We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice change from resort and usual Thai restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Garden Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Maya Garden Bar & Restaurant
146-1 Moo 1, Cherngtalay-Bandon Rd, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Eden Bar & Restaurant)
6325075
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Tapas, Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A very nice change from resort and usual Thai restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Five minute drive from all Laguna resorts with free pickup by the restaurant proprietors. Unique, non tourist trap restaurant. British ex-pat Richard is the proprietor with wife and chef, Maya who has also worked in London. Varied choice menu with a superior range of excellent quality dishes compared to the usual Phuket restaurant. New, clean garden setting with inviting atmosphere to suit couples/groups. Care; no credit cards accepted (yet?) and side street access could be a bit daunting on foot at night. Wine said to be at more realistic prices as Wine List is established.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Without doubt THE BEST Cuisine and Ambiance in Phuket! Went there last week and had the best dining experience ever! They have a variety of dishes to choose from, the chicken was so soft, succulent & bursting with flavors, my husband and daughter shared various dishes with me (I'm such a fuss pot and difficult to please to say the least) but it seemed each dish just got better, we just couldn't fault it in anyway!

Funny thing is.... I like the way this place is almost under-rated. Makes it like some kind of a hidden jewel. Love the chef and staff. We would recommend MAYA'S to anyone!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful food, astounding Value,relaxing surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Maya garden Restaurant & Bar (formally Eden)

I'd like to write a review on this restaurant.
The restaurant had recently changed names from’ Eden’ after a major refurbishment and that they wanted to really make a name for themselves with high class dining, Whereas the name Eden apparently had connotations with some seedy place in Bangkok and was giving mixed signals.
We came looking for Eden and found Maya; its an Asian style Tapas Restaurant and bar tucked away from the main road and set in a beautiful garden surroundings, that really made you feel comfortable and reluctant to leave.
The menu was like no other, all the dishes came out like works of art, and so tasty. The menu is described as Asian Fusion. A lot of the dishes are Thai influenced, like a Thai style Tuna Tartar(amazing) but had a splattering of Japanese, Chinese, Korean, as well as other stuff like Prawn Gambas (Spanish) Lamb Kofta, (middle eastern )and Pizza. The portion sizes were fairly small and the prices very low. We were able to throw caution to the wind and order several items off the menu over the course of the evening , all of which looked as if it should have been served at some exclusive over priced establishment. The whole night including drinks ended up less than ½ the price of a meal at our hotel in Laguna where we try to keep our drinking as minimal as possible due to the extortionate prices( relatively ).
All in all we feel Maya’s is one of a kind in this area; great value , fantastic ambiance, relaxing, fun and ultimately we felt like we experienced something special with the food. Because its slightly away from all the other restaurants, you cant help feeling you’ve discovered a real hidden jewel. Thumbs up all the way!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We met Richard while he was having food with his parents in a restaurant near the beach in Bang Tao. He warmly invited us to a party he was hosting at his own restaurant in Thalang 3 kms away later in our holiday.

Although we never made that party because we were in Phi Phi, we did go down a different day. Richard and his beautiful wife Maya are wonderful hosts. They are warm, friendly, genuinely interested in you as their guest and boy can Maya cook!

We had true thai style food cooked with love. Tasty and delicious. I will leave my best friend to describe the food as she is the foody!!!

The restaurant is laid out so it can be used for many different types of events from cosy romantic dinners to lazy lunches to a kickass dj clubnight - even with it's own pool. Travellers who stray from the beach and find Eden will indeed be in paradise.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
“A Venue with a difference - worth seeking out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Being retired, we spend six months of the year in Ban Tao and love trying out local Thai Bars and restuarants in the area. We were recommended Eden Bar and thought we'd give it a try. It's a little paradise, away from the noise and bustle in what really is a garden of Eden. The food is excellent and very good value. I particularly recommend the tapas - something we haven't found anywhere else locally. We also tried out their quiz night and had a great time and again, the food was something really special.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Garden Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Garden Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.