We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatyfull course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mountain Golf Club

Red Mountain Golf Club
119 Moo 4 Vichitsongkram Rd., Kathu, Phuket 83120, Thailand
+66 (0)76 322 000-1
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 108 Activities in Kathu
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winding its way through a truly dramatic 1400 rai former tin mine site in the heart of Phuket, Red Mountain is one of Asia's most exciting new courses that officially opened in 2008. The course has been cleverly routed to take advantage of a huge variety of landforms and dizzying elevation changes. Scars left from the tin mine era have been imaginatively incorporated into the overall scheme, creating a unique character at the same time as establishing an indelible link with an important era in the Island's past. Designer Jon Morrow and co-designer Al Tikkanen, have created a highly strategic and challenging 6,900 yard lay out to complement the shorter and gentler Loch Palm which is next door. While the course is undoubtedly challenging, numerous risk and reward options create a fun playing environment, an exhilarating test of golf and a breathtaking scenic tour around a course that has become a golfing landmark in the region.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beatyfull course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Lovely golfing with great helpful and very friendly caddies! Pretty difficult with a few water hasards, bunkers and trees. Greens and fairway very well kept!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    28
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Golf Caddy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had the most enjoyable day on the fantastic course with so many laughs with our caddies. We loved the course and your caddies.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great golf course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very picturesque golf course in great condition and scenery superb. Caddies average. Driving range acceptable. Changing rooms and restaurant very good. Pro Shop good quality merchandise. Great experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Favorite Golf Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely golf course. Getting there the first time took a while, yet once you figure out how to drive there, you never forget. All Taxis know Red Mountain. Wonderful service. All of the Club's staff are amazing. Fantastic green and well kept.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great course.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We played there in September 2012 on a blistering day. Beautiful and difficult course. Having a buggy and caddy was a great help, although my score would not reflect it !!!! It is not cheap, at about $220 AUD for 18 holes. Minor issue is when you get there every charge is seperate. Pay for round, pay for kart, pay for clubs, give caddy minimum 300 Baht tip. No free drinks supplied, nor light snack, and you also buy your caddy drinks too !!! We also felt a bit rushed, as groups were catching us, and if you lose a ball then they are not to keen to help you try to recover it.... At over $200 a round this should not happen. Leave more time between groups is the answer, but I know why they don't. Would I play there again ? No is my answer. Lovely course yes, value for money, no !!! They need to understand, that not every turn should be a money making exercise.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelBrasier, Manager at Red Mountain Golf Club, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback Barry, please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had with us here at Red Mountain Golf Club. Since opening in 2008, we have implemented 10 minute tee-time intervals compared to other courses in Phuket which are around 7-8 minutes apart as we wish for all golfers to be able to leisurely enjoy our course whilst keeping up with the standard pace of play. We also do 'recommend' that golfers provide a 300 baht tip to caddies after their rounds, however - this is not compulsory and should be based on each golfer's personal satisfaction & preference. Our 5 on-course kiosks provide refreshment drinks & snacks as golfers pass thru the course, however - these items are not free. Complementary range balls before tee-off & cool aroma facial towels at our staging area along with all kiosks are provided to all playing guests. Please consider visiting us again during your next trip to Phuket, I would personally like to meet you and host a meal on behalf of the club to apologise for your 'below par' experience.
Yours Sincerely, -Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mountain Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Red Mountain Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mountain Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.