We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to Escape & Unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaman White Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Andaman White Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaman White Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   28/8 Moo 4, Tambon Sakoo | Amphur Thalang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special rates & benefits
Ranked #21 of 52 hotels in Thalang District
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place to Escape & Unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall, I enjoyed my stay & happy with the service.

Location:
Near to airport but far from other places. U need transportation to travel. But there are motorbikes for rental, so travelling around makes easier.
The beach is beautiful & breathe taking. If you like tranquility & cozy ambience, this is the place. Its quiet & peaceful. A real escape from your daily busy life, away from the hustle & bustle of the city.

Rooms:
I stayed in a Beachfront Private pool Villa.
Everything is neat but cleaniest can be improved.
I saw lizard's droppings on the towel when I was about to take my shower.
Perhaps, there should have a white light in the room. Its dark at night & finding things would be tedious.
I would suggest that the management should do some uplifting works & maintenance for the room. Especially for the cracks in between the doors. It would be better.

Food:
The fruits are fresh. Pizzas, chips & salads are tasty but pricey. Breakfast is acceptable. Love the waffles & eggs.

Service:
Staff were friendly, polite & always service with a smile.
I think that the management should sent their staff for Basic English Communication Course. Have some communication difficulty with some of the staff. But they always try their best to meet their customer's needs.
The Japanese staff, Momoko is Good & Efficient. I like her service. She's attentive & prompt.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    129
    52
    28
    21
See reviews for
45
318
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The room is clean, huge and spacious including the bathroom. Outdoor balcony is romantic. At night when you sleep with sounds of waves as music to your ears. The resort is secluded and not near to shops or other restaurants so be prepared to pay for slightly more costly food. Food are not bad to be honest, but I wasnt impressed with the drinks quality at happy hour. Other than that, you get free juice at 4pm, free fruits at 5pm by the poolside. Breakfast offers a decent selection with freshly cooked eggs or waffles! The service was good, there was free wifi but not very stable connection. I lost my beautiful hat there, probably left by the pool but very disappointed despite being a highly rated place, no one turned it in. I expected more honesty in this place but probably another guest has taken it. The private beach wasnt meant for swimming when I was there, huge waves so exercise your own precaution. Not a long stretch but sufficient for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

pro:
- The beach is beautiful and clean, and is the main reason to come to this hotel. this is the perfect romantic beach. There are little gazebos on the beach which are very comfy and nice for shed, also on the beach there is a little beach house where you can get beach towels, boogies and other beach equipment (complimentary).
- the exterior of the hotel is very nice and has good views of the sea.
- The staff is very friendly and helpful, and have good language skills.
- nice breakfast.
- fruit juice and complementary fruits on 16:00 and 17:00, respectively.
- nice rooms with comfy beds (for some reason the double bed is in fact twin beds combined which was quite annoying). the rooms were clean and lovely.
- internet room with 4 computers, connected to fast internet and with card readers.
cons:
- the place is quite secluded with 10-15 min walk to the next restaurants and convenience store (with side walk only on part of the walk). since it's secluded they charge you four times more on food in the hotel restaurants which makes it very expensive. the prices on the menu doesn't include service and tax, making it even more expensive.
- the variety and amount of fruit available on 17:00 is small and sometime there are not enough fruits for everybody.
- no wi-fi reception in the room.
- no DVD in the rooms (at least not in the cheap ones).
- we had a toilet block but it was fixed very fast.
- the hotel offers taxi service which is quite expensive (600 THB to the airport which is only 15 min drive). the taxi drivers in the next village (2 min drive) refused to take us from the hotel and explained that they are not allowed to do so. other taxi services we tried to call wanted the same price or didn't want to come to this area. the taxi driver himself was ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Island -Penneshaw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing stay while in Phuket, then I would suggest staying here. It is out of the way so we enjoyed just sitting by the pool and bar. It is situated on the side of a hill with accommodation going right down to its own private beach with white sand which is clean. The staff was friendly, food was fresh and the place was very clean. Beer and wine very cold not like other resorts on Phuket we had stayed at. Nice touch when the manager mingles with the guests. The only real down side is the place needs maintenance which we believe work is starting, these are things behind the scenes, really due to being so closed to the water. Our only complaint was that we had no hot water in one of the showers in our room and had to ask 4 times in a day for it to be fixed. If you don't like steps, then this is not the place for you. We would return again once repairs are done.

