We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid 3 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Village Resort to your Saves list
Coconut Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Prachanukroh Rd | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special 2 Nights 25% Off
Ranked #153 of 334 Hotels in Kathu
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“solid 3 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in was easy, staff is friendly enough. They do not have elevators but somebody will lift your baggage for you. The superior room was decent, but I agree that the bathroom is not up to standard. The bathtub water in our room however was only slightly greenish and not as green as described in some comments here. Also, Kleenex tissues (standard) were not provided in the room and the TV internal settings were in Russian. At the great deep pool they only had one CD for background music so after 5 or 6 days you could sing a long to all the songs. The room had a nice balcony, safe that needed to be opened by staff after it discontinued working, fridge with minibar. Housekeeping charged for 2 bottles of water we did not consume and when we informed front desk, they did not correct their mistake until check out. Also they charge for wifi in room, it is free in lobby but you can catch the free signal from your room if you are lucky. Caught one mosquito per day, so that is reasonable. For the prize I would stay again. Quite a walk to Bangla Road but also away from the crazyness. Unless a loud Chinese group stays in your neighbor room, it is quiet. Five minutes walk to the Patong beach. Recommended.

Room Tip: they did not give an upgrade so if you want a nice room, better book it right away
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    101
    42
    18
    7
See reviews for
20
56
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Paid 8000 baht for 3 nights with breakfast. We had a great room, close to the pool. It was clean, good service from the staff, and breakfast was great- there was a cook to cook eggs to your liking, a toaster, a huge variety of fruits and vegitables, milk, juice, coffee, 2 types of bread and even ceral, plus typical Thai dishes like stirfry with meat, ect ect.

The location is by far the best part, it is so close to the beach, with a short walk to other places like Hard Rock Cafe or Hooters. There is free wifi in the lobby but also possible to buy wifi for your stay (60baht a night, 150baht for 3 nights, 500baht for unlimited wifi), the speed was average.

My only complaint was that the water from our tub was green- yes, green. The water from the sink and shower was fine.

Would recommend this place to my friends and family.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the right side of the pool are fantastic. I can personally vouch for rooms 210, 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We had a standard room that was ok for the price we paid. The room was basic but clean. No tea or coffee making. Our room was on the street side which is a main road and was very noisy at night. It didn't bother us for two nights but wouldn't have liked to be there any longer. The pluses for this resort are its location - close to the beach, shops and restaurants and a beautiful deep swimming pool and also a children's pool.
Staff were friendly and helpful and we were given a refreshing drink on arrival.

Room Tip: Not a room near the street side. Busy road with traffic all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

we had two nights here, hotel was wonderful, great rooms, buffet breakfast. Pools were really nice, lots of lovely beds round the pool, plenty available. Perfect position, 2 mins walk to the beach and shops. 5 mins walk at night for plenty of nightlife. Huge shopping centre ten minutes walk away. We loved it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Stayed at Coconut village with friends for an eight night stay. Hotel is located off the main beach strip and is only a short walk to Bangla road/ markets/ restaurants (About 10-25 minutes).

Room was clean and basic as were hotel facilities. Pool area is lovely and would have to be the main attraction at the hotel.

There wasn't much variety to the breakfast buffet and we found that it was quite a task to request staff members to re-fill items. Breakfast is served until 10am, however, if you arrive at 9.30 or there after, be prepared to have a small selection of items to choose from.

Unfortunately, the service from the staff was also quite sub-standard. We found them very unaccommodating. Lights in the breakfast room were turned off whilst we were eating our food and the usual friendly service which we are used to from other hotel staff was not evident.

Wifi was free in the lobby area only, if you wanted wifi in your room, there was a fee.

Basic accommodation for a basic price- What you get is what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I go there everytime I visit Phuket. The service, room, atmosphere and everything is amazing! But what I loved most was that the resort made me feel like I was home, it was a comfortable stay, yet we felt a sense of real holiday retreat!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I really like the rooms at this resort as they were detached, not in a high rise, kind of like bungalows. The Breakfast was great, the service was good. The pool area wasn't very exciting, the pool bar never seemed to be open (probably because there wasnt anyone around much of the time) the location isn't bad, its about a 10 minute walk to Bangla road and a couple of minutes to the beach, on a side street of the main road. This was a nice place for the price.
Free wifi in lobby only.

Room Tip: I really liked the bunglow type room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Village Resort

Address: 20 Prachanukroh Rd | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Village Hotel Kathu
Coconut Village Kathu
Coconut Village Resort Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.