We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & quiet away from the Bangkok buzz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lima Coco Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lima Coco Resort to your Saves list
Lima Coco Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40/1 Moo 4 | Ao Prao, Tumbon Phe, Samed Island, Rayong 10310, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Rayong
Lake Geneva
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet away from the Bangkok buzz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent a week-end on Samed island during a business trip to Bangkok -- the Lima Coco proved to be an excellent choice, on a lovely beach in a quiet area of the otherwise busy island. Dinner on the beach in the evening is very romantic; the hotel offers excellent cuisine and the staff is very friendly and helpful. And all this only 2 and a half hours drive away from Bangkok. Perfect relaxation.

Room Tip: Do NOT take a room without a view -- we changed rooms after our first night (easily done); the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    48
    22
    13
    15
See reviews for
24
39
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived in the evening and shown our room which was basic, clean, but little space for clothes and a concrete wall for a view. I immediately asked if we could change rooms and was told one would become available the next day, this room was just what we wanted and even had a view of the sea. The staff were friendly and helpful, dinner on the beach was perfect. The beach is wonderful, white sands, deliciously warm water and sun loungers to doze on. I would not hesitate to recommend a few nights of peace here!

Room Tip: Deluxe double room with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at Lima Coco resort last weekend for one night following a 3 night stay at Ao Prao resort which is next door. I agree with the other reviews that the Ao Prao beach is stunning, blue warm water and white sand, highly recommend this place for chilling out on the beach! We found the resort very friendly, a bit of a back packer vibe with an open bar/cafe at the front and then many beach bungalows behind. Our room was clean with rather cute stripey walls, a big balcony and a decent shower. I have to agree that the bungalows are rather more like beach huts than 5 star hotel rooms therefore you really are paying for a friendly atmosphere, great service, good cocktails (at good prices) and a fabulous beach. We enjoyed the fire show in the evening and food was excellent however all of the hotel bars on this beach (3) close by 10pm so don't expect a late night unless you want to get a taxi over to Ploy. All in all a great stay although I advise booking early as we found prices rocketed due to late booking and the bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel sits on a beautiful beach with very clear and clean water. There are 3 hotels on the beach and I have now stayed in all of them, lima coco being the most recent. If I paid between euro 50 and 60 euros I would have been quite happy with what I got. However, having paid over 120 euros, I am not. It's a 3 star at best, no pool, no gym, poor breakfast, poorly laid out rooms which are small. That said, the rooms were clean and bright. If you are going to ao praia I would advise paying a little extra to stay a Le Vimarn or Ao Praia resort. They are also overpriced but feel more like a boutique 5 star resort as opposed to a budget backpacker place (but at a vastly higher price) that is Lima Coco.

Room Tip: Ask for hotel near reception or you will be walking up steep steps to get to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Firstly the beach is amazing, clean, and very quite, really nice.

But the quality of this 1 star property is a joke. This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, my family and I stayed here in 2 rooms or shall I say 2 prison cells. they are extremely basic and you will need to request them to be cleaned, no daily cleaning service!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (managements exact words)
Breakfast was inedible, although some of the daytime snacks were good.
The staff were friendly but the owners/management need to improve things, the place has promise, after a renovation.
They will also ask for all monies in advance before you see the room as you probably would walk out.

Room Tip: Hotel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

All staffs are very appriciated with always kindly take care of us. The room was cleaned and located privately among others. The sea&beach also clean&clear there is able to take a rest on the beach as long as you need. However, food price is not quite suitable to pay here. There has no swimming pool, no any relaxation device such as magazine, books, DVD borrowing, and so on.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Samed is expensive if you want a decent place to stay, where you can book online. Ao Prao is the most beautiful beach, if you just want to relax and are not looking for a beach party. Lima Coco is a total rip off... Nothing wrong with cleanliness or (limited) service, but the place is definitely not worth the price. I am currently staying in a beach front room (beach view, second best category in the hotel) and the value of the room should not be more than $40/night. If you're lucky, you'll get it at $150/night. I live and work in the Thai hospitality sector and have never seen such poor value... Will you have a good time on the beach, definitely, will you regret paying so much for Lima Coco, no question!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lima Coco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lima Coco Resort

Address: 40/1 Moo 4 | Ao Prao, Tumbon Phe, Samed Island, Rayong 10310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rayong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lima Coco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lima Coco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lima Coco Hotel Rayong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lima Coco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.