappointed with the restaurants on the beach - for a lunch time snack they are okay but very poor Thai food if you are looking at dinner options - and terrible value for money especially if you like authentic Thai food, beyond the usual menu for tourists. Surin beach is a good beach to lounge as it is not as crowded as Kata/Karon or Patong. The waves can be quite strong.

If you are looking for options to eat close-by, there are many places to eat if you drive towards Bangtao beach, on the road past Manathai and the hotels next to it Twin Plams and Double Tree. Nok Jo's in one option. Nok Jo is also able to facilitate fishing tours which we recommend. But the restaurants in Bang Tao are not at walking distance from the hotel.

There is a place close to Manathai from where you can rent scooters - KP Rent. We also rented a honda steed for three days from bigbike.com in Patong - but do ask Khun Yao on where you can get a puncture fixed - most places are not able to fix a puncture for heavy motorcycles

There is also a good taxi stand close to the hotel. The small shop next to the hotel is well stocked for some wine, small groceries and they also do the laundry.

As an option for dinner, we highly recommend the restaurant at the hotel - very good value for money and quite romantic. Our view is that it is very high value for money compared to Mr Tan or other restaurants on Surin beach. These restaurants on the beach are suitable for lunch. There are one or two small shacks a little away from the beach which offer quite good food but close at 9 pm. It could also be that October is a relatively quieter time of the year

Some of the offers at Manathai are standardised - for example the breakfast menu or the snack that comes with the complimentary afternoon - but we were delighted to receive the offerings. Mon Sappaek and his team including the bar-man were very friendly and helpful. It was also a great experience to participate in the street food vegetarian festival on Rasara road, Phuket.

We highly recommend Manathai Hotel. We had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were wanting a relaxing beach vacation and Surin beach was the perfect place. We stayed in Thailand for 7nights and the Manathai resort is a great deal for your money. The rooms are nice, staff are friendly, amenities are good and you can't beat the location. Once you walk out of the hotel it's a 30 second walk to the beach where Manathai has their own section of the beach with beach loungers and umbrellas.
Right along the main stretch of the beach there are plenty of places to choose from to eat, they all serve more or less the same foods but the food is good and they have great prices. Also every place has a happy hour every night, I recommend getting your favorite drink mixed up and served in a coconut, so good!. We ate at the hotel restaurant only one night and ordered salmon and traditional Thai food, the food was very delicious and good portions, however a bit over priced.
If you get a chance walk around the little beach town, there are a lot of little shops and boutiques for shopping and souvenirs and the people are friendly around the town. We did only one excursion on this trip, James Bond island tour, which was incredible and fun seeing other parts of the island. It's nice because all of the tour companies will pick you up from the hotel and if you don't have anything book prior to arriving the hotel staff at Manathai can help you out with this. We loved our stay at the Manathai resort and our already trying to figure out the next time we can go back!

Room Tip: We choose a pool suite room, it was nice having your own little private pool, however the water was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My partner and I had a lovely stay at this hotel. Fantastic location 2 minutes from Surin Beach! A really nice big room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Huge walk in shower too! A superb breakfast with asian options... and wonderfully helpful staff! The pool was lovely and everything was well kept and tidy. There may have been a need for a little repainting in our shower ( they were doing ongoing tidying up when we were there ) but this IS Thailand and humidity causes wallpaint to get a little mouldy at times... but nothing that would affect our stay! I would recommend this hotel for price and facilities and LOCATION!

Room Tip: We had a second floor deluxe room overlooking the pool so less noise from splashing swimmers! There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manathai Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manathai Surin Phuket

Address: 121/1 Moo 3 Srisunthorn Rd. | Cherng Talay, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in
#41 Luxury Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manathai Surin Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporarily Closed for major renovation -- Opening in November 2015 MANATHAI SURIN PHUKET SUNLIGHT DANCES ACROSS WATER, A DELICATE FLORAL FRAGRANCE WAFTING INSIDE AND OUT Aromatic lotus ponds are a defining feature at MANATHAI Surin Phuket, an elegant 52-room boutique resort. Inside, colourful handicrafts and plush silk fabrics against smooth dark wood. Inspired by Thai passions, textures and flavours. A sense of tranquillity found in this tropical seaside haven nestled at the edge of the white sands of Surin Beach on the beautiful island of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Manathai Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manathai Resort, Phuket Hotel Thalang
Manathai Hotel Phuket
Manathai Hotel Surin Beach
Manathai Surin Phuket Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manathai Surin Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.