We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat to your Saves list
The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   258/12 Moo 5, Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 stars 180 Reviews
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We had a family holiday with 5 people at The Residence over Christmas and New Years.

The accommodation was very good - as we were looking to move away from the typical hotel model - although perhaps a little "under" what we expected from reading other reviews.

We arrived in the evening and the free shuttle pick up from the airport was seamless. We arrived having booked a 3 bedroom villa 6 months in advance, but were shown to 2 bedroom villa (with a lounge/3 bedroom option). This was a little disappointing but demanded a change and got a 3 bedroom villa immediately, although it was a little older than the first. For example, the promised outdoor PA system was not there, nor the third bathroom. When we questioned this, we never got a response.

It seems some of the villas are older than others and/or used more frequently by their owners and therefore perhaps not maintained as well.

The amenities were overall very good, although small things - like fridges leaking, drains blocking and windows breaking - were an annoyance.

The private pool was lovely and kept clean. The upstairs sala area was also lovely for a BBQ.

Beware, however, of the added charges. We were not aware that short trips on the shuttle (to nearby Surin Beach or the supermarket) were not complimentary (mainly because the room information was not complete). We were then charged these costs when we checked out at 400 baht a trip (quite expensive compared to the taxis out the front).

The gym was great and also the spa centre is excellent. The Tesco Lotus is only a 5 minute walk away so you can stock up. However, bear in mind that the villas are not centrally located, so you should have a car (there is a garage attached to each villa). Local Surin Beach is brilliant.

The staff are wonderful (Mao in particular). Very helpful. Also the breakfasts in the room are lovely, although delivered cold most mornings (but easily heated up).

All in all, a great place to stay (especially for families), but beware of the relatively isolated location and also that some of the villas are older than others and/or better kept.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    48
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
61
43
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We booked the Luxe 2 bedroom villa with private swimmingpool and arriving very late because off strikes at Phuket airport we received the key off the 3 bedroom luxe villa and after asking got a lovely meal in our villa late in the evening !!

We travelled through North Thailand and stayed in beautiful hotels but this accommodation was the best !!
Lovely service and felt like special guests all the time !
Because we liked to see Phuket by ourselves we booked a car the first day and everything was very nice arranged by the staff.

Every morning at breakfast they asked if everything was oké and if they could be of help with our daily plans!! Gave us good tips for restaurants and serviced us a unforgettable bbq with very good meat and fish at our roofterrace.

The Spa was great too !!

Thank you all so much !! We absolutely come back.
The staff of The Residence thank you......keep up the good work, you are doing a very good job with your friendly hosting and Mao thank you for your good English help and assist us if necessary and kept your promiss for good sunny weather :)) !

WE LOVED IT !!

  • Liked — It was all PERFECT !!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We had no prior knowledge of the Residence Resort Phuket, but was enticed to give it a try due to very attractive low season rates. It is newly opened so there is not much information available on this property. This turned out to be a wonderful bit of good fortune and our family absolutely enjoyed our stay.

We stayed with our 3 kids, no problem keeping them happy and occupied. There is room for them to run about without worry that it might bother other guests. Water quality in the pool is excellent.

Location is a bit out of the way, we rented a car, taxis are also available. There is a Tesco supermarket within reasonable walking distance.

Call the reception to have the restaurant make breakfast for you in your suite. The suites are in very good condition, large, still quite new, the kitchen, washrooms and furnishings are all worthy of 5* rating. Highly recommended for families, couples or anyone that enjoys their privacy. I have stayed at deluxe properties in many countries and others in Thailand - this one is my favourite.

  • Liked — rooms and private pool
  • Disliked — no breafast buffet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We recently stayed here for a 3 night portion of our honeymoon. This place was our favourite. It was great. We had a superior 2 bed villa, which was more than big enough for 2 of us.

This is the place you never need to leave your room. Someone comes to your villa in the morning to cook breakfast (at the time of your choice), you can order room service (which was some of the best food we ate in Thailand and extremely reasonable prices) for lunch which arrives within 15 minutes, or you can cook yourself in either your kitchen or your own bbq. You can actually order prepared meats for the bbq which will also be bought to your room. Staff speak good english generally and are ver helpful.

Private pool was awesome, and being able to swim at midnight was great - especially with the heat. Villa had great plasma screen, sound system and free wireless internet access so we were never bored.

Please be aware though that this hotel is not centrally located, it is quite out of the way, however the hotel will transfer you to the beach or the nearby Tesco on request. Also there was some construction going on during our stay but it wasn't too noisy.

If you want luxury, privacy and a total chill-out, this place is a must!

  • Liked — Luxury, peace, privacy
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat

Address: 258/12 Moo 5, Srisoontorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#17 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#20 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded private villas with the all comforts of home – situated on the stunning beaches of Phuket. The Residence Phuket – A Lantern Residence & Resort, highlights the best of vibrant Thailand, bringing this tropical locale to life with a casual elegance and heartfelt service.With villas ranging from one to three bedrooms, each with a balcony, private pool and lush garden, The Residence is a quiet green haven nestled amidst the traditional farms of Bangtao beside the Andaman Sea. Blending the best of local Thai customs with graceful, modern comfort and unrivaled levels of privacy, The Residence provides a uniquely refreshing holiday experience with the warmth and hospitality of Thailand at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Hotel Thalang
Residence Hotel Cherngtalay
The Residence Resort And Spa Retreat Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.