We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bake

Bake
58 Lagoon Rd. | Cherngtalay, Phuket 83110, Thailand
006676271016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 198 Restaurants in Thalang District
3.5 of 5 stars 67 Reviews
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Phuket
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gone downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The Bake has continued to go downhill since opening a couple years ago. Today was their last chance.

After arriving, no one came to serve me. I finally got up and ordered directly with the barrista. My table was dirty. I had to ask for it to be wiped down. Nobody came. I had to instruct the staff and get their attention.

Finally, when the coffee finally came, it was served in a dirty cup. I informed the staff and rather than making a fresh cup, they dumped the old coffee from the dirty cup into a new cup. The coffee tasted rancid.

This is the third bad experience in a row at their Laguna location.

When The Bake first opened they served cafe latte in nice big glasses wrapped with a clean white serviette. So professional. And the coffee quality was to die for. I would drive 25 minutes just to hang out there. Well, those days are gone.

In fairness, I do have to say I had a fine experience at their Chalong location 6 weeks ago Christmas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    10
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good bakery, fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Want a good coffee in Phuket this is the place. I received good service and the food is pretty good. Bread is fresh and I presume is made on premises. Not the cheapest place but within walking distance to entrance of Laguna village.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
453 helpful votes 453 helpful votes
“I can recommend the macarons!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We've visited Bake a very times during our past two trips to Phuket, usually after dinner next door at Flame.

I can highly recommend the macarons and the cheesecake, and a friend loves their fruit bread too.

Nice little spot for a coffee and a treat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Twinpalms outlet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This place is obviously set up to attract the Laguna residents. It is nicely designed but seems impractical. 3 different outlets sit on this property. A coffee shop and bakery, a pasta joint and a kebab, pizza and chicken shop. The coffee at the bakery is ok but all the bread and cakes seem like mass produced, single packaged things that are served up pretty soullessly and which have no lasting flavor.

The pasta place makes reasonable pasta but service is pretty slow as there seems to be one guy cooking alone.

The kebab and chicken shop wins the award for the driest meat available on the island. The roast chicken was overcooked, the lamb kebab was dry and literally tasteless. As a family of 4 we ordered from the pasta and chicken shop. Everything came at separate times. My son waited 45 minutes for an 8 inch pizza by which time everyone else had finished eating and my son was very upset.

Could be good but it appears to be an operational disaster.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good concept, let down by service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great concept, and with little competition even poor service means you eventually have to go back!!!

Best way to deal with it is to order baked items ready to go. Trying to get anything off the menu is a nightmare. We ordered 3 dishes for breakfast - first showed up in 10 mins, second showed up in 45 mins, gave up on the 3rd after waiting an hour.

Two days later.... same issue. Lesson learned - coffee / croissant / bread only!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bake also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.