We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer service/attitude” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ya Nui Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ya Nui Resort to your Saves list
Ya Nui Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9/25 Moo 6, Soi Ya-Nui, Rawai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Poor Customer service/attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this resort for 3.5 months with a 20% discount for the first 3 months. To my surprise they took away 10% discount on the final 15 days of my stay in January. When I protested, the office clerk stated not her decision and the owners wife walked away during the conversation with no comment at all. Shocking.... Not surprisingly, earlier when we had switched rooms, we received an harassing phone call from them that their arriving guests were not happy they had to wait for their room. This call came at 10 a.m, 2 hours before check out and 4 hours before check-in.
Considering I had a 800.00 laptop and cash stolen from my room while staying here, you might think they would consider treating their guests somewhat better.
For their savings of 10% approximately 2500 Baht, they will lose my business for life and no referrals.
I stay in Phuket 3 months every year and am a business owner here. Shame on them..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WannerPhuketRawai, Owner at Ya Nui Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your review and your stay at Ya Nui Resort.
You did only get the daily rate for you last 15 days stay, because you where checking out for weeks and did came back in the next year.
The monthly rate will be for those customer only who stay over 30 Night at the time as we show on our web site and price list.
If all our services where so poor why did you joying us then for 3.5 month?
About your stolen items you did forget to write that you did not lock your front door over night and even let all things laying open in front your entrance which showed our CCTV footage.
Especially we did not like that you did make business with our customer from the Resort with out asking us for Permit.

We wish you many success with your new businesses.

warm regards from

Ya Nui Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
37
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The owner of Yanui is German which guarantees very spacy and clean appartements. There is no regular reception which may be a problem sometimes.
You definitelly need a motorbike or take a taxi to get to the beach or restaurant.
There is a restaurant with european-style breakfast!
Beware the so called Yanui 2 resort which is copy of the original. It is cheaper, but the accomodation is definitelly not of such quality.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at Ya Nui Resort (1, not 2!) for a month from mid-July to mid-August. I was greeted by Gabriel the owner when I arrived even though it was after midnight and was shown to my room without having to deal with check-in until morning. Reception took care of everything from booking a motorbike for the month (at an excellent rate) to airport transfers to directions and more. The staff are the friendliest people I've ever met and I was so sad I had to say goodbye at the end of my stay!

The pool is lovely and always immaculate. My room was always clean as well and if I needed anything, like extra blankets or pillows, I got it within minutes.

The restaurant attached is superb as well. The owners are also very sweet and accommodating, and the food was the best in town, no exaggeration! The prices were very competitive as well. The Wednesday night BBQ's are deeply missed on my end. The owner/chef will open early if you ask and will accommodate any alteration to the extensive menu that you request.

I had an amazing stay and would do it all over again in a heart-beat!

Oh, and the prices are VERY competitive, and the value cannot be beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Bed and pillows comfortable, room spacious and appointed with aircon and ceiling fan and "out of season" pricing was good.

Unfortunately this was tempered with poor attitude by staff and owners regarding the restaurant service, many cockroaches in kitchenette (disposed of at least half a dozen but many more scurried away). Also a lack of bathroom amenities (no soap, no hand towel, no tea towel etc).

If you want a quiet stay this appeals but ensure you have an upstairs rooms especially if you have someone rooming above you. The stomping from the tiles in the room above reverberates.

Room Tip: Ensure it is upstairs as those walking on the tiles from the rooms above can be keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice spacious room in a lovely quiet location, however felt we weren't trusted when we were required to pay a 2000 baht deposit on check in. what do they think we're going to do to the room! Also no toiletries provided, not even soap, and only two bath towels, no hand towels or tea towels in the kitchen. And when we moved the toaster a load of big cockroaches came running out. Lovely setting, but the deposit thing has put us off

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WannerPhuketRawai, General Manager at Ya Nui Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I think thats normal that geusts need to pay a deposit when they check in a hotel.
That there was no Soap on the room we appoligize for your in inconvenience.
But you would be welcome to ask at the rception and you would get all your missing sings brouth to your room emmeditly after your complains.
Because we hold ourselves to a very precise cleaning plan, I think it is not possible that in the toaster are cockroaches.

Yours faithfully

Ya Nui Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Visited again in March and it is still a lovely well maintained resort. clean and tidy, great pool and low prices. In a quiet area between Rawai Beach and Ya Nui Beach.
It is very quiet and not for those looking for nightlife on your doorstep - though there are restaurants and bars in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

If you prefer an all inclusive or package holiday accomodation this may not be for you. However if you are slightly more independent & want to stay in a well run place with a great beach literally at the end of the road then I would highly recommend Yanui 2. I have stayed there twice recently & really enjoyed both stays. Particularly the atmosphere, great pool, quiet around the complex, the great beaches closeby, buffalo in the fields surrounding the resort, shop opposite which also provides a taxi service, motorbike rental on site & also the attitude of the owner/manager? Elton & his team. If you have some time & want to unwind, fly to Phuket, get a taxi to Yanui 2, hire a scooter & explore what Rawai/Kata/Karon have to offer whilst you still can. In a few years time I would imagine word will have spread & Rawai will be covered in concrete & much of it's current charm lost forever

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ya Nui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ya Nui Resort

Address: 9/25 Moo 6, Soi Ya-Nui, Rawai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rawai
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#3 Family Hotel in Rawai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ya Nui Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful quiet resort near the beautiful Ya Nui Beach in Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ya Nui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ya Nui Hotel
Ya Nui Resort Phuket/Rawai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ya Nui Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.