We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good resort overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banyan Tree Phuket
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Athens
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good resort overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We originally heard about Banyan Tree resort in Phuket from friends. Its a very nice and spacious resort built in the Laguna area of Phuket, surrounded by other hotels and resorts. You can easily move around using the bicycles provided free of charge.

The hotel staff were very kind and warm at our arrival. Hot towels and tea is offered, while the reception staff made sure we had a good tour of the resort before heading at our villa. The pool villa setup is very nice and ideal for a couple holiday. The pool is situated right in front of the bed, and the bathroom area is very spacious. There is a very comfortable shower, two different washing areas, cupboards, the wc as well as an outside tub.

Everything concerning the room was quite perfect, except for the mosquitoes. Although the hotel provides a mosquito repellent device, it is not enough to do the trick. If you want to sit outside by the pool during the afternoon, you should better use an anti-mosquito spray or lotion. In addition, the air-conditioning unit is placed in such a way that you cannot sit on the villa couch and watch TV without getting a cold. On the last day, we found a couple of holes on our bed sheets, possibly a hint that they need replacement. Some mornings loud birds can wake you as early as 5am.

All the staff are very friendly, professional and attentive. Buggies arrive at no time at all, and everyone is very eager to help. Sometimes, the lack of appropriate english knowledge can lead to misunderstandings or incomplete directions... Only the senior staff understand and speak good english.

The restaurants at Banyan Tree need a bit of improvement if they are to offer meals up to the hotel standards. The breakfast buffet is fine, however the in-villa dining menu needs improvement. The salads, club sandwiches etc are a bit dry and tasteless. The hotel restaurants offer medium food, with the exception of the Water Court seafood restaurant which was a pleasant surprise.

The Spa at the Banyan Tree is the highlight of the hotel. All staff are amazing and the spa area is very comfortable and relaxing, with separate rooms for each treatment. The Balinese massage we tried was a very relaxing and soothing experience. Recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Nikos A,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us, we are glad that you enjoyed your vacation in Phuket!

Friendly, attentive and professional are very thoughtful words to praise our associates, I will be sure to share them with the team as nothing motivates us more than such kind words of appreciation. It is great to know that you enjoyed a luscious dinner at our Seafood Restaurant Watercourt. I have informed our Executive Chef on your constructive comments regarding the in-villa dining menu.

We acknowledge your feedback on the risk of mosquitoes, a problem which is very common in the tropical surroundings and seasonality of Phuket. We therefore constantly do our best to keep this risk as low as possible by conducting bi-weekly fogging and providing electronic mosquito repellant and spray complimentary in each villa. I am glad that the presence of mosquitos did not mar your overall very positive stay at the Banyan Tree Phuket.

Pertaining to your feedback on the language skills of some associates, English language lessons are part of the screening process before hiring as well as an essential part of the regular training programs that our Banyan Tree associates have to undertake. Please rest assured that I brought your comments to the attention of our Quality and Training Manager with the objective of enhancing our current trainings in order to avoid misunderstandings.

Thank you very much once again for your kind feedback, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    603
    142
    58
    28
    18
See reviews for
183
482
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket Town, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Me and my gf went to Tamarind restaurant and try out the Japanese food and it was amazing. First I called and book the table for 2, the lady on the phone was very nice and was very detail for the reservation. Soon we arrive we were greeted by the servers and escorted us to the table. The restaurant is beautiful and very peaceful. The menu had a nice selection of sushi, sashimi, teriyaki, tempura, noodles, set menu and some exotics item like Toro and live Sweet Shrimp.
We order some sushi, sashimi, teriyaki and Udom. We got tuna roll and white snapper sushi, the rice was cook nicely and the flavor is well balance with the fish. Sashimi we have Aji (Jack Mackerel) and Tamago Egg. Both are super fresh and the Tamago is made with perfection.
Next we have Mackerel Teriyaki and the fish is very tender and the sauce is well balance with the fish. Finally the best dish is the tempura udon. The flavor is light soy base with dashi and combine with the batter from the tempura create a sweet and light soy taste that you just can't get enough.
The service is very attentive we both are very happy with the dinner and will back for more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Chef Yifan,

Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review of our Japanese Restaurant Tamarind, it is a hidden gem we find that those who discover it return for more!
Our Japanese Master Chef Shiraishi has been practicing the art of Sushi for more than 40 years now! I have shared your comments with Chef and his culinary team and the dedicated service staff.

This November, we will launch a special Kobe Beef promotion at Tamarind, it would be a pleasure to welcome you and your girlfriend back to try it out!

Warm greetings,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

we (family of four) stayed in two bed room pool villa for three nights. Must say, three nights are not sufficient enough, I would recommend at least five nights to enjoy in the property.
when you enter into the resort, you will be welcomed with a nice flower garland, were checked-in smoothly.
when we entered into our villa (835) we were really amazed the way the villa is arranged. I have enjoyed walking every corner / inch of villa. good room space, beds, daily fruit platter and very good amenities in bathrooms. pool and garden is clean (worried prior to check-in after reading couple of remarks in TA about pool cleanliness)
very good breakfast in morning enjoyed thoroughly with my children, had a chat Mr. Sriram, GM of Bayan tree resort in his morning rounds.
couldn't cover entire resort and activities with in three days. definitely will come back very soon,, this time only for relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Satish M,

Thank you for your kind review, it is great to hear that you had an enjoyable family vacation with us at the Banyan Tree Phuket. We too would have been delighted to welcome you for a longer period, but thankfully you will have more time to explore our resort during your upcoming visit!
Our Deluxe Two Bedroom Pool Villas are ideal for families of four and more. I am glad to know that you enjoyed it!

