We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good french restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Orfeo Restaurant & Lounge

L'Orfeo Restaurant & Lounge
95/13 Moo 7, Sai Yuan Road | T. Rawai, A. Muang, Rawai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
00-66-76288935
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 147 Restaurants in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: French, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: L'Orfeo Restaurant & Lounge is all about the atmosphere, the quality food and the service. Located in the south part of Phuket in the quiet Nai Harn village, L’Orfeo Restaurant offers the best of French dining in a relaxing and cosy setting.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good french restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

the owners are kindly , the served food is copious, there is also very good French desserts And there is a big parking lot, what is else to hope ? Nothing

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New Owners - not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were looking forward to dining at this well regarded restaurant, but it was disappointing. it stated with the wine, Chilean Sauvingnon Blanc - no second bottle available. Ordered Pork as main course. Served nearly rare - thats dangerous!. When presented with replacement dish - it was tough. Dessert - two orders placed for Banana split - guess what - no banana's and in a country where they grow in abundance. So thee new owners need to get on the job and sort things out

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food - full of flavour and cooked to perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have had dinner here 4 times and have enjoyed it every time. The a la carte menu and specials menu offer a very good variety of French dishes. Portion sizes are good and presented very beautifully. I have tried their Fillet Steak, the Tuna Steak and two of the Salads for my main courses and they have all been seasoned perfectly.

It has more of a romantic style of decor which is very relaxing. The whole place is very clean and comfortable - including the toilets. It has not been busy during the times I have dined there so I have found it to have a very peaceful atmosphere and they always play some light music.

The service is wonderful. They always keep your glass topped up with complimentary mineral water and always check if you are happy with each serving. They do not leave you unattended for long periods or make you wait too long for anything.

The bill usually comes to about 1700baht (or about £35) for two people - which I think is super for 3 Courses and a carafe of good quality red wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Naiharn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Each time we've visited this restaurant we have enjoyed it immensely! After meaning to write a review for it since we first went, it must be said it has never disappointed- my favourite dish personally is the scallops but also I also enjoy the pasta dishes every time while my partner enjoys the meat dishes and fish... For tourists this is a nice break from Thai food and a lovely night out and for expats -a lovely treat! Well worth it

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good French restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I live in Thailand for about 1/4 of the year and when here I mostly eat Thai food. I went to l'Orféo last night with friends on their recommendation and to try something different. All the food was very well presented and most enjoyable. I had the best steak I have ever eaten in Asia (I normally find it rather tough and tasteless). Steak (Tournedos Rossini) was super lean and tasted great.

Service was very friendly and efficient.

Price is, by comparison with many local restaurants quite high, but most local restaurants don't offer foie gras either! I think l'Orféo is reasonably priced given the style of restaurant and quality of food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Orfeo Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Rawai, Phuket Town
Rawai, Phuket Town
 

Been to L'Orfeo Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Orfeo Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.