We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run villa!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makmai Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Makmai Villa to your Saves list
Makmai Villa
87/9 Had Mae Rumpueng Beach Road, Rayong 21160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Rayong
Casale Monferrato, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely family run villa!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to Rayong beach. And because it was NYE most beaches and places to stay were booked. I got the last room at MakMai and was so glad we did. The family that owns the business is so nice and were very accommodating. They also speak very good English and are very educated people. The location was great too- right across the street from the gulf and restaurants on both sides in walking distance. The small community is so sweet, after just 4 days of living here, we were being greeted and friendly with the locals. Living as a teacher in Bangkok, this happy and friendly vibe is very important to me while away from the city. I cannot wait to go back, and will definitely book with them again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

a bit far from Ban Phea Port, need to take a taxi getting to the hotel on the way back u have to ask the tel number of the taxi driver so u can call him to pick u up at the hotel! caz no taxi passes !!! and there is no taxi service at the hotel as well.

Room was really clean but the door can't see people from inside.
the swimming pool was closed a bit early about8pm. Hotel is Located in front of Mea Ram Pung Beach. u can swim but better not ... a bit dirty and windy.
In the night time , There was really "nothing" to do ,just only 2small resterants no7/11 nearby
very calm hotel. But nice service
Food a bit expensive .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at Makmai Villa, Rayong, on 30 Apr to 1 May 13. I had never stayed here before and had no idea where this hotel was. The hotel is located about 80m from the beach and there were roadside stalls selling drinks, salad, bbq seafood for the beach goers.

I stayed in Room 13. The room was clean and the facilities, such as aircon, fridge, TV and water heater, were new and in good working condition. Free wifi was also provided. the servie staff were also polite and prompt in cleaning the room. The owner, Mr Pravit, also helped me from reservation to giving directions to the taxi driver and telling me how much to pay for taxi from Bangkok Airport. He was even there to receive me when my taxi pulled into the hotel driveway.

For 800 baht per night, this is considered good value for money.

What was lacking is the lack of public transport in the area. This is not your typical tourist area and the people who come here are mainly industrial estate workers from rayong with their own transport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was very disappointed with Makmai. Not because anything was particularly bad, but the other reviews had been very good and perhaps my expectations were too high. The room was very basic, the shower/bathroom in particular, were far from ideal and in need of a makeover. The bed was very odd and extremely hard and we didn’t receive much in the way of welcome/service. If you’re on a budget and used to budget accommodation, then I’m sure this would be fine, but if you want something of a decent quality, I would stump up the extra cash and stay elsewhere. As I said, nothing particularly bad, but underwhelming, to say the least.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Makmai Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makmai Villa

Address: 87/9 Had Mae Rumpueng Beach Road, Rayong 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Rayong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makmai Villa (Rayong) is situated in the middle of Mae-Rum-Peung beach, Rayong. Just mere two hours from Bangkok you will find yourself in the ultimate solution for those who are looking for the peace of mind. Makmai Villa (Rayong) is the place where you can find the perfect blend of beauty, comfort and peace. It is the place you will remember as your "holiday home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Makmai Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makmai Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.