We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sun Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 273 Hotels in Patong
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I found it in a very convenient locations, since is only 10-15 walking far from Patong Beach main avenue, but avoids all the noise of the night life. Also, the hotel seems to be new, and the swimming pool was perfect for refreshing.
Improvements to be done: The safety box is located in the reception, so every time you want to take off or put inside a thing, you have to go there. Also, they charge you for using a PC located in the reception, is not expensive, but in most hotel this service is free. Finally, the breakfast is available from 9am, which is quite late if you want to go for a tour that departs early in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    27
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
48
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here after 3 nights and a dump with very poor atmosphere created by the owner and his drunk mates and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel.
Perfect rooms, well maintained hotel throughout and the staff were all of excellent quality. I hope the boss pays them well because they are what makes this a great hotel. I would have tipped enormously but funds did not permit on this trip.
Easy to get to location with a pleasant leafy district outlook a little away from the really busy areas and within walking distance of everything locally.
Do not hesitate and go and book - you'll be glad you did like I was for staying
stayed there.
Also, the rates were very reasonable, a bargain actually! This review is from me! a real traveller wanting to put it out there as it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Cosy room with nice wood furniture. Very comfortable bed and pillows! It's definitely value for money. The distance to beach/shopping is bit far. But there is the taxi motorbike available outside the hotel so it still alright. It is good for those who like it quiet. The housekeeper done a good job of keeping the room clean and towels which was made into a little elephant was so cute. The swimming pool is rather small. It will be good if the hotel can provide bedroom slippers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is a nice place, specially for those who don´t want to be in the middle of the noisy party area. It is 15 minutes walk from the beach and 10 minutes from the main reataurantes and shopping places. The rooms are clean and confortable. The only two issues we had were: 1). the safes are not in the room, the are in the reception. 2). Breakfast starts at 9am. If you want it earlier you have to let them know. We were there at 9am the first morning and the person in carge want there yet, si we hade breakfast aroung 9:30...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My recent third stay in 2 1/2 years was as nice as the first two. This hotel is owned and operated by a husband and wife team (Roman and Pat) with a personable staff. The owners are always there making sure guests are cared for. The hotel is always clean inside and out. The swimming pool uses a modern salt water system to keep clean and the water is crystal clear. The dining is excellent with Thai and European entrees, desserts, and a full bar with open air environment. The food is always fresh. I have had food born illness in Thailand because of eating in the wrong locations so I feel happy and secure to eat a fine breakfast, lunch, and dinner at Sun Hill. They are located in a relatively quiet location of Patong not far from everything in the city and a short drive from all the beaches on Phuket. Sun Hill also offers motorcycle rental (without surrendering your passport) and laundry service. I am always happy to return to Sun Hill Hotel and sad to leave.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchenette so if you like to cook ask for one. If you like the swimming pool some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a lovely hotel, it was very clean and tidy and our room was cleaned every day. The hotel was away from the madness that is Patong but within easy walking distance of everything. The staff are very friendly and we looked forward to the lovely towel art. What a great hotel with a huge comfy bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad-Deccan, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

i went to phuket along with my cousins for a two day stay in september, it was heavily raining in phuket when we landed, we booked a minibus from hotel which reached on time and took us staright to hotel , thanks to weather that our flight reache dlate and we reached hotel only at 2.30 pm .we had to check out after two days at 4.30 am to catch early morning flight. the hotel staff were very receptive and check in was fast ans staff speak good english,the rooms were clean,however the water provided to drink was not upto the mark as other conditions in hotel.we had to buy drinking water from outside as we could no drink the complimemntary drinking water.the stores are also quite close and we went to beach and came back in night . as we were very hungry we requested the hotel staff to give uds brakfast on first day although we reached beyond time, but thanks to hotal staff that they agreed and provided us the same. i would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and any member who is visiting phuket.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hill Hotel

Address: 245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#48 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hill Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy boutique hotel in Patong Beach to affordable rates. Great value and good service, under German management. In quiet location but close to the beach, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sun Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hill Patong
Sun Hill Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.