We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great vale and excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great vale and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here after 3 nights and a dump with very poor atmosphere created by the owner and his drunk mates and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel.
Perfect rooms, well maintained hotel throughout and the staff were all of excellent quality. I hope the boss pays them well because they are what makes this a great hotel. I would have tipped enormously but funds did not permit on this trip.
Easy to get to location with a pleasant leafy district outlook a little away from the really busy areas and within walking distance of everything locally.
Do not hesitate and go and book - you'll be glad you did like I was for staying
stayed there.
Also, the rates were very reasonable, a bargain actually! This review is from me! a real traveller wanting to put it out there as it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    28
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
49
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Cosy room with nice wood furniture. Very comfortable bed and pillows! It's definitely value for money. The distance to beach/shopping is bit far. But there is the taxi motorbike available outside the hotel so it still alright. It is good for those who like it quiet. The housekeeper done a good job of keeping the room clean and towels which was made into a little elephant was so cute. The swimming pool is rather small. It will be good if the hotel can provide bedroom slippers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is a nice place, specially for those who don´t want to be in the middle of the noisy party area. It is 15 minutes walk from the beach and 10 minutes from the main reataurantes and shopping places. The rooms are clean and confortable. The only two issues we had were: 1). the safes are not in the room, the are in the reception. 2). Breakfast starts at 9am. If you want it earlier you have to let them know. We were there at 9am the first morning and the person in carge want there yet, si we hade breakfast aroung 9:30...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My recent third stay in 2 1/2 years was as nice as the first two. This hotel is owned and operated by a husband and wife team (Roman and Pat) with a personable staff. The owners are always there making sure guests are cared for. The hotel is always clean inside and out. The swimming pool uses a modern salt water system to keep clean and the water is crystal clear. The dining is excellent with Thai and European entrees, desserts, and a full bar with open air environment. The food is always fresh. I have had food born illness in Thailand because of eating in the wrong locations so I feel happy and secure to eat a fine breakfast, lunch, and dinner at Sun Hill. They are located in a relatively quiet location of Patong not far from everything in the city and a short drive from all the beaches on Phuket. Sun Hill also offers motorcycle rental (without surrendering your passport) and laundry service. I am always happy to return to Sun Hill Hotel and sad to leave.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a kitchenette so if you like to cook ask for one. If you like the swimming pool some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a lovely hotel, it was very clean and tidy and our room was cleaned every day. The hotel was away from the madness that is Patong but within easy walking distance of everything. The staff are very friendly and we looked forward to the lovely towel art. What a great hotel with a huge comfy bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad-Deccan, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

i went to phuket along with my cousins for a two day stay in september, it was heavily raining in phuket when we landed, we booked a minibus from hotel which reached on time and took us staright to hotel , thanks to weather that our flight reache dlate and we reached hotel only at 2.30 pm .we had to check out after two days at 4.30 am to catch early morning flight. the hotel staff were very receptive and check in was fast ans staff speak good english,the rooms were clean,however the water provided to drink was not upto the mark as other conditions in hotel.we had to buy drinking water from outside as we could no drink the complimemntary drinking water.the stores are also quite close and we went to beach and came back in night . as we were very hungry we requested the hotel staff to give uds brakfast on first day although we reached beyond time, but thanks to hotal staff that they agreed and provided us the same. i would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and any member who is visiting phuket.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Unfortunately I only stayed at the Sun Hill Hotel for two days as I was just passing through Phuket on my way back from Phi Phi. I can't recommend the hotel enough, based on value, customer service and overall comfort.
I was accommodated in a ground floor, poolside room. The rooms are spacious, very clean and very quiet. The room was equipped with a large flat screen TV, mini bar plus the hotel fill two large bottles of drinking water in the room everyday, free of charge (Nice touch!), air con and plenty of spare towels.
My patio doors opened onto a small terrace, which itself opened right out onto the very private pool area. Being on the lower floor, I was initially worried about noise etc but the hotel is set back from the busy road, I had two undisturbed nights of sleep.
I only had the pleasure of meeting two staff members during my short stay there. I have to commend the lady that checked me in, efficient, extremely informative and very welcoming! I've worked in hotels for 6+ years and this was the best service I've personally experienced! On my day of departure, I woke 10 mins before check out time (partying a little too hard the night before I guess :D), I went straight to the front desk to apologise and to let them know I would be about 20 mins late and didn't mind paying for a late departure, the owner insisted that I should take as long as I like, there was no rush and no charge! Great customer service!
I would recommend this hotel to solo travellers and couples alike. The location is perfect, quiet at night but not too far if you want to venture in and enjoy the nightlife of Patong. I would say about 15/20 mins walk to Bangla or 3/4 mins in a taxi/scooter. I feel the nightly tariff was well underpriced, I would be happy to pay more, the hotel is that good!
Overall, a great value hotel with friendly staff, brilliant rooms and facilities... what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Ground floor room opposite reception - The patio doors open straight out onto the pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hill Hotel

Address: 245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 278 Hotels in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy boutique hotel in Patong Beach to affordable rates. Great value and good service, under German management. In quiet location but close to the beach, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sun Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hill Patong
Sun Hill Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.