We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Friendship Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre to your Saves list
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   27/1 Soi Mittrapap | Friendship Beach, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Friendship Beach Resort & Spa by iCheck Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time at Friendship Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband, daughter and I spent 5 days at the Friendship Beach resort during the first week of February 2014. We absolutely loved this resort. It was clean and the staff was friendly. The food was amazing. We took a cab to Patong and we were not very impressed - after seeing Patong, we really appreciated the fact that we stayed on the east side of Phuket. I highly recommend this resort. Happy from Toronto Canada!!

Room Tip: The rooms by the ocean looked amazing. It really looked to me like all the rooms are fine - but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Cathie,
Thank you so much for your review and i will certainly convey your compliments to our team!
Sincerely, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    84
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
60
98
57
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was the last stop at the end of a fortnight's holiday in Thailand.
The rooms are absolute luxury and probably the best we had and the pool area is also perfect to just sit and relax.
However the beach is very disappointing - we walked all the way along it to the town and it was the same the whole way.
Dirty and impossible to sit on and enjoy the sun, sea and sand like you can at most Thai resorts.
We didn't do the detox programme so just ate the 'normal' food.
It was nice, but no where near the best we had and more expensive.
Also, not as much choice of Thai food as other places.
We were surprised to have service charge added on every bill.
We would always tip each time anyway but when you're paying more to stay somewhere as it is and it's automatically added on it seems a bit expectant!
Having said that, the service was brilliant with very friendly staff who went out of their way to help us with a taxi to the airport, which dropped us in Phuket Town and came back and got us at a prearranged time, complete with our luggage so we didn't have to carry it around all day.
Would recommend as the rooms really are proper Thai luxury - but just be aware of the beach!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your review!
As you mention correctly, the beaches on the East coast of Phuket are not swimable during low tide as the tide goes out too far and the sea bed is exposed.
This is the reason why this side of the island is more appreciated by tourists seeking peace and relaxation rather than a busy tourist destination as can be found on the west coast of Phuket island.
It is very common that 10% service charge is added to all bills in restaurants and hotels around Thailand, so we are not practicing anything out of the ordinary here.
With kind regards, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from Friendship Beach Resort. We went for a Detox week to completely cleanse ourselves, but received much more than was expected in way of treatments, incredible service by all the staff, who honestly helped us through the programme, by their happy smiley faces and enthusiasm about life. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels, and we were upgraded to a beachside apartment with a lovely view of the sunset and sunrise every day. Unfortunately the resort is situated on a tidal beach and the water is not very nice for bathing, but lovely views. As were are both keen beach addicts we ventured to 2 different beaches by taxi during our visit, which were nearby and both equally clear blue sea and lovely beaches. The pool area was really nice also and especially at night around the restaurant which had all the finishing touches of pretty lights and ambiance. I would thoroughly recommend this resort for a Spa and detox centre, not necessarily for a beach holiday - but the pool area more than makes up for this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Jane,
Thank you so much for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your detox at Atmanjai.
As you point out correctly, the beach in front of the resort is not for swimming at low tide as the tide goes out too far and the sea bed is exposed. This is the case for all beaches on the East coast of Phuket.
With kind regards, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed there for two nights. The place is located next to the Beach, and you need a motorbike to go around or other transportation.
The pool was lovely, but the beach was dirty and you will not like to swim there. The food was tasty but very expensive, I suggest you to go to the restaurant nearby on your left, just walking distance from the hotel and you will enjoy the open buffet and you will cook your own food.
The breakfast was average and I suggest you to book the room without it and you can find better option outside.
The room was nice, clean and well decorated with Thai theme not like other hotel we visited, and they offered you spray for mosquito which i am sure you gonna use them. The bathroom is poor and looked cheap especially the douche.

Overall, our stay was lovely and we liked the area, you can visit the Big Buddha and the Wat Chalong temples from there. (15 minutes away with motorbikes) and even going to the old Phuket Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guy,
Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at Friendship Beach.
As you point out correctly, the beach in front of the resort is not swimmable at low tide, which is the case for all beaches located on the East coast of Phuket. It is, however, not dirty or unsafe. Its just that the sea bed is exposed during low tide.
With kind regards, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The place is nice and quiet, the only problem, the sea is tide, so you cant have a lot of swimming in this part of the beach. But 10 min drive on Raway beach is great and beautifull!
The people are amaizing, great service, haelthy and delisous food!
The detox center is exellent!

