We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in Patong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sun Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 273 Hotels in Patong
Lemvig, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in Patong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spend 2 weeks at Sun Hill hotel in June with my girlfriend. We had a lovely stay at this well managed hotel in Patong. The rooms are great and very clean, we had direct access to the nice pool, which was located in a small tropical garden. All the staff were great and made us feel very welcome, and did everything to make our Holiday special. We had dinner several times in the hotel restaurant and the food was very good and tastefull, and at the same time inexpensive. We can highly recommend Sun Hill - Very good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    27
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
48
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I can only recommend this hotel. Must say that we were pretty amazed about the quality of the Hotel as well as the service and mindset of the staff. Can only be recommended. That is without looking at the prices which i almost find ridiculously low compared to the quality of it all.

Also the food there is a hidden gem. Can seriously say the "special" snapper in banana leaf is the best fish I have ever had. Had to keep ordering the same dish :-)

All in all - only to be recommended. Do not expect 5 stars - but you almost get that feeling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a great hotel to stay at. Extremely friendly and helpful staff infact they make it feel like home, large clean and bright rooms with a very good dinning area .I have stayed there a few times and have never be disappointed. Alround there is only one word that comes to mind when I think of this hotel BRILLIANT......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very strategist location,easy to go everywhere,the food,cleanliness,hospitality Sun hill has everything.And the money value to stay here is worth it.Sun hill feel like in 5 star hotel.The taxi that send me to airport very polite and safe,the staff very friendly.The Thai food that they serves delicious

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I´ve stayed at Sun Hill more than 20 times now, and I´ve never been disappointed.
This is a hotel that really goes for the personal service. Since it is a small hotel you get to know the other guests really well in the restaurant, so the ones who come tend to return and you form a small family.
This is the brilliance of this hotel.
It´s well of the noice and hustle and bustle of Beach Road and Bangla, but still close enough to walk.
The hotel itself is spotless. The rooms are spotless, with flatscreens and good WI-FI, and the girls cleaning the rooms really make an effort. Your towels become origami =)
The hotel also has a good range of motorbikes and fantastic food...and of course a pool.
So I would absoulutely recommend this hotel to both families and singles. Just make sure you book well ahead, since the ones who have atyed here tend to return.
/Henrik

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

During all month of March 2013 a friend and I stayed at the Sun Hill hotel in Patong Beach, Phuket.
Prior to our holiday we searched for suitable hotels matching our criteria’s and from past reviews on this forum Sun Hill seemed like the right choice.
After our fantastic stay at Sun Hill I can truly say all our expectation were surpassed… and I mean literally ALL.
The staff are exceptional well trained, friendly and always available to assist/help with your every needs. Personally I travel a lot all over the world with my job and I can without doubt say the service level at Sun Hill are parallel to every 5 star hotel I have stayed in.
The management was also excellent and on hand everyday throughout our stay. The manager (Roman) is a well-educated man and very friendly. One can tell he takes personal pride in his guest wellbeing and happiness while staying at the Sun Hill hotel which make you feel welcome and appreciated.
The hotel have a lovely garden and swimming pool which we used daily.
Sun Hill also features a great restaurant which is open from early breakfast to late dinner 7 days a week. The menu comprises both Western and Asian dishes and the food is excellent and cheap.
The rooms are excellent too and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable and the cleanness throughout the entire hotel matches everything else at Sun Hill… PERFECT!
The hotel’s location paired with the immaculate service and general quality throughout could carry a much higher room charge than it does which make this a true “Value for Money” hotel. On top of that… all prices at Sun Hill are NET hence no hidden cost such as 10% Service Charge and 7% VAT will be added to your bill like most other hotels in Thailand does.
A big thanks to the Sun Hill hotel and staff for a fantastic holiday and I will definitely be a repeat guest at this hotel and I can only strongly recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Try one of the Penthouses on top of the reception building… they are great for longer stay as they f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was my second trip at the Sun Hill and it was nother flawless trip.

We stayed in the Apartment Suites which are massive, have great views and have a lift for those nights you drink a bit to much. The food that came to the room was excellent and there is really not much else I can say besides people do need to consider this hotel!

Room Tip: Apartment Suites are the best and they dont cost a lot... Just dont book them when im going :P they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hill Hotel

Address: 245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Patong
#48 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hill Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy boutique hotel in Patong Beach to affordable rates. Great value and good service, under German management. In quiet location but close to the beach, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sun Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hill Patong
Sun Hill Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;