We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good recommendation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Banyan Tree Phuket
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall a good recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights last summer, it was my first Banyan Tree experience, and the stay was certainly as good as its reputation. Located far from the busy districts in Phuket, hiding away in a quiet laguna area, renting a car would certainly make it easier to travel to see other parts of Phuket. If you're looking for a relaxing stay with your family or partner, you can definitely spend your whole vacation in this hotel alone. Can assess tp other laguna hotels by walking or boat, but I found Banyan Tree to have the best pool and beach. Hotel and facilities a bit worn out, but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staffs certainly made up for it.

Room Tip: Villa with pool, if you are looking to stay in hotel most of the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear kfklau,

Thank you very much for writing this positive review on your stay with us, we are honoured to know that your first Banyan Tree experience was such a memorable one!
As you described correctly, The Banyan Tree resort lies tucked away in the most serene area of Phuket island, making it an ideal sanctuary for travellers seeking a peaceful and rejuvenating experience.
Thank you for praising the helpful and friendly attitude of our staff, I will make sure to share your kind words of appreciation with the team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back for another true Banyan Tree experience, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    605
    142
    58
    28
    18
See reviews for
184
483
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This place is for indulgence. The 1 bed pool villa we stayed in was perfect in every sense. The bicycles were fun, albeit necessary to cover the distance to the lain lobby for breakfast, etc. It is somewhat annoying that the shuttle bus only takes you around Laguna. However, taxis are available for excursions or dinner elsewhere. Due to the weather it was impossible to use the beach. However, compared to other beaches on Phuket, I would rate the beach as average and steep.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room closest to the beach. There is a main road between the resort and the beach, but...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear soois1960

Thank you so much for this great review, it is wonderful to know that you had such a soothing stay in one of our private pool villas. Our complimentary bicycles are definitely a great way to get some fresh air and explore the beautiful surroundings of Laguna Phuket, I am glad you enjoyed them!

Pertaining to your comment on the shuttle buses that bring our guests all around Laguna, these are unfortunately not allowed to drive on Phuket’s public roads. Next to the taxis that can be found within Laguna, we therefore organize two daily transfers to Phuket Town and Patong beach at a very attractive price, I do hope you were able to benefit from them during your stay.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Banyan Tree Phuket again soon.

Kind regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family stayed in a 2bed deluxe villa for 5 nights. Overall stay was excellent. The children had a ball in our private pool, bicycles were a lovely and relaxing change,spa facility is beautiful ,however Balinese massage was average.A shuttle bus takes you around Laguna, some good restaurants in the area, Lotus seafood is a must, with the seabreeze hitting your face.Banyan offered some great leisure activities,the Thai cooking class was fantastic , a wonderful highlight was the morning visit with the elephant , The Golf club restaurant serves a good selection for lunch , the breakfast buffet was average and did not change in the 5 days. The one thing Banyan tree needs is a proper kids club, the turtle club is for older kids and involves structured activities, my kids are under age 3, they needed an area to play outdoors with swings etc..there were no grass patches that were pine -cone free surrounding the villas so we ended up playing around on the golf course.The room service was excellent. Overall it was a wonderful stay and experience. Around this time of the year you need mosquito repellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Madam B,

Thank you very much for the great review on your last family vacation with us, your compliments on our pool villas, the room service and the Thai cooking class are truly appreciated!
I am however disappointed to know learn the spa treatment and the breakfast buffet were not up to your expectations, especially as these two services usually score very high amongst our guests. Rest assured that I will share your comments with the Spa Manager as well as the Executive Chef.

Thank you for your very constructive feedback on the kids club, it is my pleasure to inform you that is one of our key projects to be finalized in early 2014. We do hope your family will visit us again to try it out!

