We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony and Eak Guesthouse

Tony and Eak Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tony and Eak Guesthouse
Save
You added Tony and Eak Guesthouse to your Saves list
213 - 215 Khoktanot Rd | Kata Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 422 Kathu B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good value and excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

In answer to criticisms that I have read in other reviews- no this isn't a five star hotel and no, the view out of the window (in the room I stayed in anyway) isn't picturesque but then again how can you expect these things when you aren't paying five star prices?!

This is a very good value option for the budget traveller- excellent location (for the beach, restaurants, shops, transport to other parts of the island etc), helpful staff, decent shower, remote controlled aircon, safety deposit box, mini fridge/ freezer etc- in other words, pretty much everything you could hope for. My only suggestions for possible improvements would be a kettle (perhaps that's because I'm English and have a tea addiction!) and free bottled water- I hear quite a lot of places in Thailand provide this, but buying your own isn't a massive problem as it is very cheap (about 15THB).

All in all a very positive experience and I would definitely stay there again if I ever return to Kata.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

You can't beat the location, 1 block back from the center of Kata beach. Across the street is a convenience store and as soon as you hit the sand there's a great little snack stand with lounges & sunbrellas available for 100THB/day (arrive before 10am). Tony & Eak's is clean with a modern, ensuite bath, free wireless, AC, room safe and a balcony for drying out your bathing suit. Building is nondescript and can be unknown to taxis - take the address & phone #, and BYO beach towel. Travel desk out front and great scuba shop a couple blocks away that does longtail scuba/snorkel speedboat trips twice a day from the beach (ask Tony).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assisi, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

This is a very simple guesthouse, no decor, no charme, no services. The price appears reasonable, but breakfast is not included and breakfast is expensive in Kata, so one could take a better place for the same price. We were even charged for bottled water which is generally free in most hotels in Thailand.

The rooms are very clean, the location is good, 5 min. walking to busy Kata beach.
It's not a place to relax as the guesthouse overlooks a street that is very busy and noisy all day and night. It' not possible to open the heavy curtains because people will see you from the ugly building across the road. As result one has to either have no privacy or stay in the dark even in the middle of the day. It feels claustrophobic.

Kata is overall a very busy, noisy place where most business seem oriented at squeezing as much money as they can out of tourists without delivering quality. This business is not an exception.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this guesthouse in December 09 for 11 nights and were not happy with our choice. Originally we wanted to book a 4 star hotel, but were told by some friends that everything is fully booked due to high season, so we ended up staying in this guesthouse. The price per night was about $45 without breakfast and the room was very basic, without any amenities, except for small fridge, TV and aircon. There was free Wi-Fi in the room though. The room was facing an extremely noisy street, and sheets and towels were pretty stained. I had to go down to Tony (one of the owners and who runs the hotel) several times asking him to change the sheets/towels/get more toilet paper etc. Both Tony & Eak are chain smokers and although our room was on the second floor the smoke coming from the "lobby" constantly bothered me and irritated my throat. The shower also didn't work well when we checked in, so we had to go down again to ask to fix the water pressure. Also the drain in the shower would clog all the time and nobody seemed to be too keen to clean it. Just above the toilet seat was a huge hole in the ceiling through which you could see the pipes...I must tell though, that every time we asked for something it was done, so I give Tony credit for that. To sum it up, If stained sheets and towels don't bother you too much and if you are OK with the noise and the smoke, it might be the right place for you.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

A very basic room. Although Tony was very helpful if we had problems such as changing dirty sheets and assisting with other issues we found this place not quite as nice as others in this price range. The sheets were were not what you would want to sleep on. The bathroom is made with tiles easy to keep clean. This is a big issue for my wife and I when traveling. If we have another option next time in the area we would take it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

I stayed here for three nights. I had previously stayed in Kata three times before and feel this is one of the best budget places in the area.

The staff, particularly the lady on reception and the owner (who I assume is Tony?!) were exceptionally friendly and helpful and made me feel very welcome.

Room was spotless and cleaned thoroughly each day. Bed was large and comfortable. Shower hot and powerful!

Only a couple minutes walk to an absolutely lovely beach!

Kata is a lovely place to stay but is mainly an area for couples and families, it is not especially lively so don't expect a buzzing nightlife! A tuk tuk into the seedy, but lively patong is about 400b each way.

The Ska bar on the far corner of the beach is good for cocktails and to chill and watch the beautiful sunsets. (Kata beach has the most amazing sunsets!!)

I will definitely return to Tony and Eak and would not hesitate to recommend it to others!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Great value hotel, close to bars, restuarants and Kata beach.
Staff very friendly.
Breakfast not included in the price.
Free wifi in the room though.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tony and Eak Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tony and Eak Guesthouse

Address: 213 - 215 Khoktanot Rd | Kata Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 422 B&Bs / Inns in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the recently developed Tony & Eak Guesthouse, just 1 minute from one of Phuket's most famous and fabulous locations Kata Beach. Families can watch breathtaking sunrises on the beach and enjoy nearby shopping with a variety of stores. For the younger guests there's a Reggae Bar with chilled music, only a minute's walk away on the beach. With a central location to nice restaurants and many bars,the Guesthouse is a safe and convenient option for the popular beach strip. This small and cozy guesthouse has a total of 14 fully furnished rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tony And Eak Guesthouse Hotel Kathu
Tony And Eak Guesthouse Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony and Eak Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.