We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Management and Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Wake Park

Phuket Wake Park
86/3 Moo 6 Vichitsongkram Road, Kathu, Phuket 83120 , Thailand (Formerly Phuket Cable Ski)
(66) 076.202.525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 107 Activities in Kathu
Type: Sports Complexes, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The all new Phuket Wake Park is open all year and is the only cable wake park in Phuket. The park is set-up for both beginners and advanced riders. Professional instructors help beginners learn how to wakeboard absolutely free and also coach advanced riders to get new tricks. We also have night riding! In the evening (from 18 till 22) our park is illuminated by 15 powerful lights, which gives almost 100% visibility and ensures the safety of night riding. Not far from Phuket Wake Park you can ride on the new 2013 Tige Z3 boat to wakeboard and wakesurf. We also offer a full set of equipment (wakeboards, life vests, helmets) for both beginners and for advanced riders. The park also operates an outdoor cafe and an indoor restaurant, a relaxing area with pool, hotel, spa-massage salon and wakeboard shop with a large selection of equipment and apparel for wakeboarding.Phuket Wake Park is located in the center of the Phuket Island in Kathy. Conveniently located only 30 minutes from the international airport. Gorgeous beaches, restaurants, shopping centers and nightlife are located within 10-15 minutes drive from the park. The park provides a shuttle service to / from the airport, as well as shuttle service to anywhere in the Phuket Island.Cable Park Information: The park has installed a new 2012 wakeboard 6 Sesitec cable, as well as winch Sesitec 2.0 System. The height of the new cable is 10 meters. The park has also installed 8 new UNIT obstacles: 2 kickers Straight (20 meters) Step Down (20 meters) Pipe (19 feet) Double base funbox (18 meters) Steffen Vollert signature. Number of kickers: 2. Number of sliders:
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Horrible Management and Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Worst staff, equipment was dodgy. They literally sat there refusing to help or do much of anything. Such a pity, would be great if management and staff were semi reasonable. Anthem Wakepark was so much nicer and everyone there is eager and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    9
    2
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wakeboarding fun, avoid the pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The wakeboarding was great but when we decided to take a break the chemicals in the pool were quite high and there was dog poo on the trampoline .. how the hell did the dog poo on a trampoline thats in the water !!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHUKET
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Boatless wake boarding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Phuket Wake Park in Kathu is a wonderful experience. This pulling cable goes anti-clockwise. ( The wake park in Cherng Talay has a clockwise pulling cable). Beginners have fun too, at the beginners cable. The water park is large and clean. Don't be put off by the loud bangs coming from the next door shooting range, you can go and shoot afterwards. If you do fall of around the course, there is a motorcycle with a side car that will save you the long walk back to the beginning of the ride. Overall a great place to wake board and have sun and water together. Ample parking in the car park.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“awesome day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

really enjoyed this place, for someone who has never wake boarded before i found it set up really well with a beginer section to start out on and once you felt confindent you moved onto the more advance section, for beginers it took me about 4 hrs to get the hang of it.. but be warned i was in a world of pain the next day!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Phuket Wake Park is amazing, The cable facilities are divided into two sections, a large loop with obstacles and a small beginners learning cable.

By the end of our second visit; both my wife and i were able to sucessfully navigate the entire large loop course without crashing with the assistance of the Thai guides instructions.

The Thai staff at the facility were great and extremely helpful.

We went to the Wake Park twice during our stay.

Evenings from 6:30pm-11:30pm is only 650baht including equipment hire.

The first day my wife and i attended we had never wakeboarded before so we spent 1/2 hour in the beginners pool learning to stand up prior to going onto the big loop. A russian employee was manning the controls (he is a coach at the facility) and he was extremely arogant and rude.

All of the other employees were amazing; if the Russian Coach had some manners i would have rated this park 5/5.

When you fall off within the large loop an employee on the moped motorcycle with a side cart will come and pick you up saving you the long walk back to the beginning of the course which is great!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Wake Park also viewed

Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Phuket Wake Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Wake Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.