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My four day stay was truely a once in a lifetime experience. The villa was superbly decorated, stunning facilities, absolute luxury. Our private butler was on call for us from 8 am till 8pm, to take us anywhere within the grounds. We had bikes to use, the pool and spa was the best you could ask for. Nothing was spared. Dining in the hotel Thai Rest. Was outstanding, what a buffet. So peaceful and relaxing. If l had the chance to go again l will not hesitate to spend a week there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear HFabez,

Thank you very much for reviewing your “once in a lifetime experience” at the Banyan Tree Phuket, I am truly delighted to know that you had such a relaxing holiday with us.
You perfectly captured the ultimate luxury offered at our DoublePool Villas, from the stunning architecture and private infinity pool to the dedicated in-villa host who is on call to cater to your every need.
Rest assured that I will share your kind feedback on your dining experiences at the resort with our Executive Chef and his dedicated team.

We do hope you will get the chance to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at the Banyan Tree Phuket with my partner recently for a 10 day holiday. This hotel is a real oasis. From the moment we arrived to the point at which we sat in our taxi to take us to the airport, the staff couldn't do enough for us. The customer service is excellent from each and every department in the hotel. Despite us encountering a fair amount of rain during our stay, the hotel has plenty of activities to keep you occupied: Yoga, Pilates, Cooking Course, Flower Arranging, Zumba, Batik Painting and many more. The food in the restaurants is very good too, so much so that its difficult to venture anywhere else to eat as nothing else comes close. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone considering travelling to Phuket, we will certainly go back there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Pool Villa, the pool is a very good size. The garden is very well tended every day b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Amanda44Sussex,

Thanks so much for your kind review and for recommending our resort to the numerous visitors of our Tripadvisor page, we truly appreciate it!

Our dedication to delivering the genuine warmth of Thai hospitality is certainly one of our most important core values, and as you noted our staff goes above and beyond to exceed your every expectations. I therefore truly appreciate your kind words of appreciation and will surely share them with the entire team. Although it is very unfortunate that you experienced rainy days here in Phuket, I am glad to know that this did not mar your vacation and that you enjoyed the many recreational activities we have on offer every day.

Thank you once more for your wonderful feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Banyan Tree Phuket!

Warm regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights, , this was a second visit, previous being 13 years ago. The grounds are massive so if you are looking for a boutique experience,this is not the place for you. However, rooms are comfortable, if not a little tired. The pool villa was large with a super pool and garden. We liked the bikes to get around and when calling for buggies they always came quickly. Breakfast selection was amazing, made even better by the appearance of Lucky the elephant at 10am, so cute! Restaurants in the nearby village will send a car, FOC, to take you to dinner. We ate at the Siam Supper Club (superb) and Tatonka..

Room Tip: Ask for a pool villa, but near to the beach. We stayed in 506
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Denisenixonjones,

Thank you very much for returning to our property and for writing this positive review on your recent stay at the Banyan Tree Phuket.

Lucky our baby elephant is indeed a very special part of the Banyan Tree team and I am glad he made your breakfast experience with us a very memorable one!
It is furthermore great to read that our pool villa provided you with the necessary space and comfort for an enjoyable vacation. Your feedback on the villa condition is well-noted and I would like to take the opportunity to inform you that the resort undertakes a strict annual maintenance program during which each of our villas is closed and completely refurbished during a period of three weeks. After receiving your feedback, our Chief Engineer has been asked to look into your villa in order to ensure the necessary work will be done to uphold our high service standards.

