We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing its age - needs renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Payoon-Namrin Rd, Bangchang, Rayong 21130, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Rayong
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Showing its age - needs renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is in a great location with rooms overlooking the beach and private balconies with a view over the ocean. However the interior of the hotel, restuarant and rooms are tired and in need of renovation.
The plumbing is poor, towels are threadbare and service is slow and lacking training.
The pool was good for early morning laps, but only after 0700 hrs.
It's a shame because it has a lot of potential which could be realised with a bit of attention.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurimasRayong, Front Office Manager at Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for your comment . the renovation is carried out at the moment .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
8
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

i booked the hotel for business, so the review is slanted that way.

I was out of the hotel at around 8am, used only a few of the services so its a limited review.

the room was clean and tidy, with a TV, and a bathroom with all the usual, accessories, shampoo, cotton buds etc.

TV is worse than useless for despite the claim to be otherwise, there was no real english TV, not a problem for me, but if you were on holiday don't count on watching TV.

if you don't like sleeping in the warm, make sure your aircon works. Mine was JUST ok, only just.

then my age old favourite, charging for WIFI. the charge per day is 100 baht, which is NOT painful, but annoying.

credit to the staff they recommended a weekly card at 400 baht so as i say its annoying not painful as a charge.

i didn't use the restaurant, pools or bar. they looked fine, but i didn't use them

The breakfast is fine and whilst boringly the same, its a competent meal.

overall, its fine for business, as a holiday, id not recomend it.

Isolation is also a factor, no car, NOTHING to do. you need transport.

Room Tip: for westerners its a business hotel, not a holiday destination.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurimasRayong, Front Office Manager at Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for your comment . the TV English program is available . It may be some room are need to be adjusted . We will check again . hope that is not a big deal .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Walk in the door and I get a greeting everytime with a welcome drink how great was that, the service was great they would help me out best way they could I would love to come back and stay at this hotel the beach is 40 steps away and the restaurant staff are always there to take your order and if you want they will bring your food to your room just give them a call the food is well prepared and delicious.
The swimming pool is refreshing after a long day of running around town and from working all day, I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family if they love peace and quiet and also getting a tan, I would say this hotel is well maintained and run by great and friendly Thai people the room is well kept and clean each day and I would say everyone that works at Purimas Beach Hotel are the most friedliest people I have come across during my visit in Thailand.

Thank you Purimas Beach Hotel for making my stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: My tip would be try their welcome drink and try every food on the Menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurimasRayong, Front Office Manager at Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for your comment . We are very pleased to welcoming you again next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

(From my Google review)

I stayed at this hotel for over 2-weeks. Upon checkout, it took my group 45-minutes, each, to check out! It was insane! Absolutely ridiculous! The billing system and the staff at the front desk are poorly trained at managing ANY type of billing system.

All-in-all... 3-hours to clear 5-rooms? Luckily, we had no flight to catch but if we did, that plane would've been long-gone!

Additional Info:
The restaurant is EXTREMELY slow. Gordon Ramsey (Kitchen Nightmares) would have an aneurism! This hotel lacks any sort of management.

Additional Info:
Sauna and steam room... Yes. There is a sauna and steam room at the hotel but to our surprise, they charge for its use... 200 Baht!... Per day!
Why?...
Every other hotel I have ever been to, amenities as such, are always included with your stay.

----------------------
ORIGINAL REVIEW
----------------------

PROS:
- Ultra relaxation. Quite isolated.
- Clean. Ample number of staff to take care of your needs.
- Right next to the beach.
- Free buffet breakfast with your stay.
- Ultra cold air conditioning unit.

CONS:
- WiFi is free... But you'll have stay near the lobby. If you want service in your room, you will need to pay for it (rates vary). Additionally, the paid WiFi service gets sketchy on the 4th and 5th floor. Take note.
- ONE (1) key per room! If you are staying with a partner who has a different agenda, you guys will have to share a key.
TIP: You can easily get a copy made in Ban Chang. It's worth the hassle if you plan on staying longer than a week.
- Room's electricity is powered with a tag that is attached to your key. This method of energy-savings can get annoying especially if you want to charge your electronics while you are gone. No tag, no electricity : (
TIP: Remove the tag from the key and place it on the power switch. Don't lose your key!
BONUS TIP: There is a magnetic bottle opener inside the room. Use it to trigger the power unit. That way, you get to keep the tag on your keys and the power the room, full-time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Appearance: The hotel is lovely and well kept. The staff is constantly cleaning the floors, windows, grounds, pool and beach area. The hotel provides one way shuttles to town for 150 baht. Keep there number on hand and they send the driver to retrieve you when you're ready

