We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Coconut Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Village Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Prachanukroh Rd | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 329 hotels in Kathu
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We were very happy with the quality of the resort. The people are fantastic. We stayed at a 1BR suite . We had a living social voucher but upgraded to have the spa suite. Our suite was no 16 which was a bit of a distance from the main building , but was a nice walk. through manicured gardens. Only thing perhaps the gardener's could keep their sweeping noise down until after 7am The buffet breakfasts were substantial. The spa and massage was great.
There were a couple of issues with water interruption due to pipe breakage, but you have to remember this is an island and the water comes from wells. With the heat there is bound to be breakage. People need to be more patient, it is an tropical island after all

The location is good.. nice and quiet away from the bustle of the busy tourist towns of Patong etc, A free ferry service is provided with transport to the resort every hour..
Other meals dinner and lunch were reasonably priced. Although wine and spirits are rather expensive.... a hint is to bring in your own spirits bought from the markets in Phuket. etc

There were a few people who had tummy upsets... a hint is to use only bottled water even when you brush your teeth. It is not that the water is contaminated it is just that your body has to get used to the different water, food etc.

The only suggestion for the resort is to provide more information on tours etc.
Perhaps a an "orientation" or information session held nightly so that people can get advice, updates and suggestions for tours etc.
Also a kids program would be good.
Overall our experience at the resort was fantastic and we will be recommeding

Room Tip: If you have booked a basic room upgrade before you arrive to at least a spa unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    93
    37
    16
    8
See reviews for
18
49
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This was my first visit to Phuket. Loved it !!! Was impressed with Coconut Village Resort. The staff was friendly and always ready to help. I was there with my wife and we had booked a pool facing Deluxe room. We were there for 4 days. The rooms were quite spacious. Our room was the corner most room and the pool was hardly visible from the balcony. I asked for a change of room but that did no happen. I thought that the breakfast lacked a bit of variety. The pool was great. Room service was good. Internet was very expensive - I did not avail it. Location was in a quieter part of Patong. But I would say that Patong is much different from Pattaya. It does not have bars and pubs at every lane and bylane. The main happening place is soi Bangla which is about a 25-30 minute walk from the hotel. However, Otop market is just a 5 minute walk and there are a number of restaurants nearby. The beach is also 2-3 minute walk down the road.
Overall, it was a decent stay and I would recommend it if you are looking to stay is a quiet location. But I guess you will find same or better accommodation at the same rate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at the Coconut Village over Christmas and the New Year. We chose the hotel after staying in the Amari Coral Beach in 2010, as it was central and an Ideal location within walking distance to the many restaurants, Bangla Road, amenities and the beach. But far enough away not to be disturb at night!.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, Especially Joe working on the Reception at night and Manoon during the day.
We stayed in a deluxe room, looking out to the pool and garden. The room was clean and of a good standard on par with the Amari, but with a large bathroom which had a separate shower and bath.
Over Christmas and the New Year the gala night dinners were added to the price of the room, Christmas Eve the food was international and left a lot to be desired! but New Years Eve's was excellent more traditional, The entertainment! We ate our meal and went to Bangla Road and the beach area, where we had a fantastic time.
We are non smokers and requested a non smoking room, but there was smokers all around us, and cigarette smoke wafted into our room from the aircon system, and our terrace.
Breakfast could have been better, the hot food was mainly cold due to the burners underneath not alight. Yes there was fresh fruit and an egg bar, sometimes there was pancakes or French toasts! French onion soup in their place!!
The area states no smoking, but it happened and the person was not asked to stop! Also I feel men should where tops when having breakfasts!
We will return to Coconut Village Resort, but not over Christmas and New Year.

Room Tip: Choose a Deluxe room, they are spacious and away from the road which can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Very affordable and great value for money. It is in an ideal location, within walking distance of Bangla Road and the Jungceylon Shopping Centre. I plan to stay here again next month. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and it is a nice, quiet hotel with clean rooms.

Room Tip: There are various rooms available as well as jacuzzi suites. All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at Coconut Village using a Living Social deal. It was amazingly cheap and there is probably good reason why. The accommodation itself is very good, great standard and very clean. We arrived late at night as a group of 6 adults and a child, the wording of the deal was ambiguous and so management believed we were entitled to only 4 meals, whereas we felt we were entitled to more. It took two days and numerouc conversations to sort it out.

We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom pool villa, which was amazing, plus we had booked a jacuzzi villa. This villa wasn't great, the toilet was leaking water. When my parents who were in this room asked to move, they advised there was nothing else. They ended up moving into uor villa which had a spare room. However, staff took about 4 hours just to move their luggage - we had to call a number of times to follow up.

Service was very inconsistent, some days it was great, other days it was plain frustrating. Restaurant staff were overall very good, one employee gave my daughter an ice cream so he won her over. The main gripe I have about the restaurant is the breakfast buffet. All the cold food was displayed out in the open and flies would swarm over all of it. In addition, bees swarmed around the juices, jams and honey. For an apparently 5 star resort, it's not really acceptable. We also had issues with room service, they lost our order and we had to wait over 2 hours for our food - and still had to pay for it.

The resort is still under construction, and while it doesn't impact on your stay, it explains why such cheap deals are on offer during this period. No 5 star resort would trade with the grounds looking the way they were.

Overall a nice place to stay, I would only stay on the deal though, would not pay full price as the service isn't quite up to scratch.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a pool villa, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Patong is the party beach of Phuket. At night the bass throbs (right through hotel walls) and during daytime walks the aggressive solicitations of vendors selling standard tourist ware (t-shirts, DVDs, hammocks) gets fast under the skin.

If this isnt your thing but for some reason you, too, have to stay near this beach, then Coconut is a reasonable choice. Located one block east of the water and a couple blocks south from the party-center strip, the distance offers insulation from the noise and chaos, but easy walking distance to beach or nightlife.

The rooms are clean and well-maintained, with A/C, fridge, TV, hot water. The pool is big enough for a dip and short swim, and there is an attached hot tub. Breakfasts were nothing special, and after a few days we opted to forego the pre-purchased meal and grab street food.

If I return to Phuket (unlikely) I will avoid Patong at all costs. But if someone needs to go, and is looking for affordable resort-qualified lodging, Coconut Village works.

Room Tip: If you dont like cigarette smoke, ask for a non-smoking room with non-smokers in the (attached) adjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

we stayed for 7 nights and really enjoyed each day.we found the staff helpful and friendly espically the cleaning staff who always had a smile and a hello
we stayed in a deluxe poolside room which was wonderful it was clean and had great hot hot water,
the location was good as its at the quieter end of patong close to otop markets and the beach,our room was quiet as was off the road i think maybe some of the standard rooms road side may be a bit noisy through parts of the day/night
The breakfast was nice and had all you would want although did not have the selection that some of the larger hotels offer.
This was our 4th visit to patong ,first without children but are returning in october with kids and have rebooked at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Village Resort

Address: 20 Prachanukroh Rd | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Village Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coconut Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Village Hotel Kathu
Coconut Village Kathu
Coconut Village Resort Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.