Thank you once again for your kind review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a third visit in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel as such is not bad, but you can see everywhere that things get old and are not maintained as they should be. This starts with some of the buggies, goes over the horrible bycicles, and ends with funghies around the AC outlets in the breakfast buffet. If you expect a nice little hideaway, you will be disappointed. The hotel is very crowded and kind of massproduction is going on here. The setting is in a touristic area ( Laguna Phuket ), with 6 hotels. All are around some kind of lakes, and you can enjoy endless moskitos.
Our first villa had a problem and we got an upgrade to the next higher category, that was nice! The first villa was really old and the ammeninities where not well maintained, allthough it was a pool villa for over 400€ per night. The second villa was better. The service in the resort was good, with friendly staff, except on the beach. The beaches are public but BT has setup a beach area for the guests. I noticed that the staff there is not interested to serve guests, they suggest you walk to a bar to buy your stuff, instead of ordering from the hotel.
Breakfast is a disaster. Hundreds of people fly around a buffet area that is far too small. The entire area was not clean. I saw that table napkins where just turned upside down before new guests took place.
We tried the Saffron Thai restaurant for dinner, and that was really good.
The fitness has one single cross trainer, that is not up to date.
All in all I was really disappointed by this hotel, due to the overall feeling that is certainly not 5 star, just due to lack of interest in the property by the group! If this resort was number one in Asia, then they should check out a Six Senses!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Gilles R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay at our resort. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your complimentary villa upgrade as well as the genuine hospitality provided by our staff. However, I am disappointed to learn of your displeasure in certain areas, and would like to take this opportunity and liberty to address them individually.

We regret the issues you experienced in your first villa, I am glad that the front desk team was able to solve this problem to your satisfaction by upgrading you to another one. In the resort we have a strict maintenance program which is specifically designed to fully recondition villas once a year, so each villa is closed every year for three weeks specifically for this purpose, and in addition we also have both ordinary and special maintenance programs which are ongoing throughout the year and undertaken as the needs dictate. Following your comments, the initial villa you stayed in was on our schedule for such maintenance and it has now been prioritized, to be looked into by our Chief Engineer.

With regards to the service provided by our beach staff, given that all beaches in Thailand are public we do not currently have a permit to set up a restaurant on the beach. It is indeed practical and quick to order directly from the beach bars although this is not our preference and this is what our associate was suggesting. I would feel the same way as you if it was not communicated clearly. I have requested the team to listen carefully and be more proactive in case a guest does wants to order from the resort directly. Thank you very much for bringing this matter to our attention.

I was surprised to hear of your negative impression regarding the resort’s location within Laguna Phuket and would like to highlight that this is generally perceived as an advantage by our guests because it allows direct access to 30 different restaurants, a shopping area, a beach club as well as numerous touristic activities. Furthermore, our guests also find a variety of local restaurants and traditional evening markets within walking distance right outside Laguna Phuket. However, I respect that your review is subjective and depicts your personal opinion.

Pertaining to your dining experiences, whilst I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at our signature restaurant Saffron, the feedback on our breakfast buffet which did not meet your expectations was met with some sadness especially because this is an aspect that is generally praised by our guests. Please accept my apologies regarding the vents which happens due to humidity and opening of the buffet area doors. Humidity levels at this time of year here in Phuket causes condensation.

On the overcrowded point, I am pleased to inform you that we will resolve this in the upcoming months by planning a new breakfast dining area located at our award-winning double pool villas. This will certainly reduce the number of diners in the Watercourt, and address your perception of overcrowding during breakfast time.

I would also like to address your feedback on the restaurant area not being clean and the napkins being reused as I am confident that these two aspects are not reflective of our service quality.
Allow me firstly to assure you that we adhere to extremely high food safety management standards and employ a full time hygienist to ensure our standards and protocols are followed and maintained, the floors in the outlets and buffet area are swept, mopped and polished each day. Regarding the napkins, our associates regularly fold napkins and place them on the table when guests go to the buffet area and drop them onto their chairs. It is surely not part of our standards to reuse a napkin and all our napkins are sent to the laundry each day. however I do take this comment as yet another opportunity for us to constructively share a valued observation with our associates.

Dear Gilles R, I truly apologize for the service shortfalls that have resulted in your dissatisfaction with our resort and I sincerely hope that my response shows that we have made it a priority to address and resolve all the issues that you mentioned.
If your plans bring you back to Phuket in the future, I hope you will allow us an opportunity to show you the improvements we have made. I would be more than happy to personally assist you with your reservation to ensure you a true and memorable Banyan Tree experience.

Warmest regards,
Sriram Kailasam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Hampton Inn Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand
Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#4 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#5 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.