We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entry-Level Banyan Tree” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Phuket to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Phuket
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Credit Goes To You
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“Entry-Level Banyan Tree”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Banyan Tree Phuket is far from Banyan Tree standard but more akin to a mass-market version of the Banyan Tree experience. In a nutshell that's precisely what it is. Seemingly hundreds of rooms and villas make this probably the largest Banyan Trees around and with that comes a dumbing-down of the service as well as facilities. Many of the amenities from the stereo to the equipment in the kitchenette are Soviet-era and ooze dust and oily grease ... not luxury! Having said that the 2-bedroom villa is perfect for a holidaying family. The layout of the villa enables you to keep an eye on your children playing in or around the pool while the parents read and thoughtful details like all-round screens on the doors mean the entire villa can be mosquito-proofed while still maintaining connectivity to the outside.
One thing that is truly Banyan Tree grade is the spa - without doubt one of the best spa experiences to be had in Phuket. Priced at luxury levels it may not be for everyone or within everyone's price-tag but being in the middle of the Laguna complex you do have plenty of options for massage from high to low end. It's up to you.
Free bicycles for each guest for the entirety of their stay means you do have options to get out and about and also makes you feel like you earned the gargantuan buffet breakfast after the 3-5 minute bike ride to get there!
Surprisingly for a property that was at 80% capacity only 1 restaurant was open during our stay. Not only is that odd but is a lost opportunity for the property.
I would recommend Banyan Tree Phuket for a cost-conscious traveller seeking a bit of luxury. Ditch the meals from the one restaurant that might be open and take a bike ride down the street to get authentic Thai at a local price.

Room Tip: Try and find out the demographics of the guests next door. If you want peace and quiet you may not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    205
    72
    33
    22
See reviews for
253
631
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at Banyan Tree the last leg of our month long Asia trip!! After checking into the resort my husband and I both wished we had booked for more than one night. The rooms and grounds were beautiful. The service was excellent and the location was fantastic! The only slight drawback we experienced was that during our excursion into Phuket town using the shuttle service, the driver took us to a Pearl Factory outlet and told us that this tour was "free of charge". If we had known this was a gimmick to get us to buy jewelry we would have definitely declined this tour. This was the only drawback to an otherwise perfect end to our trip. During our short stay we were delighted by everything Banyan Tree offered!!! We will definitely be recommending this resort to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for a week in the 2 bedroom pool villa and had high expectations for the 5* banyan tree brand, but were disappointed especially given the money we paid. I travel frequently on business and for holidays and have stayed at many 5* hotels before.

Firstly, the place is infested with mosquitos, flies, centipedes and lizards, as its close to the large lagoon and golf course. We expected insects in tropical Thailand, but not this many. It's is also my second time to phuket and was nowhere near as bad as before. We use reppellent but still had bites all over.

Secondly, the gym was not well cleaned or maintained. After touching the bar handles, my hands stunk of bad bad BO. They did not supply alcohol wipes and when we pointed it out to the staff that the handles smell, they didnt clean it straight away and just dismissed us by saying its cleaned everyday. We have been to many gyms back home and at other hotels, and have never experienced this problem before.

Thirdly, housekeeping was not very consistent. Eg, toiletries we used, such as cotton balls, etc, were only supplied on the first day and not replaced daily. We had to make a special request for items to b restocked (not up to 5* standard).

Fourthly, the toilet didn't flush properly and the jacuzzi outside was dirty and didn't work properly. Overall the villa was nice, but a bit run down and not well maintained.

Fifth, buffet breakfast was a bit disappointing. Choice was limited compared to other 5* hotels and again, insects and fruit flies were hovering around the food buffet area. It was the first time I struggled to find something nice to eat for breakfast. The coffee was good though.

It's these small things that really make a difference.

On the positive side:
- staff were friendly
- pool inside the villa was nice, can jump in from the bedroom.
- saffron restaurant food was excellent, and the free photo was a nice gesture.
- tre was also nice but because its outdoors, expect to be bitten by mosquitos.
- spa and therapists were great, went twice. Much better than the spas outside around laguna area and in patong, though obviously, expect to pay more in banyan tree spa.

Overall, it was an ok holiday, but for 5* and price we paid, it was disappointing.

Next time I go to phuket, we will go back to staying at radisson plaza blu.








  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Swswswsw,

Thank you very much for posting your candit and detailed comments about your recent stay at Banyan Tree Phuket, and please accept my sincere apologies if we fell short of your expectations.

The issues related to maintenance and housekeeping are well below our norms and unacceptable standards, and will be immediately addressed. As regards to the insects, as you might have noticed being the resort in a wooded area close to the sea, makes it a natural habitat for insects. We do take all the precautions to protect our guests, however the added challenge is that this being the rainy season, the mosquitoes do increase but, I have not heard of centipedes in any of our villas; however, I will have my pest control partner and Executive Housekeeper check all the villas, again just as a preventative measure.