Room Tip: Take a villa on the beach or one next to the pool, otherwise you will be walking up and down steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed there for my honeymoon for 3 nights,, i took the beachfront villa, lets start with the villa
.the villa is amazing ,it has all the amenities you need( private pool, i pod dock,shower room, bathtub, amazing bed,terrace, hammock in the private garden and a private gazebo on the beach) its amazing and very clean.
The food is delicious but not much variety.,,The private beach is the most magnificent thing in this hotel ,it has the best sunset ever.the water is clean.there is a private gazebo for villa residence ., there are 4 restaurants ,the restaurants has delicious food but expensive as there are no local restaurant in the area near the hotel
The bad things are :
1)breakfast hasnt much varaiety
2) the main pool is amazing but was very dirty with bugs and a very big bug inside it that we couldnt use it the day we wanted, i dont know why they didnt clean it
3) the staff needs to be more hospitable and speak better english
4)the location is very very far from anything else , at night its like a goast town.

I think ill change this hotel my next visist.
i ll rate it very good because of the villa and beach.if you arent a villa residence ,ull loose one of the best things in this hotel.

Room Tip: beach front pool villa is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The title says it all -- I would recommend a stay here just for the amazing beach and the fantastic view. But you might want to consider the pros and cos:
Pros:
1) Beautiful setting and lovely beach. The sea could be rather rough to swim with strong current, but there is nothing to stop you from taking a walk and getting your feet wet -- if you stay close enough to the shores, its safe. There are plenty of vacant beach beds / gazebos available at all times so there is no rush to secure one. This is a definite attraction of this resort.
2) Friendly staff who do try to go the extra mile to cater to your needs and requests. A lot of them can't speak English very well but they try very hard to please. I think the staff genuinely do want to give you the best time they possibley can.
3) Rooms are relativey clean, comfortable and spacious but you might want to request for a higher floor, as this takes care of the insect problems and also, guarantees a great view.
4) Complimentary bottles of water are included in the room but you pay for pretty much everything else.
5) There are complimentary juices and fruits served every evening near the beach and pool area, which is a nice touch.
6) This is a really small and private resort - and a great place to get away from it all. Most importantly, there are very few kids here so its ideal for couples who have no wish to be caught in a large place full of screeching children.

CONS:
1) We asked for a Sea View Deluxe Jacuzzi Room but on arrival, was given the pool front jacuzzi room which we were unhappy with as there was no privacy. However, the manager promised us a Sea view room on a higher floor the next day. So this is something you may wish to specify.
2) Jacuzzis tend to be strewn with insects and leaves every morning but unless you request for a cleanup, it was not done, when the rooms were turned over every morning. So you stick around waiting for the jacuzzi to be cleaned, after returning from a splash at the sea, and its not very pleasant.
3) Breakast was simple - its a decent buffet with toasts, pancakes, cereals, fruits and hot eggs if you wish. Not a spectacular spread but satisfactory if you ae only staying for 3 or 4 days.
4) Restaurants are ok but do not expect authentic thai food here. We tried the PIzzeria, the BBQ, as well as the Tom Yam restaurant. Prices are on the higher side, as you are paying an extra 17% (tax and service charge) and food quality is average. Again, its fine if you are only staying for a few days. But do note that for Muslims and Vegetarians, the choice can be rather limited as there was plenty of pork dishes.
5) If you are planning for a lot of activities from this resort, be prepared to pay 1700 baht (return) to travel to town by taxi. Its far from major tourist areas but we were not looking to shop or join in the crowd, so for those who prefer the peace and quiet, this would not be a problem.
6) Administration - this could be improved. Durig our checkout, I realised that we were charged for consumption of water from the mini bar, which we didnt. We only consumed water which was delivered to the room, which I presumed was complimentary. The hotel waived these charges after my query. Also, the bill did not deduct the amount paid as deposit, at the point of booking. After showing documentary evidence, again this was factored in. So please check your bill thoroughly before payment.

