We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   142/3 Moo 6, Laguna Village | Cherngtalay, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BEST RATE-1BEDROOM SUITE
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I stayed here for 10 nights during July with my family in a 3 bedroom villa and we had a most enjoyable stay. The size of the villa was fantastic and the fit out and furniture were top quality. We had 4 adults and 3 children and it did not feel crowded with large bedrooms and living areas it was ideal for a family to relax in. The pool with our villa kept the children entertained and was an excellent touch. The up keep on the villa, pool & gardens during our extended stay was great with cleaners coming through every day.

The facilities available through Outrigger and the greater Laguna complex were easy to access and for the most part very reasonably priced which was welcome given the location is away from the main areas which I think that this makes the quiet location even more enjoyable. We had no trouble getting our way around with transport through the Outrigger or better still private cars available close by.

I would especially like to compliment the staff at Outrigger from the time we arrived nothing was too much trouble and we were always greeted with smiles. Particularly with our 3 young children the staff were fantastic and it was a pleasant change to stay at a resort where we felt welcomed as a family not uncomfortable for having children.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLP, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thanks Lee_thal77 for your review on Outrigger.
Wonderful feedback! Your comments on being met by smiling staff who looked after you and your three children where nothing was too much trouble is quite the accolade.
A 10 night stay is a reasonable period to provide a fair assessment. I am pleased you enjoyed your villa and surrounds.
Hope you return soon!
Kind Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    113
    30
    11
    17
See reviews for
240
42
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Love this resort even though the beach is only accessible via a shuttle service.

The villa are clean and specials, book a 3 bedroom unit and there are private pool in your villa.

Kitchen and living area is huge, bedroom is huge too. Master bedroom has a walk in wardrobe as well.

Location of the villas are abit hard to find as this is in the laguana area. The service staff are very helpful in arrangign shuttle service to the beach front.

Bicycles are available free based on first come first serve basis.

For around US200 per nite which can accomodate 6 ppl. This is a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLP, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Sawasdee magicfite,
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we see you regularly with Singapore less than two hours away!
Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I would like to thank you all for the well render service during our stay.

The service was excellent. everything went smoothly from checking-in to getting a cab to another area to checking out.

we will be coming back again next yr during the laguna marathon period, at least its me and my fiancee.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLP, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Sawasdee marcobkueh

Thank you for your feedback! Im delighted you enjoyed and I look forward to welcoming you back next marathon!

regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed at the Outrigger in Phuket back in Febuary 2011 in a Thai style villa over looking the lake with a private pool. The Laguna complex comprises around 4-5 interlinked resorts, but are all spread over a considerable distance. There was a daily maid service every day. The rooms were large and the building was impressive. The complex was peaceful and some of the guests were actual residents.

The private pool was great, although the Outrigger is not on the beach and this requires a car. Getting around you really need a car as the shuttle bus service around the resort is a little impractical.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLP, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Sawasdee Big_Daddy_Si
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to welcome you back soon!
Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This relatively new resort in Laguna Phuket features all double-storey villas with 2-, 3- or 4-bedrooms, private pools attached for the latter two types.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom villa (no private pool) which was just 10 steps away from a decent-sized communal swimming pool. The pool was never occupied with more than 10 guests while we were there. I liked this setting more than having my own small private pool but far away (like those 3- or 4-bedroom ones) from the communal one.

I have summarised my comments for easier reading:

Likes:
1. A very spacious (160+ sqm) 2-bedroom accommodation with full kitchen with most cookery & utensils ready, living room, dining room, two en suite bathrooms upstairs, one toilet downstairs, two LCD TVs, a DVD player and a washing machine. You can actually live there for months.
2. At a very competitive price
3. Communal swimming pool just 10 steps away (preferred to have a swim-up bar/slides but not)
4. Quite close to (20 minutes by shuttle) other six luxurious resorts in the Laguna Phuket area where you can find enough variety of spas, restaurants and pools to use (need to purchase a Pass for pool access in individual resorts)
5. The resort grounds and villas are very new and well maintained in general.
6. One-day complimentary use of bicycles for different sizes (first-come-first-reserved)
7. One-day complimentary in-villa use of Wii (first-come-first-served)
8. A male waitor (forgot his name) in the only restaurant there was very nice and initiated to talk to us.
9. A staff/driver named Bond was very nice and helpful with shopping/driving tips when driving us to a nearby supermart for groceries

Not-so-likes/Need improvement:
1. The staff at reception were nice but seemed too busy (or understaffed) handling phone calls jumped in. A lady led us to the villa and gave us a quick look of the ground floor only and hurried away without letting us walk through different rooms/ask questions.
2. Kids club is so small, housed/squeezed together with the running equipment in one of the villas, that we never tried to use except borrowing the bikes and Wii games.
3. Kids club closes way too early at 6pm. Once, the battery of a Wii console went flat and I ran to the club just to meet the staff ready to leave at sharply SIX. She just said, 'I don't have the key to the room storing batteries, please come back next day'.
4. Unless you have your own car, you have to rely on their shuttles (at half-hour intervals) to travel within the resort itself or to go to Canal Village at Laguna or to the beach. The schedule and exact locations of the stops are quite difficult to understand to me.
5. My wife found the kitchen's cleaning not so thorough, eg. grease on many of the drawers' handles. We preferred the kitchen at Marriott's which we've stayed just before this resort, where the quality and attention to details is higher, eg. spotlessly clean, providing kitchen paper, plate mats, and bowls/plates/cups of various sizes.
6. Only one restaurant 'Bites' within walking distance.
7. No fridge/cooler/mini-bar upstairs - meaning, you have to climb down/up the staircase for a drink to the kitchen everytime.
8. No TV in the bedroom with twin beds. The TV in the master bedroom is placed too far away from the bed which make it look very small, and there is no DVD player in the bedroom.

