We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Aphrodite The Terrible Show"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aphrodite Cabaret Show

Aphrodite Cabaret Show
99/100 Moo 1, Chaloem Phrakiat Ratchakan Thi 9 Road, Kathu, Phuket 83120, Thailand
+6676 612 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 29 attractions in Kathu
Type: Performances
Attraction Details
Port Noarlunga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Aphrodite The Terrible Show"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were originally going to go to the Simon Show, but like many other were told by the tour operator that this was better. Boy did we get a surprise!!!! The costumes are torn and falling apart in places. Even their shoes were scuffed and old. Some boys were dancing in workmans boots! I don't know how long these 'ladies' have been doing this show, but they certainly looked like they wished to be somewhere else. They were talking to each other on stage whilst performing. They either had no idea on the choreography, or just couldn't be bothered with the steps. It was really unbelievable, but most of the singers did not even know the words to lypsync to the songs. 95% of the performance was aimed at the Russians, Chinese & Japanese with the songs being sung in these languages. The only highlight of the night, was a young boy in the chorus (he was dressed as a young man, not a women) who was the best damn performer of the night. He danced like he was performing before the queen. Smiled all the time and sung like his heart was about to burst. It was amazing to see the audience react to him, and you could notice that most people sitting around us were focused on him.
When we tried to get a drink, we were told that there was only 'dark beer' available. There was no other alcoholic beverage available. So I asked for a coffee - Sorry no tea or coffee either. Yes there was water, but that was served warm, not from a fridge. Very poor indeed, not what was advertised at all.
If you want to see a "real" cabaret" act, go to the Moulin Rouge in Bangla road. They do 3 shows a night, and the girls come out beforehand to promote the show. Their costumes are beautiful, and their show the best I've seen in a long time. These 'ladyboys' loved being on the stage, they knew every word of every song. The engaged the audience and there was not one thing you could fault. Yes, there were breasts on show some of the time, but not for 80% of it. And by the way, it was only 200bht to go see it !!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    15
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I attended this show on recommendations from several tour operators. We had VIP seats which had an open area in front of our seats. If the staff running the show had been more professional it could have been OK. For over half an hour after the show started they were still letting people in. These people then milled around in front of us trying to work out where their seats were. At all times throughout the performance people were running back and forth to the seats where their friends were seated. We will visit Phuket again but not this show. For anyone contemplating a visit cross this show off your list. Your money will be better spent elsewhere

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Thailand? You will be Amazed Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The cabaret show consist of Beautiful LadyBoy ( I mean a bunch of them are prettier than real Girls). They sing and dance to famous song and dances of countries across globe. Mostly europe, america, india, china and korea. What's stunning is the Indian Bellydance. Manuvers even difficult to woman yet, so elegantly and perfectly shaken by Men ( I mean physically LadyBoys are man at first). Its fascinating to see expert woman dance moves done by LadyBoys. This is a must see show. It amazes me!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Some very good dancers BUT.......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We went to the Aphrodite show after getting free tickets through our hotel when we booked a couple of other tours, we only had to pay 200 baht each for transport. The venue was quite far out and we thought we'd be able to get a nice dinner close by before the show. There was a only a Japanese restaurant which we thought we might try but when we got inside it absolutely reeked. The only other option is to cross the very busy highway to get to the shopping centre across the road. If you take this option beware of the big ditch in the grass in the centre of the the highway.
There were some very good performers in the show but some looked just plain bored. After the show the cast goes outside for photo opportunities with the audience and they seem quite happy with many jumping in to have their pictures taken. BUT beware that once you press that button they become like street beggars asking for baht because you took a photo.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lady boy show 40 mins from patong...ok, but wouldn't bother again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Disappointed that the booking agent didn't warn it was so far out of Patong. The venue is great though accommodating 800, with free bottle of water, and a bar that brews its own beer. The show itself was a mix of music, and found it hard to believe that some of them weren't actually female...amazing. Shame half the dancers looked bored...no smiles...and half hearted moves. The main singers though are very good, and the comedy stint, very funny. The audience was majority Japanese and appreciated songs in their language.
On the way out the "actors" stood outside the auditorium to have photos taken with them (not sure if they charged or not) but it made getting out of the building a right pain with the crowds refusing to move out of the way
Basically glad I saw it but wouldn't bother again

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aphrodite Cabaret Show also viewed

 
Phuket, Thailand
Kathu, Phuket
 

Been to Aphrodite Cabaret Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aphrodite Cabaret Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aphrodite Cabaret Show to your Saves list