We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaya House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kaya House to your Saves list
Kaya House
52/24 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 38248, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 338 Patong B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not bad for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This place is pretty good for the price, the rooms were relatively clean and ours had ac and a fridge. Compared with the rest of patong its cheap and not too far from Bangla Road. The staff are quite nice and pretty helpful too but the best thing about this place is definitely the price and you pretty much get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

this guest house is cheap and good. rooms are having all the necessary articles like ac, hot water , tv, refrig etc.cleaning is taken care every day and hotel staff is very co operative.personally what i liked about this is the close vicinity from the sea shore , which we can just walk and get to the shore

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The owner/manager, a very pleasant woman named Kaya, works incredibly hard to make sure you get everything you need, including travel tickets and information. Rooms are clean, many are small, but comfortable and the air - con actually works. In many places it seems to be set on a governor, so you can't get it below 80, which feels fine when you walk in from the street which is 90, but not fine later. Rooms clean, price good, and they never try to take advantage of you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

I booked a balcon night room at this place at least 2 months prior to arriving and also asked for the guesthouse to arrange for someone to pick me up at the airport. I paid 2 nights deposit. I got neither of what I asked for.

So, being a solo traveller and the first time that I have visited Thailand, needless to say that I was not impressed. I had to race around that night to find another place to stay and nearly everything was fully booked. I was lucky to find the last room in one hotel. The guesthouse was not helpful at all in trying to find me another place to stay.

Really awful experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I read about this place on trip advisor but turned up late at night so stayed at a bigger and more expensive place on first night.

Afterwards, I went looking for this place with my girlfriend. When we found it she was not keen - it looks like a house front with some shabby hand written signs outside.

Eventually I convinced her to enquire, which we did and were surprised at how nice and friendly the staff were. They spoke mainly to my girlfriend in Thai - they were also fluent in Hebrew and English although I was happy to let them chat away in Thai while I used their free internet!

We saw the rooms - they are fairly basic but are clean, are not tiny and have everything you need. Large fridge, TV, air con and nice en-suite facilities. These rooms are not 5 star hotel rooms, they are basic guest house rooms. If you plan on spending all day in your room (why?) then you could go somewhere more comfortable but will pay much much more for it. They are also cleaned immediately upon your departure to wherever you are going in the morning which is very pleasant and you can use their (limited) kitchen facilities for free too.

The staff here are great.
The rooms are not luxury but are comfortable, clean and have everything you will need.
Location is great - close to bars restaurants and the beach.
Price is amazing - we paid less for 5 nights here than we did for 1 night at a local big chain restaurant which had smaller rooms and way worse service.

If you just want a nice comfortable bed in a clean room with totally great staff in a great location this is it. And remember - its so cheap it's hard to get your head round it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

All I can say is after all the good reviews I was looking forward to Kaya House. After paying double what was on offer from a normal taxi to get transferred to the house we were lead to a place that looked nothing like what we expected. We are uni students who had been travelling Thailand on a budget and were not happy with paying more at this house for what cannot even be called second rate accommodation. We saw what was on offer and left, only to be abused by the staff via email in the coming days. We ended up finding cheaper accommodation around the corner on the main street in an established hotel for less.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

This lovely guest house is located at the Patong beach and it is next to the Chhabad house. Although it is not very easy to find the place. There is a narrow lane next to the small football field that connects this guesthouse to the beach.

Kaya house is probably one of the best places in Patong, if you want are on a very tight budget. You could get a room here starting from 300 B to 500 B.

The best part about the Guesthouse is the staff, there is a lady called Aeh who sits at the reception. She goes out of the way to help the guests. You can get all the information about phuket from her. The guest house can arrange day trip bookings for the guests at probably the lowest rates in the entire of Phuket!!

The rooms are basic, although neat and clean. All the rooms are air-conditioned, with private bathrooms and running hot water. You can access the internet for free, at the guest house.

All in all, excellent guesthouse and superb value for money.

Stayed March 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya House

Address: 52/24 Rat-U-Thit 200 Pee Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 38248, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaya house is a friendly guest house, clean, safe, great value-for-money, situated at Patong, the most beautiful beach on Thailand's idyllic Phuket Island. You'll find everything you need just a few steps away.All the rooms in the guest house have air-con, tv, hot shower and a mini refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kaya House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya House Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaya House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.