Overall, did I enjoy my stay? Yes, after the slight issue with the rooms on the first day, our stay was relatively incident free and pleasant and I absolutely LOVED THE BEACH!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

BOOKING:
I booked direct with the hotel - this was efficient and we paid a 15% booking deposit.

FIRST IMPRESSION:
I hate running the taxi gauntlet at Phuket Airport, so we booked a private transfer with the hotel - however the driver was not there when we arrived and we ended up taking a taxi (cost 600THB) Not a good start.

ROOM:
We booked a beach front pool villa - now this was nice. But private they are not - there is nothing between your terrace, the pool and everyone else on the beach. So - if you are in need of some privacy outside - then you won't get it here. The rooms themselves are nice - but we shared the entry gate with the villa next door - you have to keep the curtains closed or they can see right in. We moved from villa 103 to 108 - as 103 had the most vile sewage smell after rain, we could not sit outside or open our door.

SERVICE:
The staff are pleasant and always smiling - but their skills are well below par and it is sketchy at best - the staff seem lost most of the time. We had 2 days of pouring rain and they had not organized to move breakfast undercover, so it was a mad house of trying to carry your umbrella and keep your food dry. The service in all of the restaurants is very, very slow and almost painful to watch and for this poor service, you have the benefit of paying a mandatory 10% tip...
Happy hour - you must have 2 of the exact same cocktail, even though they are the same price - you can not change. This is the strangest 'happy hour' I have found in a long time.

FOOD:
Don't expect Thai prices here - all food and drinks are normal European prices, easily 3 times that of beach restaurants in the near by village. Also the menus are very limited - there are no starters on the coconut bar menu - which I felt was very poor. Not everyone wants to eat a HUGE meal and they offer nothing light. No satay sticks, no spring rolls, no small salads - nothing. Even the bruschetta from the pizza beach restaurant is poorly executed and huge. We chose to eat a late breakfast and then walk (10 minutes) to the nearby village and enjoy a sunset beach dinner and drinks at normal Thai prices. The food was also considerably better, as was the menu choices.
This is almost the biggest disappointment of this resort - given its isolation, they really need to look at their menu, train their staff and rethink their prices. 350THB for PadThai, that is not even good is just to expensive.

BEACH:
Yes the beach is amazing - private and really just beautiful. The beach cabanas are a nice touch.

MASSAGE:
This is a huge disappointment. They could do so much more with this - it is a collection of ugly partly broken tables jammed together under a big tree. It is not private, nor relaxing. They really need to rethink the position and set up of this. It is just awful.

OVERALL:
The beach is simply to die for - very, very beautiful. Given the resort is only 20 minutes from the airport - it is perhaps not a bad stop for a night or two.
But for me there were just to many negatives. The food and drinks was terribly overpriced and the selection very limited. The hotel charges taxi's a surcharge of 100THB on top of your fare if they book a cab for you, you pay an automatic 10% service fee - for slow / bad service - the bad just does not balance out the beach.
The beach villas are nice - but there is no real privacy.

TIPS:
If you must go there..
1/ Rent a car or scooter to get yourself around.
2/ Eat at the local village, about a 10 minute walk.
3/ I would call this a stop over hotel. Great if you have an early flight or arrive late into Phuket.

TAXI FARES:
Airport - 600THB each way.
Village - 200 THB (from hotel) 100 THB from the village (the hotel charges an extra 100 THB)
Phuket Town - 1700 THB return, with 3 hours in Phuket
Laguna Resort town area - 700 THB each way

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaman White Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman White Beach Resort

Address: 28/8 Moo 4, Tambon Sakoo | Amphur Thalang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#12 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#14 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#18 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaman White Beach Resort 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Andaman White Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman White Beach Hotel Thalang
Andaman White Beach Thalang
Andaman White Beach Resort Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaman White Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.