We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanawan Phuket Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tanawan Phuket Hotel to your Saves list
Tanawan Phuket Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   162/44-45, 162/88-89-90 Phung Muang Sai Kor Rd., Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #196 of 444 Kathu B&B and Inns
1 review
“Worth the nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The location of the hotel is not far away from the heart of Patong but during my trip there, it was happen to be that the roads was under construction nearby the hotel, making us travelers difficult to walk on feet. Thus we rented scooters from the hotel, the staff attained to us quite well regarding to directions. Despite of that, there is a 7-11 just a few blocks away and a mart besides the hotel. The rooms and toilets are surprisingly clean, given that the sandy/dusty surroundings due to road construction the balcony facing the roads are sandy. The breakfast they served is adequate but not for my liking as i would like to taste local thai food instead of american style breakfast. So we walked around down the street after the 7-11 there seems to be a few of thai food shop lots, and found that this particular shop besides patong noodles serving the best local thai cuisine such as fried rice with pork slices and other variety of rice with pork. All and all, this is a comfortable place to stay in for a few nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

So angry with this hotel. We originally booked 2 nights at this hotel and decided to stay another night, we asked a lady at reception what the price would be she told us 600baht but we couldn't pay until her supervisor was here in the morning. We came down to complete the booking with her supervisor the next morning, she now told us the price was 1000baht as they had fewer rooms now. When we asked why we wasn't allowed to book it yesterday at the original price she just laughed at us.

We had no option but to book as they told us to come and confirm the booking just before we had to check out, thinking that we was staying we hadn't prepared anything and had no idea where else we could stay.

The breakfast is absolutely terrible, do not pay extra for it you can take a walk into the shopping centre and get a good breakfast for the same price.

Rooms are noisy, you get woken up every morning around 6am without fail by construction work going on all over.

Very angry at this hotel, especially the staff for trying to con every penny out of us that they could. Needless to say we will not come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

beautiful room, just like in the picture. nice staff, was greeted by a man with juice upon arrival. free internet. close to everything. the breakfast is mediocre but close places with lots of yummy street eats. quite too other than the construction which isn't that bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel was very beautiful inside and had a very lovely decor. However, before I booked I did call and make sure that they had a room with 2 single beds available in the type of room we were looking for. The lady looked and replied yes and I told her I would book right after I got off the phone and notate that in the comments when booking. When we got to the hotel, they informed us that they didn't actually have the single bed room available that night but they could add an extra bed (a cot) for no additional price and give us a new room the next day. I was kind of irritated because I made sure to call and I checked ahead of time that they had the room available, which is the reason why we decided to book with the hotel. Plus, it was an inconvenience to have to up and move our stuff to a different room. The next morning when I went down, they had a breakfast out and no staff was around. I made an assumption thinking that the breakfast was included but after I sat down to eat, a staff member came around and informed me that I would need to pay 150 baht for the meal. The price seemed a little high for cold eggs, some fruit, and there was no coffee. They then cleaned up the food as I was still eating and I didn't get to get anything else. I tried to see if I could get the meal comped because of the inconvenience of the room exchange, and the front desk member couldn't understand what I had to say. Other that these few downfalls, the hotel was pretty nice and the staff was able to help us getting where we needed to go. The roads were under construction, but it didn't bother my sleep. Kind of a mess out front, but they still seemed to keep the lobby pretty clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were there for a few days. Well the rain didn't help much but if you're into Phuket with no crowd, it's not a bad time. Hotel was nice and clean. Its decorative was unique in the way that you mostly see this type at the north of Thailand, not the south. All in all a pleasant stay. Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I had our trip in Phuket on Aug.19-23, 2013 and we stayed in this hotel. Though it's like 45-60 minutes drive away from the airport the hotel management were able to arranged a taxi taking us to the hotel. When we reached at the hotel we were nicely received by the receptionist on duty (by the way, all receptionists including their manager are so friendly and nice. And they speak English too.) The room is so clean and every facilities are functioning well such as the TV, the lights. the fridge, the phone. The toilet is clean and the shower is hot and cold. The hotel cleaners are cleaning the rooms daily. The Wifi is 24/7 free and its connection is fast. Breakfast served every morning is not bad at all. Typical breakfast like breads and sandwiches, fresh salads, fresh fruit juices, fresh fruits, hams, eggs, bacons, coffee, milk, fried rice, tea, to name a few. Enough to sustain your body for a long day of siteseeing. It has its own restaurant, coffee shop and massage clinic. Patong beach is like 10-15 minutes away by walk. And it's not close to Bangla Road where night life is very much alive (if you want a peaceful sleep). And if you're good enough to drive a motorbike you can avail from the hotel itself. Rent costs 250 baht per day but they gave us discount and rent went down to 200 baht per day. Gasolines are available everywhere, 1Liter costs only 40 baht. Motorbike is hugely essential if you're on a budget. You can go to anywhere at any time. Because their taxi (they call it "tuk-tok") will costs you much even just for a short distance. And for the Island hopping the Hotel can book you a package tour to their tied up travel agencies and they give you great discount as well. A travel agency service van will pick you up in the morning from the hotel taking you to the Port where all guests will gather prior to transferring to the ferry which will take the guests to the islands. And after the tour the service van awaits for you at the port and will take you back to the hotel. By the way, be very patient with the road construction that's going on daytime. Anyway, once you're there you're not gonna sleep the whole day, right? What's more important is that the people are friendly and nice and the place is so comfortable and clean.
Overall, our stay was fun and worth the penny.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed just the one night in Patong.
Hotel was well priced for us and the room was nice with lovely paintings and furnishings.
Road works was non stop until late at night and again at 6am.
We had people trying to enter the room at a random time during the early morning.
On departure we mentioned all above to staff at desk who didnt care a bit.
A refund for all the experience would have be great.
Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Anywhere not by the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanawan Phuket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanawan Phuket Hotel

Address: 162/44-45, 162/88-89-90 Phung Muang Sai Kor Rd., Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanawan Phuket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside the 65 comfortable rooms,We also have a restaurant Excellent flavor ,Tour and Transfer information ,Exchange Money Counter to accommodate of the customer.If the customer need taxi transfer from Phuket Airport to Our hotel ( Tanawan Phuket Hotel ) or another hotel in Phuket,Nearby provinces.Please contact us by e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Tanawan Phuket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanawan Phuket Hotel Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanawan Phuket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.