We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more Lucky Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Guest House

Lucky Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucky Guest House
Save
You added Lucky Guest House to your Saves list
74/32 Nanai Road, Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150 | Kata Center, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 422 Kathu B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“No more Lucky Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This used to be a nice and good value place to stay in Kathu. It is now out of business and closed down. The owner will build a new hotel from what I hear. Sorry for that, this was a really nice place to stay. Thanks for good memories!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Just what I needed - a clean, cheap room, friendly staff, shops and beach nearby. Shower was cold, but I was normally coming straight back from the beach to wash off anyway, so that didn't matter. Restaurants, including Lucky's own cafe, just minutes walk away.

Kata beach is about a 10 minute walk away (try to take the road - the little laneway to the beach is no quicker, and goes straight past a sewer - yuck!).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We went here on the recommendation of many expecting to find an affordable friendly place for two or three nights. What we ended up finding was a total rip off and rude staff. On our walk to Lucky we passed several other nicer places offering rooms for less! And when met with a bad attitude after a long day we gave in to the over priced bungalow. Everyone says the staff is happy to help but when we tried to book a cab to the airport they charged us almost twice the price we found at other places! I do not recommend staying here or even on this beach, it is to expensive and not nice!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed for nearly 3 weeks, in aircon bungalow. Rooms and bungalows are dated, but cleaned everyday, fresh towels also. It is located on a busy road but set back so that it's very quiet throughout the day and night. Situated centrally you are only seconds away from shops, supermarkets and restaurants. And the beach is a 5 minute walk. There is also a restaurant/cafe on site which has very good food, European and Thai kitchen is catered for, but very nice, clean and reasonably priced. The guy that runs it, Joejo is great, he is out to make money, for sure, everyone here is but he is very trustworthy and will sort anything out for you, taxis, boats, day trips etc etc. All in all a Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

very basic bungolaw, do not expect anything fancy.. But I think the relationship price quality is very good..
It takes around 10 minutes to get to the beach and it is located just off the main street, so you are in the middle of the city but the bungalows are not facing the street therefore the place is very quiet!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

having trawled kata for budget accomodation in the under 1000 baht price range, the lucky guest house comes in at the very top, with spacious, motel style air-con rooms at around 500 baht in high season, and fan rooms around 400. worth going for an air-con room as this also includes a small fridge.
lucky is well run, and is kept spotless, worth mentioning that your room will be cleaned every morning, thoroughly.
there are some bungalows outside the main guest house building which i havent seen, but the rooms within the guest house are great, spacious, light and all i believe with balconies, i opted for the main building as i felt it was very secure.
its possible to bring food back from the night market and eat on tables in the massive common room, using dishes provided, but this is far from a great night market, better option is to ask at reception for a good real thai restaurant, not one of the more touristy and bland options which pack the streets of kata.
a very good hearty and slightly pricey breakfast can be had just outside the gates to lucky at the coffee pot, a samll aussie eatery.
the lucky guest house rents bikes and can book most of the normal travel requirements for the lazy traveller, and as a huge bonus the guest house is built on a huge plot of land in the heart of kata, which means plenty of secure parking.
we found the staff very heplful and friendly.

  • Liked — good value
  • Disliked — no tv
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lucky Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Guest House

Address: 74/32 Nanai Road, Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150 | Kata Center, Kathu, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 422 B&Bs / Inns in Kathu
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Lucky Guest House Hotel Kathu
Lucky Guest House Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.