Room Tip: In the area of Atmanjai detox planty of gengster roosters, so you might wake up early, if you dont m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your detox at Atmanjai.
The beach in front of our resort is not swimmable at low tide, which is the case for all beaches located on the East coast of Phuket island.
Sincerely, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 weeks at Friendship Beach Resort in Phuket in February. We both participated in the "Eat Well" detox program at Atmanjai. Although we were both initially quite sceptical of the idea of 'detoxing', we found the program really fantastic and felt rejuvenated with increased energy at the end. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, especially Emily (Chinese Medicine doctor), Karol, (yoga instructor) and also the wonderful Thai reception staff - Poan, Jenny, Eouw and Tip. The daily massages were heavenly - thank you to Jumpee, Pla and Aood.
One of the highlights of our stay was the food! Before our arrival, we did not know how we would go eating only fruit and vegetable dishes for 2 weeks. However, Friendship Beach Resort has an amazing chef, Charlie, who provides a great variety of delicious and tasty dishes! Also, Charlie runs a cooking class each week, which is a MUST if you stay at Friendship Resort. Charlie is a very interesting character - extremely friendly and generous with his time! He was always eager to impart his considerable knowledge and also to ensure that we were happy with his creations by personally visiting our table each night to chat with us!
All in all, I can say that we really enjoyed our detox experience, which was greatly enhanced by the wonderful warm and caring staff.
Debbie & Witold

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool are the best. The only improvement I can suggest is that the beach should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, General Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Debbie, thank you very much for your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your program at Atmanjai and your stay at Friendship Beach.
I will certainly convey your compliments to the team.
Sincerely, Urs - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed in friendshipbeach Hotel for three weeks. Stayed the most time in a beachfront room with a great view.
The staff, especially Ron and Jay, were very amazing. Not so the owner of the resort. To us he was unfriendly the most time we met him.
The beach is very dirty and you don't like to swim there.
A terrible episode: a waiter was shooting one of the Beach-dogs by a slingshot. The dog was crying loud and the waiter was loughing. I was telling him that I don't agree in what he did.
In case of this episode we don't like to come again at this place where the stuff try to kill dogs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs A, General Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Dagmar,
Thank you very much for your review and i will certainly pass on your compliments to the team members mentioned in your review.
We would like to clarify that none of our staff tried to kill any dog on the beach. We just tried to keep the stray dog away from the property and unfortunately this cannot be done by bare hands.
I will, however, see how we can review this procedure for the future in order to make it more animal friendly.
Sincerely, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre

Address: 27/1 Soi Mittrapap | Friendship Beach, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Friendship Beach Resort & Spa by iCheck Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Family Hotel in Rawai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre is your very own private hideaway located on the south east coast of Phuket Island. Situated right on the beach, our comfortable 30 rooms and suites offer exceptional value in a stunning location and are just a stones throw from the resort's pool and secluded beach.The hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Chalong Bay and is the perfect location in which to explore the Andaman's famous archipelago of islands.Located on beautiful Chalong Bay.Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre has a spa and private beach and offers free Wi-Fi throughout. The 30 air-conditioned rooms feature a minibar, satellite TV and private hot shower and are just a short walk from the beach and boast a high ceiling, tile floor and Bali-style decor. All rooms at Friendship Beach Resort & Spa come with a fridge and a personal safe.Central Shopping Mall, Tesco Lotus Mall and the Home Pro Village Mall are a 10-minute drive from the hotel. It is a 25-minute drive from Patong Beach and a 45-minute drive from Phuket Airport. On-site parking is free. Atmanjai Wellness Centre offers spa treatments and detox programs, as well as oceanside yoga classes. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, enjoy the garden or unwind with a massage.The hotel's restaurant offers al fresco dining, serving up Thai and Western favourites. It is open daily from 07:00-22:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Beach Waterfront Hotel Rawai
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre Phuket/Rawai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.