We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Layalina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Layalina Hotel to your Saves list
Layalina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   75-75/1 Moo3, Kamala Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 444 Kathu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I had a wonderful say in the Layalina Hotel. Was in Phuket to relax and this lovely hotel certainly allowed for this. Small, very clean and the staff all extremely friendly. The breakfast each day served in on the balcony was special and the Jacuzzi was something special.

Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Private Heaven room on the first floor was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
55
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had New Year at Karmala Beach in the Layalina Hotel and could not recommend it more highly, having stayed in Patong before and being disappointed it was great to stay in Thailand without the Sleaziness. The staff were just lovely and could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was great and starting each day out on the terrace was blissful. Just amazing to be able to step down straight to the beach and watch the boats coming in every night we found very amusing. This Hotel gave you the feeling you were staying with friends, hope to get back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We found Layalina Hotel on the web and and booked for a six day stay in late August of 2010. The setting is gorgeous and the staff very pleasant. We were in Room no. 1, stepping out thru sliding doors to our little patio and the pool. We were served a lovely breakfast every morning joined by a friendly little bird. The atmosphere was so charming, the beach, sunsets and tide amazing. We were the only people checked in, which was just fine. We loved the little Corner Bar over the bridge...the friendly Thai couple who run the place are so nice. Kup kun kop! We bought some very nice bespoke (custom) clothing from the Rosa Tailor, just outside the front door (don't forget to bargain the price! :-) And the Thai massage on the deck was awesome. The weather cooperated all week, although we were almost in the rainy season.
We should note that we heard some AC noise at night from outside our room (No. 1).
Another slight annoyance was when the boat men started to work on their boat on the beach 2 days in a row with a sander. The 2nd day, we asked for the staff to relocate us to the main beach area (comped). Also, they allow non-guests to pass thru the Lobby to get to the street...not a real good idea.
But all in all, a really beautiful little place, laid-back, charming, and a more personalized experience than most places. Hello to Meriam at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We loved it here. The room was amazing with a jacuzzi bath in it and all the extras you expect. Breakfast delivered to your room or terrace every day at whatever time you wanted! The room was so comfortable and we had a sea view which was gorgeous. Metres away from the beach which is full of resturants, bars and market stalls. The only thing we didn't like is that you got charged for service which they didn't make you aware of when you did order extra food. They don't really have a resturant so the only option really is to have it on your balcony and considering that we didn't think the charge was fair. however, the service was EXCELLENT and the staff couldn't do enough to make you comfortable.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornbaek, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We had 5 nice days in this beach fronting nice little place. Nice rooms, small exclusive pool area where you can have your breakfast, if you dont choose to have it in your room/balcony.
Very nice breakfast and very attentive service from the management. The young boys attending the reception etc, needs more training in language and waitering.
The list prices are too high but if you can make a deal it is definitely an option. Please note that pork (bacon) and alcohol are not served.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was a return visit to Layalina and once again, it didn't disappoint. Small, boutique hotel, this place is gorgeous and the staff are outstanding - Kamalla Beach is quite peaceful and relaxing. Only a short taxi ride to Patong. Give the Thai cooking lessons (5 minute stroll down the beach) with Chef Wichet a go. Great food and lots of fun.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Stayed at Layalina for 10 nights on the ground floor room Ocean Deluxe. The rooms are very clean, cleaned daily, fresh towels etc, flowers in rooms. The hotel is sandwiched between a shop (at the back of the hotel, the shop then sitting on the main road in Kamala) and the beach at the front of the hotel. From my room I had amazing sea and beach views and a hamock, chairs and tables on the terrace. You don't get any noise at all from the shop/road but they do park boats on the beach just to the side of the hotel which is noisey but only last 5/10 mins. On the terrace you do get music noise from the market and beach bars in the distance but this is drowned out by the crashing of waves somewhat. Service is good and the staff are very special. All very friendly and did their best to make my stay enjoyable, they all seem to share the same goal of wanting you to have a good experience. The breakfast is basic but consistant and delivered to your room or terrace at whatever time you want. Although there are many cheaper hotels in the resort when I walked along the beach front very few rooms/suites had actual uninterupted views of the sea/beach. And those hotels which did have a view had eating places/stalls/bars situated between them and the beach which the Layalina hasn't got which is better because the views are directly of the sea/beach. The beach was clean, busy in parts but there's always a quieter position to be found at the end of the strip. The beach is 30 seconds from the room which was amazing and there are lots of places to eat and drink on Kamala main road. There's an ATM and shops. As a public beach you are a little bombarded with sellers but they don't pressure you, you are just asked a lot of times! The only downside is I don't think the ''setting'' is as quiet as I expected (the beach is busy, jet skies, sellers, boat and jet ski transportation to/from the beach, music heard in the distance when sitting on the terrace) - (but inside the hotel it is quiet) and also as a solo traveller the hotel rates are expensive which can limit the length of stay. That said I would recommend it because there are many upsides not to name the lovely views which can be enjoyed through all your stay and in the evening as I relaxed on the terrace. If you looking for something REALLY quiet I don't think this would suit you but if you want QUITE quiet with the option for more then this might well work for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Layalina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layalina Hotel

Address: 75-75/1 Moo3, Kamala Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Layalina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Layalina concept is just a very simple idea to offer a relaxing and easy going atmosphere on a cozy beach for sophisticated world travelers who seeking a peaceful hideaway.You are our guest in our home and we intent to make your time a wonderful visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Layalina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layalina Hotel Kathu
Layalina Hotel Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layalina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.