It was a true pleasure meeting your family personally during breakfast and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

From arrival to departure you are pampered and made to feel like a king. If you want a secluded getaway to recharge your batteries this is the place. Accommodations are spectacular. Stayed in a 2 pool 2 bedroom villa. Off the hook. Put it on your bucket list and do it ASAP you deserve it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Lostinluxury,

Thank you very much for this outstanding review! Our core mission here at the Banyan Tree Phuket is to provide our guests with a “Sanctuary for the senses” and I am therefore very happy to hear that you found the much needed peace and tranquility for a truly rejuvenating vacation with us!

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon, maybe in our Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary which provides the utmost pampering from in-villa breakfast and daily yoga sessions to in-villa spa treatments and daily afternoon high tea.

Warm regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

i have been going to this hotel for over a decade and although its gotten busier over the years with the number of rooms, it just checks all the boxes for me. for those of you who have not been, the room is 90% of the experience....get it right. spa pool villas instead of the pool villas and two bedroom deluxe over the two bedroom pool villas are upgrades that you HAVE to make. it changes the way you view your holiday.

also make sure you go to Patong and check out Baan Rim Pa...a well known Thai restaurant.

other tips: avoid chinese new year and the busy period as the infrastructure is bursting at the seams given the growth of the laguna. service is decidedly slower and less efficient.

overall i highly recommend this resort

ps: have a couples massage...the spa is amazing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Adrian E,

On behalf of the entire Banyan Tree family I would like to thank you for your continued patronage! It is always great to hear our repeat guests continue to create enduring memories, and we thank you for recommending the Banyan Tree Phuket to the many readers of our Tripadvisor page. I take note of the fact that you are returning very soon. I do look forward to catching up. Until then safe travels.

Kind regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Banyang Tree Phuket is a wonderful place for rest and relax. We feel so welcome the min we stepped into the lobby. The place is so beautiful and well compliment with lemon grass scent. The SPA is finest and is a total treat for anyone who wish to be pampered by the BEST. Beside the well know SPA, they provide FOC yoga & Pilate lesson for hotel guest every morning.

We stayed in a Pool villa. We were captivated by the beautiful deco, spacious interior and luxurious amenities. Bath is a luxury at our Villa. Beside Rain shower, our villa also comes with an outdoor sunken tub with bath oil and bath salt compliment from Banyan Tree, all ready to take our stress away.

The bed is strategically located to have the best view of the entire pool. sunbed and outdoor resting hut. For the four days, we spend almost 50% of our time at our villa to enjoy the pool, the sun bed, the outdoor tub... simply relaxing.

Breakfast is awesome. We are pampered with at least 10 types of juices and a big spread continental selection. Our favourite is "Ka Nom Jeen Nam Yat", a local soft noodle in crab curry. It is extremely spicy but very fragrant. The 'kick' is simply unforgettable and makes us want more!!!! The service at the restaurant is most memorable. Every staff serves all guest truly form their heart.

There are plenty of activities we can enjoy. Our villa is 5min walk to the beach. There are lots sea sports and activities like snorkeling, jetski, etc Along the beach, there are few bars and our favourite is the Reggae Bar.

Banyan Tree is such an amazing place. Great for family and couple!

Room Tip: Go for a Pool Villa if your budget permit. Ask for River View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear SunshineIrene,

Thank you so much for this positive review and for describing all the aspects that make the Banyan Tree Phuket a perfect “Retreat Haven” for families and couples. Your comment of not wanting to leave your spacious pool villa echoes with the feedback we receive from many of our guests, but it is great to see that you also enjoyed our activities on offer such as the Banyan Tree Spa and the daily yoga sessions.
Thank you for complementing our breakfast buffet - Chef David will be proud to know that you enjoyed his Ka Nom Jeen Nam Yat, and I hope you tempted more piquant Thai dishes at our signature restaurant Saffron! Rest assured that I will share your kind feedback with our culinary team.

We do hope to welcome you back soon for another vacation to complete relaxation!

Warm regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights last summer, it was my first Banyan Tree experience, and the stay was certainly as good as its reputation. Located far from the busy districts in Phuket, hiding away in a quiet laguna area, renting a car would certainly make it easier to travel to see other parts of Phuket. If you're looking for a relaxing stay with your family or partner, you can definitely spend your whole vacation in this hotel alone. Can assess tp other laguna hotels by walking or boat, but I found Banyan Tree to have the best pool and beach. Hotel and facilities a bit worn out, but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staffs certainly made up for it.

Room Tip: Villa with pool, if you are looking to stay in hotel most of the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear kfklau,

Thank you very much for writing this positive review on your stay with us, we are honoured to know that your first Banyan Tree experience was such a memorable one!
As you described correctly, The Banyan Tree resort lies tucked away in the most serene area of Phuket island, making it an ideal sanctuary for travellers seeking a peaceful and rejuvenating experience.
Thank you for praising the helpful and friendly attitude of our staff, I will make sure to share your kind words of appreciation with the team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back for another true Banyan Tree experience, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Hampton Inn Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand
Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#4 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#5 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
#7 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.