We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Island Restaurant

Bon Island Restaurant
Rawai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
081-892-1156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 147 Restaurants in Rawai
Price range: $4 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stunning views and amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent hours on this beach and it felt like minutes.. The views are stunning, the water great for swimming and snorkeling and the beach is very clean.. It was a privilege to spend time here and I make it a life's ambition to go again.. I don't normally quote people in these reviews, but Dawn (the owner of the bar/restaurant) was brilliant.. There was a wedding ceremony on the day we visited and although she had more than normal to cope with was friendly, introduced herself to me and my wife as we arrived, explained what was what and left us to it.. For a small bar with no mains water or power, the choice of drinks and food were great, we did not eat here, but what we saw looked good.. Not 5 star silver service as one visitor seemed to expect, but good quality, honest food and drink at reasonable prices.. The 'Terrible' reviewer on here must have a strange perception of what to expect on an island with no mains water or power. 5 star restaurant it is not, nor does it pretend to be, nor would it be needed.. Dawn, you are doing a great job, offering friendly, polite and unobtrusive service on a beautiful island.. Thank You

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn_in_Phuket, Owner at Bon Island Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi Richard
I don't normally respond to reviews but wanted to reply to you. I'll be honest and say I can't remember exactly who you are as I get so many visitors, but just want to say thank you for a kind and honest review.
I hope to see you back again at Bon Island again one day!
Regards
Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful island ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wow, what a beautiful island .
The restaurant should be ashamed of themselves for not making more of an effort . The food is ok, but half of the chairs and tables are broken a big let down .
I would like to say to the owner that people not only want a clean beach but also a clean restaurant .
Good luck for the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Took the Longtail boat from Rawai, amazing day, Dawn gave us a very warm welcome, the food was lovely - would recommend the garlic prawns! Great spot for a good day out! Make sure you travel according to tide! You may gave to wade through the sea, which was fun but might not suit everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalong, Thailand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“A "Slice of Paradise"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After some poor weather over the last few weeks we decided to take a trip to Bon Island (situated just of Rawai - Southern Phuket).

There are many Longtails operating from Rawai (also more distant beaches; Kata, Karon Chalong etc) so barter and you may get a reduction. We paid 800bt return, offset this by going with a group of friends, the price is the same.

Dawn greeted us on arrival at the beach then briefed us on activities and facilities. Having lived here for many years she's very knowledgeable of the area & happy to share information.

GO HERE if you just want to 'get away' - you will not be disappointed.

Bon has a charm of it's own with; cool shady areas, clean amenities (staff remove debris left by previous tides regularly), safe swimming and a Rustic 'no frills' experience.

The food and service was excellent, if you enjoy Som Tum(tam), they have a variation adding Apple & Peanuts, I've never had this before and is now my favourite! We also had Garlic Prawns, Kapow Gai Kai Dow Lat Kow. All supplies are purchased fresh from the markets and brought with her every morning.

DONT GO if you expect; pristine ironed tablecloths, WiFi, Champagne, powerpoint for your laptop or battery charger.

Check tide times access can be difficult on low tides, or call Dawn in advance to check & book, as another reviewer commented "go early" and have the place to yourself for a couple of hours and feel like a Castaway.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Day trip to Bon Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Decided to go over to Bon Island yesterday, my daughter and I are staying at the Rawai Palm Beach Resort. Walked down to Rawai beach the first long boat operators offered to take us for 1200 baht after a bit of bartering got him down to 800 baht return. We were met by Dawn as we got off the boat, she explained where to swim and what was available. We hired deck chairs for 60 baht each. The water was beautiful, warm and clear, the beach very clean and deserted excect for us, for the first 1 1/2 until a boat load of people turned up mainly to take photo's. There are rock pools to check out and you can walk around to either side of the island. We went to Dawn's restaurant for lunch, the food was delicious. I enjoyed a Pina Colada in a coconut shell and my daughter the same without the alcohol. Had a chat to the delightful dawn before using the clean and adequate toilet facilites then recluctantly heading back to Rawai. A memorable day out on a beautiful tropical island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Island Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bon Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Island Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.