We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag. This place seems beautiful at first glance, but it really is going downhill.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of IndoChine Residence & Resort

Save Saved
You added IndoChine Residence & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IndoChine Residence & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   328 / 81 Prabaramee Road, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 286 hotels in Kathu
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A mixed bag. This place seems beautiful at first glance, but it really is going downhill.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The resort has an absolute beautiful setting, with villas covering a hillside facing the sea. The rooms look nice both inside and out, and it's easy to imagine how wonderful this place must have been in its heyday.

Initial impressions aside, it seems that the Budget for maintainance has been slashed terribly. There are supposed to be shallow pools separating individual villas, but they are dry. Outdoor tubs in some rooms have become little cesspools of tadpoles and mosquito larvae, if they can be seen through the algae soup.

Our room was satisfactorily clean and very nice. The indoor tub seemed slightly dubious in terms of both hygiene and functionality, but all doubts were put to rest when we encountered a centipede in the tub. We decided that the rather large tub would be better used as a place to soak our dive gear, so it wasn't totally wasted.

The coup De grace of sorts was the water supply trip the next day. Right after I took a dump. Disgusted with both the place and myself, we decided to hit Patong, after washing up with the bottled water we thankfully had from the day before.

The one saving grace about this place is the service. The night we checked in, I realised that I had left the passports in our transport, which was creeping away in the heavy evening traffic. I managed to sprint after the van (traffic was that bad) and caught up after 400m or so. To my pleasant surprise, the bell hop had trailed me on his bike, and happily gave me a lift back to Indochine without charge.

The next day when the water supply cut off, the staff made up to us, by opening another room late in the afternoon after our check out in the morning. They also allowed us to use the pool, although that was the least they could have done after the disastrous morning.

The other saving grace was the bed. It was really top notch and the only hotel bed which made me wish I has the exact same brand of mattress back home.

Still, this place is probably a goner unless it gets a huge injection of funds. The rot appears to have started some time back and shows no signs of abating.

Give it a miss.

Room Tip: There's bad, or terrible. Unless you are only looking for a place to crash (with a good chance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    13
    11
    8
See reviews for
15
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed in the Oceanfront room. The room is big, new and has a private mini pool. The ocean view from the room was fantastic. Service was good. Overall, I had a good experience staying there. I'll definitely go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

IndioChine was amazing, we had our own private gaya studio appartment, over looking the entire ocean, freshly cooked breaky daily, Amazing service from all staff. Rooms are superb some villas have private pools some with private plunge pools.Inside rooms are very nice huge double walk in showers depending what your taste is from luxuray condos to ultimate penthouse studios that will leave you speechless. Hotel Gym is outstanding fully equipt gym and amazing air condition that cools gym within 5 minutes. Yaya is hotel Manager she is amazing freindly and will help you with anything you like very professional in her work keep up the good work Yaya :-) Not so far from patong beach infact only 5 minutes down the road. Over all best hoilday me and my partner have ever had. To all the staff thanks for such great service and making our hoilday the best ever... All the best LEE & BEC

Room Tip: Gaya Studio Room we stayed but all rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

If you’re the kind of tourist who values environmentally friendly initiatives, you will enjoy this place even more because of its green conscious design. After a nice chat with the staff, I discovered that many of the structured are built from recycled material and the waste-heat is reused to provide hot water for showers.
Overall, I had a wonderful time here. The scenery is great and it makes for wonderful photo opportunities. It also helps that the resort is only a few minutes away from other beaches and other attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We have been travelling SEA for quite a while now and decided to book the IndoChine resort to enjoy and discover Phuket without the noisiness and touristy-cheap atmosphere of Patong. Our Villa had a priceless view, unique interior and the privacy we were looking for. The staff was friendly and helpful with hints and tips about Phuket. They could improve their English skills though…
Overall a very good place if you want to upgrade yourself for a couple of days and enjoy the variety of asian and western dishes in the hotel restaurant

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Overall experience was good at this resort. The villa i stayed in was on the hills, but had a fantastic sea view. I could see the ocean from my bed! couldn't ask for more..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a week, it was really nice. Service was good was good overall and the staff are quite helpful. They helped us plan some of the tour trips. The breakfast was OK, and we had dinner at their restaurant and it was surprisingly good. We stayed in the Oceanfront rooms, the room is new, spacious and have a mini pool. The view from the room is amazing. Its is not in Patong, but quite close. The hotel has free shuttle to patong, which is good. We'll surely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to IndoChine Residence & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IndoChine Residence & Resort

Address: 328 / 81 Prabaramee Road, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IndoChine Residence & Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Living: Perched on a lush hill overlooking Kalim Bay, Indochine Residence Villas combines the exclusivity of a private residence with amenities from the adjacent resort. Indulge in 200-degree ocean views and spacious living. These extraordinary villas are stylishly designed featuring original artwork, expansive living and entertaining rooms, and gourmet kitchens. Bedrooms offer private baths and spacious outdoor terraces and courtyards for lounging and entertaining. Soak in spectacular views from private Jacuzzis and plunge pools. Layouts range from Gaya studio suites, two and three bedroom pool villas and a four and six bedroom residence. Sophisticated and stylish villas to complement your lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your IndoChine Residence & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indochine Residence Hotel Kathu
Indochine Residence And Resort
IndoChine Residence & Resort Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IndoChine Residence & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.