We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be careful with your bill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patong Grand Ville Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Patong Grand Ville Resort to your Saves list
Patong Grand Ville Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   19 Sirirat Rd. | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Absolute Patong Ville & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 338 Hotels in Kathu
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
15
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

We ended up staying here as part of a promotion by Absolute attempting to get us to buy into their business so 7 nights only cost us $99AD.

We had spent a week in Bangkok shopping and generally experiencing the hustle and bustle of that fabulous city and were keen to just get away, sit by a pool and read - which we did.

The rooms are OK, my wife thought the bathrooms were a little unclean. The staff were fantastic, very attentive and keen to help. Breakfast was pretty poor so we ended up walking down the road to a place called Coffee Mania - the best coffee we had in our two week tour of Thailand, also do nice pastries and sandwiches - lots of Europeans seemed to be here, I guess it was to get a decent coffee. We only had a couple of dinners at Absolute which were OK but better options in town (or the Secret Cliff Restaurant heading towards Kata - fantastic food)

At night the place was pretty noisy from the road but we quickly got used to that. It is true it is a little way our of town but we enjoyed the walk most mornings and at other times used the Absolute shuttle service which was very useful.

The pool was lovely, great temperature and very clean - perfect for sitting around and reading.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Absolute Patong Ville is a nice place to chill out and relax. It has got a nice panoramic view of the swimming pool and the in-house restaurant churns out amazing local food.
Though a little far on foot from the Patong beach, but we hired bikes and choppers for travel in phuket and it takes about 5 mins to reach to the beach or anywhere else in Phuket by bike. Enjoyed my stay and the trip.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights Jan 09 but would have left after 1or2 had we not had to fully prepay before arrival (never do that again!). Hotel Website looks better than it is. Once in Patong we could see there was a numerous choice of places to stay-all seemed to have vacancies.
Anyhow we had interconnecting poolside rooms which we had to get 2 extra beds put in on arrival (how they thought 6 of us in 4 beds would work I dont know). Existing beds were shifted and not a good start....floor underneath obviously not cleaned for some time.
Bathrooms were tiny and the shower was absolutely filthy and in urgent need of a refit.
Breakfast included in price was terrible. There was little choice & some containers empty and not replaced. Food that should have been hot was either luke warm or stone cold. We were first there a couple of mornings & later another couple of mornings but it made no difference & didnt even bother with breakfast in the end.
Hotel is away from main area of beach/shops (about 5 mins drive up hill) which we realised when booking but their shuttle service was not frequent enough and so more often than not we had to pay for our trips there and back. (150 baht approx each way).
Poolside area was nice and usually quiet. It has a poolbar but not staffed all the time. I sat there one afternoon but no one bothered to come & serve.
Staff were friendly enough however would not bother staying here again.

  • Liked — Pool was Lovely
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

I booked the Absolute Patong Ville over the New Year holiday, and I was not impressed. Especially considering the relatively high rate we paid (even through LateStays it was 2800 baht a night). Several things people need to be aware of if you are thinking of staying at this hotel.

Location – it’s not close to anything. Really, you need a taxi or tuk-tuk or motorbike taxi to get anywhere. The free shuttle is okay, but it drops you off at the far south end of Patong Beach, meaning you still need to walk 10 minutes to get to the middle of anything. Although I would recommend visiting the Sunshine Bar across the street from the shuttle drop-off/pick-up location in that the staff there are very friendly. We visited the bar several times waiting for the shuttle. Also important to note that many tuk-tuk drivers and even motorbike taxis have no idea where the hotel is located. And the tuk-tuk drivers wanted more money for driving up the hill.

Rooms – we chose a poolside room instead of the hillside. While the hillside rooms did have a very narrow and steep staircase to climb (difficult to manage with luggage I imagine), at least they had some nice views from up there. The poolside rooms had a view of the pool. And that’s it. Keep in mind the door to the poolside rooms is the sliding glass patio door, and not your standard hotel door. The bathroom was okay, but smallish. But there was a large crease in the shower door, where if you weren’t careful you could get the entire bathroom drenched.

Noise – very little mention on this site about the noise level in each room. Being that we had a pool-side room, I can’t comment on the hillside room. But the street noise in the room is terrible and very noisy. I was amazed at how the sound of traffic at all times day and night would channel up the hill directly into the room, even with the door closed.

I should also add that the hotel lost power TWICE during our stay. Once upon check-in, and once upon check-out. Because of the out of way location the power was not restored very quickly. Oh, and there are definitely more mosquitos and other flying bugs up in the hills.

All in all, I wouldn’t stay at this hotel again or recommend to anyone. In fact, I even checked out early to get a better hotel. Even though I was charged a penalty fee for early departure. Jerks.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patong Grand Ville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patong Grand Ville Resort

Address: 19 Sirirat Rd. | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Absolute Patong Ville & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Kathu
#49 Spa Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Patong Grand Ville Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Patong Grand Ville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Patong Ville Hotel Kathu
Absolute Patong Ville And Spa
Patong Grand Ville Resort Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patong Grand Ville Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.