We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humbling experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gibbon Rehabilitation Project

Gibbon Rehabilitation Project
Bang Pae Waterfall | น้ำตกบางแป, Phuket, Thailand
+66 76 260 4912
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gibbon Rehabilitation Project (GRP) was set up in 1992 by Mr Noppadol Preuksawan, the chief of the Royal Forest Department in Phuket at that time, Mr. Thavrn Sri-Oon, Bang Pae Sub-Station chief, the Asian Wildlife Fund and an American Zoologist called Terrance Dillon Morin. In 1994 the Wild Animal Rescue Foundation of Thailand (WARF) started to support the project, we are now a research division of WARF. The GRP is a unique animal welfare and conservation organisation, working to rehabilitate unwanted or confiscated gibbons from the pet trade and tourist industry and to reintroduce suitable candidates back to the wild Mission • To prevent the mistreatment of gibbons and other wildlife • To rehome illegally kept captive gibbons and to provide a caring environment in which they can recover • To rehabilitate gibbons and to reintroduce suitable individuals back to the wild • To educate people about the need to preserve and protect the environment • To educate tourists and local communities about the illegal wildife trade
Wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Humbling experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The Gibbons housed here have been recovered from households that obtained them as pets then lost interest once the gibbon lost its cute factor. The three or four gibbon that are visible to the public highlight the plight of these gorgeous animals. The sanctuary was not what I expected. I had hired a driver to take me from Karon beach to the sanctuary where I expected I would be spending at least half a day at the sanctuary which was open to the public. As only a tiny area that contains four gibbons is accessible I felt disappointed that I was unable to see the sanctuary at work.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    100
    29
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flowood, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Lovely Thing to Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I would definitely visit this Project, while in Phuket. The gibbons are so cute!! It is not expensive to "adopt" a gibbon, and they have great, well-priced souvenirs. I would recommend this to anyone who loves animals.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real commitment to a massive cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is not a petting zoo, but a working rehabilitation centre, which is being run by dedicated volunteers. The gibbons and slow loris trade and demise are a by-product of tourism and the animal trade. We took our 4 children there on a wet day. The staff were very informative, and we learnt a lot about the work that they do. They are not funded by your fee into the national park, so pleae consider giving generously, or buy something from their shop to take away as a reminder of the great work that they do. Well worth the trip

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Giving life back to the Gibbons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A rare find as poorly advertised and signposted. access is via the Eastern entrance to Khao Phra Thaeo National Park, entrance fee (100BHT?) to see the Bang Pae waterfall which is so so.
Gibbon project run by volunteers is a sad reflection on some aspects of humanity BUT also great that others rescue these animals and try to get them back to their natural home.
Please read the articles on NOT having photos taken in bars/the beach with these monkeys!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worthwhile trip & one if Thailand's best restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This trip is a must when in Phuket for 2 reasons.

Firstly, the gibbon project, though it seems under funded still does an amazing job. Friendly volunteers will tell you about the cruelty that gibbons and other animals are subjected to in the bars and tourist areas of Thailand. You learn about gibbons generally, read some of their stories and see the gibbons that have been rescued.

Don't expect to handle gibbons or see them up close, many are traumatised, so not possible to get too close, but you can see them enjoying a much improved and happy life.

Secondly, if that's not enough to tempt you up to the project, right before the main entrance to the park is one of Thailand's best restaurants. You will see it on the left just before you enter. It has enjoyed some amazing reviews, but remains largely hidden away due to it's location.

The restaurant is built in a low, 2 storey, pavilion style and sits on the edge of Phuket's last remaining section of rainforest. The main restaurant is on the upper floor, from which you can enjoy the most stunning 360 degree view. Looking a across a lake the rainforest rises before you & it's breathtaking.

You will be further excited by the food, which has a depth of flavour rarely experienced. The crab curry was amazing and the chef is clearly very skilful, yet prices are the same as any local roadside restaurant, very low.

Try this amazing restaurant & support the gibbons too :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbon Rehabilitation Project also viewed

 

Been to Gibbon Rehabilitation Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibbon Rehabilitation Project, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.