Hates:
1. The communal swimming pool is dangerous - with very coarse/sharp edges - my boy, my friend and myself all got small cuts/scratches even though we have been paying attention to the threat.

All in all, I have enjoyed our stay there and would recommend anyone to it as the positives outweigh the negatives by far.

Room Tip: For 2-bedroom villas, ask for ones closest to the pool and the gym/club
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLP, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thanks Hongkong123,
Always great to collect feedback. More opinions provide differing and alternate views for readers. Our new reception, kids club, fitness centre, swimming pool, restaurant that we opened a few weeks ago will resolve some of your hesitations. Other shortcomings we will addressed as strive to improve.
Thanks Again
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed here in March 2011- My partner and our children 3years and 1year old... I was so hesitant to go on a holiday with having a baby but you know what, I am so glad we did- We stayed in a 3 bed villa which has your own pool! great for privacy and convinience! We requested a cot with our travel agent for the room but it was not there- Straight away they delivered this before we even got to our room- Having filtered water in the room is great especially with children and my daughter was on formula on the time so made it so much easier!

We had not been to Thailand before so for us we used a driver- Sandee his name is- he is amazing- speaks great english and is a lovely person- going out of his way to help us with shopping bags- even lending us a phone in the shopping mall to say were ready! come and get us- which is awesome because my daughter would start crying and im like ok its bed time lets get out of here- We even got a child seat!! but book it early becasue i think they only have a few- we would call his personal mobile and say pick us up at 11am- he would!!

some people may say get a tuk tuk but really when you have babies its not worth the hassle- you are riding in a brand new land cruiser comfortably and have someone to help us and not bartering just to get home!!! and really there isnt much difference...

breakfast was reasonable i think- I would love to see there upgrades on restaurant and kids club- we never visited kids club- we loved our room- but if its bigger and better i cant wait for my son to check it out-

when ordering room service- order the thai food- so much better than western food- ask the driver to take you to 7/11 get bread etc- take some coffee with you- because ours is great! long life milk is a good thing to take over there-

i would love to know whether you could stay in the same room though- because we loved it- and really it is the best accomodation we have ever stayed at- away from the hustle and bustle- or 15 mins drive away and nice restaurants on the beach- sandee reccomended them- thai food was sensational!

if i could get a response from management- about staying in the same room that would be great!

Regards,

Jackie & family

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLP, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Sawasdee Jackievass,
Thanks for your feedback and Im sure you have provided families with young ones some confidence when booking Phuket holidays.
Some great comments and we appreciate your compliments. We have already provided Sandee your feedback.
In fact Sandee has so many wonderful guest comments lately that we presented him a special gift and certificate this week to acknowledge his efforts.
Re Securing the same Villa again. Often we can position guests in their requested villas however we cannot guarantee. Please book directly through Lek.Manoon@outrigger.co.th, our reservations manager and she will do her best!
Look forward to welcoming you and the family back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I would like to thank all of the fantastic management & staff for their amazing service , food, rooms and all-round hospitality over the past week. Truly amazing. Especially, Khun Aey & khun Gai, Darren Shaw - GM, Pieter Vanderhoeven - Sales & Marketing, Nock & Toon housekeeping and all the restaurant staff & chef Robert...excellent food indeed ! Great work everyone many thanks indeed :-) ! We got some fantastic images thank you to all your hard work under tough conditions !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTLP, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Sawasdee Sea Images,

You are absolutely welcome. Look forward to seeing the results of your photography!
The previews look great!

regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas

Address: 142/3 Moo 6, Laguna Village | Cherngtalay, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#21 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#23 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#27 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort and Villas are new residential-style luxury suites and villas situated in Laguna Phuket, Asia's finest resort destination.Beautifully appointed 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom suites, as well as 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom, and 4-bedroom villas offer up to 604 square metres (6,501 square feet) of comfort in a modern expression of traditional Thai design. All villas are split-level with kitchen, dining and living areas on the lower floor. Suites are designed as modern-chic spaces to echo the sand and sea. Calm lagoon and garden views, lap pools, and personal Thai sala pavilions enhance the private ambience. 24-hour butler service is available. These villas are a splendid Phuket hotel option.The resort community of Laguna Phuket encompasses 1,000 acres of landscaped parks and meandering lagoons along the pristine, 8-kilometre Bang Tao Beach. 5 renowned spas, 18-hole Laguna Phuket Golf Club, 30 restaurants and bars, the Canal Shopping Village, kids’ clubs, Layan Beach Club - available for use by Outrigger guests only - and outdoor recreational activities for all ages make this a desirable destination for leisure enthusiasts, business travelers, and corporate meetings seeking a Phuket holiday experience. The lakeside wedding chapel is a highlight of this Phuket resort, offering a uniquely romantic setting to exchange vows.Experience poolside al fresco and indoor dining at the new Panache restaurant. Discover innovative Asian and international cuisine emphasizing casual, creative, and healthy preparations. The restaurant offers a delightful spin on made-to-order with an "interactive kitchen" where chefs prepare dishes to a customer's particular preference. Enjoy a variety of favorite European and Asian dishes such as specialty pizzas baked in a wood-fired oven, signature "Knock-Out Noodles" prepared your way, dim sum, satays, Thai curries, classic pepper steak flambe, and much more, accompanied by a wide range of desserts, wines, and healthy fruit drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas Hotel Thalang
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort And Villas
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Laguna Phuket Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.