We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fail on ALL accounts” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   110/111 Moo 3, Surin Beach Soi 8, Srisoontorn Rd | Cherngtalay, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
3.5 of 5 stars 26 Reviews
Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A fail on ALL accounts”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

ID#: 189673856

Well, we booked a 2 bedroom jacuzzi suite for the new year. Obviously paying over $700 per night, you of course have SOME expectations. I am not the 1 to complain but this place is beyond a joke. We arrive, there is no glasses, cutlery or anything in the "self contained" apartment. Tried to use the tv, no batteries in remote an after calling reception, no one could help. The following day the shower head broke. That afternoon the toilet blocked... New Year's Eve. We were left with the smell of human waste until the following midday where we had to ask for someone to come an fix it AGAIN. Tried to turn the fan on an smoke started coming out from behind the switch. Obviously not wanting to spend time in the room for obvious reasons I asked for a late checkout an to speak with the general manager. He was no where to be seen an no one got back to me about solving my problems. I was more than patient an just wanted a "fair" solution so I could leave the hotel in a positive light. I understand things break, nothing is perfect, but when the problem becomes yours on your holiday, it's quite annoying an obviously it leads to this bad review. They couldn't offer 1 night refund or even come up with anything. I said at least you could pay for our taxi home which they did.(it actually turned out to be the hotel transfer car so they were not out if pocket at all) all in all, manager never showed an I left the place very disappointed an would NEVER go back or recommend the establishment to anyone. They need to take a good look at who is running it an when guests have a problem, deal with it. Not pass the buck.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is not particularly well located they offer a shuttle to the beach but it was not easy to coordinate a return back to the hotel from the beach.

The rooms were new and fairly well decorated but our room safe was faulty. We asked them to fix the safe which they apparently tried to do. When we got back to the room we had some money stolen from the safe (not all but there were notes missing). I complained to the manager who didn't seem particularly surprised and offered a free transfer to the airport when we checked out. This didn't compensate the money that was stolen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We got this hotel through a special deal, so we got what we paid for.
The hotel staff were nice and friendly, but not too helpful when it came to helping us book activites & day trips ( they tried, but they couldn't get through the tour operators and gave up).
The location is about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach, but there was no walking path so we used the shuttle service provided by the hotel, which is available every hour until 18.00.
The pool area is quite nice, but their spa is average and it's cheaper to get massages at the beach.
The apartment we rented was a self service apartment - quite bright and new, however it didn't get cleaned while we were there, no new towels or toilet paper. Facilities were quite poor, no toaster or microwave. There were only two glasses and 4 spoons. No plates, no kitchen towels, no washing liquid or any other necessary kitchen utencils.
The food in the restaurant was't good at all. We ordered prawn pad thai - the prawns weren't fresh and quite dry and the noodles were soggy. We also ordered chicken curry, which tasted like boiled cocnut water - no flavour at all!
Overall, the place was average and I would only reccommend if you manage to get a cheap deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Pool Penthouse unit. On the arrival we got the warm welcome, the staffs was very friendly and smile all the time . It makes me feel home. The room is very large and the pool is absolutely fantastic.
The breakfast was average.
It will take about 10 mins to Surin beach but it is not a problem at all coz The shuttle bus service will be available every hour from the hotel and if you book for the way back, they also will go to pick you up.
It's really fantastic fog us and I will definitely coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Its been a good place to relax at Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort and Spa., where you can feel the presence of a quiet place and enjoy the watching the mountain view and also the beautiful seaview at your own balcony, and about its staff they are approachable and also very friendly to their guest,.the food were also good, the facilities are complete, they had the fitness center were you can enjoy many equipments also they have thier own spa room where you can have a spa massage to feel more relaxing.But regarding the place it is far from shopping mall you will have to ride a taxi first before you can get there like Central Festival and Big C it takes time to go there when you are here in Bangtao.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a quiet and a non-crowded place to stay, this is it. Looking out from the bedroom, living room, or balcony, we've got the trees, hills, pool, and a few isolated houses. We checked into a 2-bedroom suite with spa bath, my kids loved it. The apartment is spacious and clean.

Staff are friendly, efficient.

There is a free shutter service to the beautiful Bangtao beach and Surin beach every hour. We could also arrange for a return pick-up from the beach at a preferred time.

When we needed to do some town shopping in Patong, we simply grabbed the hotel's facility at an reasonable price.

I had a pleasant stay there, despite reading so many unfavourable reviews about this hotel.

Thanks to all hotel staff who have made our vacation a happy ones !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valla Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family booked this resort because it advertised with "a fully equipped kitchen" but this was not so. The kitchen only had tea and coffee making facilities. We did ask about the lack of facilities and were told that we could hire equipment for a nominal amount (which we ended up doing for one evening). I was more upset with the fact that it was false advertising. As had we known we certainly would not have booked this resort/residence. It also advertised as being close to the beach but was quite a walk, tho complimentary shuttle whenever we wanted was available. Bangtao township is smelly and not inviting. We also asked for 2 maps of the area which was photocopied for us but as it turned out on the back of the page we found to our horror that they had photocopied on two sheets of paper that had complaints on them! One complaint was from a person on holidays and the other from an owner of one of the apartments! Staff were friendly tho inefficient. Breakfast okay. Definitely wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Onlhy room to book is a pool view. Wouldn't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa

Address: 110/111 Moo 3, Surin Beach Soi 8, Srisoontorn Rd | Cherngtalay, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LUXURY OF SPACE - generous 190 sqm. Two Bedroom Suites, spacious 76 sqm. One Bedroom Suites. Full European kitchen & kitchenettes. Set in Bangtao’s peaceful village, Bangtao Tropical Resort & Spa offers large suites suitable for family holidays and romantic breaks. The restaurant offers sumptuous Thai feasts and tasty western treats.The staff are trained to give the highest levels of service to make your stay a truly unforgettable experience.Tone up in our state of the art gym or chill out in our spa with a sauna or steam bath followed by a fabulous Thai massage or beauty treatment.Enjoy cocktail's at sunset around our enormous free form pool with built-in Jacuzzi and safe children s play pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort And Spa
Bangtao Tropical Residence Hotel Thalang
Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.