As pertains to breakfast, at the expense of sounding defensive, I am genuinely surprised to hear this feedback because as you might notice on this forum alone, breakfast is consistently rated very high, as it is a brunch.. Just to add on, to further elaborate on our efforts to ensure guest have a satisfying dining experience, we make a genuine effort to cater to a wide variety of tastes, preferences and dietary requirements providing vegetarian, healthy choices, Asian, Western, regional selections in addition to the usual pastries, cheeses, cereals etc. However, I would appreciate any specific feedback you might have to our reservations office as we are happy to be critiqued and see how best we can improve ourselves in order to meet a wider and varied spectrum of patrons needs.

On the other hand, Swswswsw, I appreciate your positive feedback and your gracious compliments to our F&B team, Spa and associates. These comments show and encourage us to learn from our mistakes while maintaining our strengths. I genuinely hope that, in spite of your wish to go to another hotel, you will visit us for our cuisine and service. I also hope that in due course of time, you will return to give us a chance to redeem and reinstate ourselves in your good faith.



Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEBANON
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A real banyan tree experience , this big resort has it all, luxury comfort and good value.
Whatever you ask for is there, villas are great.
All services, activities and animation are provided.
The spa is exceptional.
The tre restaurant is excellent.
Best experience !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is my first time here, but I don't think it will be the last. We were told that they just renovated some or all the two bedroom pool villas...so that was a plus. The villa is nicely appointed. Everything is at where they are supposed to be. The little kitchen is especially nice. They even have a semi professional coffee maker.

Service is implacable. Everyone is nice and willing to help or offer suggestions when asked. They do go beyound the call of duty to make sure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. The weather was not the greatest but then you can't blame anyone for that just like you can't blame the wind at intercon Fiji...haha

The pool is decent size which is good for kids to play around in. Have not tried the restaurants yet. Have been to Tony which is very close by, right on the beach. Food is great, I can see that we will be going there for most of our meals on this trip.

Anyways, no more typing...more relaxing is beckoning.....cheers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Went for our honeymoon in March 2012! Awesome hotel, from the welcome from "Boat" to breakfast with "Pratch". Free clothes washing, awesome staff, always willing to help, nothing too much. Vertigo bar was brilliiant, perfect way to finish off the nights. Good location, most things easily accesible via taxi. My only suggestion would be to increase your vegtarian food offerings, as we found they were slighlty limited. Would definately go again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

To those born after the 1990, ask your dad and mum what a cassette is. And to those that do know what it is, GREAT.. coz that's what you will be getting from Banyan Tree. It does not matter what format the music comes in. A great tune will always put a smile to our face.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Banyan Tree. Staff service throughout the resort was genuine and warm. The staff really carried the Banyan Tree name proud.

We also thoroughly enjoy the daily activities planned throughout the day, be it bird watching in the morning or yoga or pilates classes. We loved them all. They also had activities which you can pay for such as cooking class or glass painting classed but we did not go for any of those.

Ok now the downside, we felt Banyan Tree should really invest more into their property. Banyan Tree Phuket is Banyan's first property and if not mistaken is almost 25 years old. Villas are seriously very tired looking and some sprucing and refurbishment is very much needed. We are talking old school light switches. Partition doors that don't close properly. And yes back to the cassette player, we are living in the tech society these days. I expect a sound system that integrates with all the new mobile devices these days when it comes to 5 star resorts. That is just my personal preference.

The wars with the mosquito was also a serious issue to me. I know it's really out of Banyan Tree's control as it was the raining season. But my goodness the mosquitoes in Phuket are like the navy seals of mosquitoes. I brought along a mosi-repellant, one that I have been using for my hiking trip back home. But the phuket mosquitoes will be able to find that one strip of skin that has no mosi repellant applied and it would attack with no mercy. So, that brings me to the point that although it was a huge villa with loads of outdoor space, we did not spend much time outdoor because of this.

The mosquito problem was not that bad indoors, with good door partition management and mosquito repelling machines deployed at strategic area before sunset. We had 4 mosquito free nights.

For F&B I would recommend guest to skip Banyan Tree and head to Lotus Restaurant 5 mins to the left of the Banyan Tree beach exit along Bang Tao beach. They have live seafood, with an extensive local menu and also international menu. Do try the live tiger prawns or the the steam tiger garoupa thai style with garlic, lime and chili.

Or you can take a free transfer to Vista Villa at the entrance of Laguna and walk 5 mins to Bake or Flame, where they have nice bbq ribs, grilled chicken, italian food, awesome pastries and most importantly GOOD COFFEE.

Room Tip: To those that enjoy the beach request for one that is nearer to the beach. But honestly the beach in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#8 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#15 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Hampton Inn Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.