We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% - start 797 THB
Ranked #25 of 288 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I am checking out tomorrow after a pleasant six night stay. My room has a small kitchen which I think was a studio room. Had booked a deluxe room, so I was lucky also I had a balcony overlooking the street, not a problem in fact my room was above reception which gave me very strong free wifi. Managed the walk into town and back many times never having to use a tuk tuk. There is life along the street the hotel is situated in which was nice for a change in the evenings. I was happy they served breakfast from 8am as the high season has just started. Breakfast was included in my package and I had a choice of 6 set breakfast. Not a prob as I had eggs and bacon every day, well presented with toast and fresh fruit. I thought it was a very good price to pay, they could charge more but thankfully they don't.

Room Tip: The location was NOT a problem for me. There is a pool which I did not use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    37
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
56
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor recommendations. This is an excellent hotel, and represents good value for money. A 15 minute walk to the buzz of Patong, but far enough away to get rest, and visit the rest of the island. Patong deserves its reputation as a party place, but for people wanting comfort, cleanliness and beauty - travel around the island. This hotel is well situated so that you aren't stuck in Patong. Good standard of accommodation, with appealing decor and impressive standards of cleanliness throughout. Reception is very helpful and genuine. Taxis arranged through the hotel are cheaper (Phuket is significantly more expensive than the rest of Thailand). Some advice: -Slightly larger portions for breakfast would be nice, especially for the fruit. - The entrance steps are VERY slippery when it rains! Maybe some non-slip mats? Thank you for a great stay :)

Room Tip: Most of the rooms do not have views, but some may have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I rented a car for our stay in Phuket and even as a first timer driving in Phuket, without any GPS, i can vouch that it's not really that hard to locate this hotel as the roads around the island are basically manoeuvrable as it goes along either the beach side or the hill side, and this hotel is located in the former.Definitely a good choice of accommodation in Phuket

Pros:
i) Ample parking space
ii)Spacious room
iii)Clean
iv)Friendly staffs
v) Good wifi
vi) quiet location but stone's throw away from Patong beach
vii)have bike rentals
viii)Affordable rate
ix) Located near Tesco store and many eateries

Cons:
i) No breakfast buffet but limited option of either cereal or egg and bacon-coffee and tea

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I found it in a very convenient locations, since is only 10-15 walking far from Patong Beach main avenue, but avoids all the noise of the night life. Also, the hotel seems to be new, and the swimming pool was perfect for refreshing.
Improvements to be done: The safety box is located in the reception, so every time you want to take off or put inside a thing, you have to go there. Also, they charge you for using a PC located in the reception, is not expensive, but in most hotel this service is free. Finally, the breakfast is available from 9am, which is quite late if you want to go for a tour that departs early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here after 3 nights and a dump with very poor atmosphere created by the owner and his drunk mates and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel.
Perfect rooms, well maintained hotel throughout and the staff were all of excellent quality. I hope the boss pays them well because they are what makes this a great hotel. I would have tipped enormously but funds did not permit on this trip.
Easy to get to location with a pleasant leafy district outlook a little away from the really busy areas and within walking distance of everything locally.
Do not hesitate and go and book - you'll be glad you did like I was for staying
stayed there.
Also, the rates were very reasonable, a bargain actually! This review is from me! a real traveller wanting to put it out there as it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Cosy room with nice wood furniture. Very comfortable bed and pillows! It's definitely value for money. The distance to beach/shopping is bit far. But there is the taxi motorbike available outside the hotel so it still alright. It is good for those who like it quiet. The housekeeper done a good job of keeping the room clean and towels which was made into a little elephant was so cute. The swimming pool is rather small. It will be good if the hotel can provide bedroom slippers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is a nice place, specially for those who don´t want to be in the middle of the noisy party area. It is 15 minutes walk from the beach and 10 minutes from the main reataurantes and shopping places. The rooms are clean and confortable. The only two issues we had were: 1). the safes are not in the room, the are in the reception. 2). Breakfast starts at 9am. If you want it earlier you have to let them know. We were there at 9am the first morning and the person in carge want there yet, si we hade breakfast aroung 9:30...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patong hotels
0.3 mi away
Patong Princess Hotel
Patong Princess Hotel
#35 of 288 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 288 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Atchara
Villa Atchara
#21 of 288 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eastin Easy Patong Phuket
Eastin Easy Patong Phuket
#11 of 288 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palmview Resort Patong Beach
0.5 mi away
Ciao Residence
Ciao Residence
#22 of 288 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hill Hotel

Address: 245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 288 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy boutique hotel in Patong Beach to affordable rates. Great value and good service, under German management. In quiet location but close to the beach, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hill Patong
Sun Hill Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.