Rooms: The rooms have an option of 2 per or single. They have a mini fridge, tv with local stations, a small living room area and balcony to enjoy. The rooms are kept clean daily. The housekeeping staff start roughly around 6am cleaning rooms. If you don't want your room cleaned then place the sign up, otherwise they'll clean it. Also be sure to check your balcony door. They tend to leave it unlocked after they clean up. They open the doors to air the room out while cleaning. I would advise against using the safe. The staff knows the combo and it's standard. On the upside they do take responsibility for items stolen from your room. Each hallway has a camera for surveillance so if something comes up missing then they're willing to help

Coral Reef Restaurant: It's an enclosed as well as outdoors restaurant. They have breakfast buffet option or order. The buffet is the same items daily with the only changes being different types of fried rice (regular, Chinese and American) and pancakes (heart shaped, dollar size and waffles). They have bacon but you have to ask for it, they don't put it out. The orange juice isn't juice at all, just orange drink. The staff is small so busy evenings tend to have service stretched then. They tend to stand by your table to wait on your order. I usually start with a drink and tell them to give me time to decide on a meal. At night the mosquitoes are everywhere. Ask for a incense repellent and they'll provide it. They don't really pick up on your swatting bugs away. They have a bar but the drink sizes are small and they barely put alcohol in your mixed drinks. Better off buying alcohol in town to enjoy at home. The menu is decent. They offer, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, American and Italian dishes. They don't serve spicy food, but if you want spicy food be warned. They make it extremely spicy in Thailand so eat with caution. They allow smoking at the tables. It seems they have a smoking side and nonsmoking side, but it isn't enforced.

Pool & Beach: There's plenty of chairs and tables to sit outside and enjoy the weather. Tanning is a plus for those looking for some sun. They have shaded areas as well to enjoy. The pool is 3 to 5ft deep and kept clean constantly. There's no regulated heat in the pool so some shaded areas are cold in the water and the sunny ones are warm. Towels are provided and no life guard on duty. The pool isn't closed off so be sure to watch your little ones. The beach isn't spectacular but it's nice. Waters aren't clear but nice to swim in.

Recreational Area: The gym is outdated. One of the downfalls to this place. You have to be creative with work outs. They have bikes and treadmills. One benchpress area with very limited waitings. Dumbbells are extremely light and the all in one work out area is horrible and rocks when in use. They have a spa, beauty salon, computer area and saunas. Haven't tried the spa but prices seem reasonable.

Overall it's nice and you can make do with what they have. It's a lil above average but nice all the same.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the the first floor near the lobby and with a beach view. You'll love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurimasBeachHotel, Front Office Manager at Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We apologizsed for inconveniences caused . The problem arisen due to the guest didn"t inform to have separate bill from the first stage . Everything had been summarised . So that to take sometime to splited over .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

After visiting Ko Samet and biking furder near the coastline we found this place at first and it was realy a suprice a real paradise! A big swimming pool for refressing after a warm day biking. And the service for the 2 bikes. They can stay near the big lobby (inside). The restaurant have many choises and different prices. Not to much. You can see the swimmingpool and the garden. Very quiet place. Friendly staff. Without reservation it was very nice that we can have a room. Good place to be!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurimasBeachHotel, Front Office Manager at Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your comment . We looking forward to welcoming you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel was prebooked by my Thai business partner as being the best choice for Maptaphut area. Unfortunately it did not turn out to be as pleasant as expected. Although there is nothing substantially wrong, it just didn't feel comfortable and inviting. My room looked a bit aged, the shower head was calcified and the breakfast was mediocre. The service made some effort but you can't make up for e.g. serving a sugared industrial juice in Thailand. I definitely expect fresh juice in a hotel of this standard and price...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurimasBeachHotel, Front Office Manager at Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your comment and apologized for inconveniences may for your stay . we have checked the Shower adjustor was broken . we had fixed up now . We do much afford to improved for your next stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Payoon-Namrin Rd, Bangchang, Rayong 21130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Rayong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.