We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent managed Patong hotel – True value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sun Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 261 hotels in Patong
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent managed Patong hotel – True value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

During all month of March 2013 a friend and I stayed at the Sun Hill hotel in Patong Beach, Phuket.
Prior to our holiday we searched for suitable hotels matching our criteria’s and from past reviews on this forum Sun Hill seemed like the right choice.
After our fantastic stay at Sun Hill I can truly say all our expectation were surpassed… and I mean literally ALL.
The staff are exceptional well trained, friendly and always available to assist/help with your every needs. Personally I travel a lot all over the world with my job and I can without doubt say the service level at Sun Hill are parallel to every 5 star hotel I have stayed in.
The management was also excellent and on hand everyday throughout our stay. The manager (Roman) is a well-educated man and very friendly. One can tell he takes personal pride in his guest wellbeing and happiness while staying at the Sun Hill hotel which make you feel welcome and appreciated.
The hotel have a lovely garden and swimming pool which we used daily.
Sun Hill also features a great restaurant which is open from early breakfast to late dinner 7 days a week. The menu comprises both Western and Asian dishes and the food is excellent and cheap.
The rooms are excellent too and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable and the cleanness throughout the entire hotel matches everything else at Sun Hill… PERFECT!
The hotel’s location paired with the immaculate service and general quality throughout could carry a much higher room charge than it does which make this a true “Value for Money” hotel. On top of that… all prices at Sun Hill are NET hence no hidden cost such as 10% Service Charge and 7% VAT will be added to your bill like most other hotels in Thailand does.
A big thanks to the Sun Hill hotel and staff for a fantastic holiday and I will definitely be a repeat guest at this hotel and I can only strongly recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Try one of the Penthouses on top of the reception building… they are great for longer stay as they f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    25
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
45
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was my second trip at the Sun Hill and it was nother flawless trip.

We stayed in the Apartment Suites which are massive, have great views and have a lift for those nights you drink a bit to much. The food that came to the room was excellent and there is really not much else I can say besides people do need to consider this hotel!

Room Tip: Apartment Suites are the best and they dont cost a lot... Just dont book them when im going :P they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemvig, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Sun Hill hotel Patong is truely a great place to stay. Nice clean rooms & beautifull swimming pool.
I stayed 3 weeks in March 2013. And had a fantastic holiday.. The staff is remarkeble trained & the hotel is "guest friendly". I can also recommend the restaurnt, which serve wonderfull fresh thai & european dishes. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels in Thailand & this is truly a full value for money hotel. Thumps up for Sunhill.

Room Tip: Request 1 of the wonderful deluxe rooms with direct pool access!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It is very close to the Patong beach and also to the center. We booked it through AsiaWeb and there wasnt any breakfast included but we tried their breakfast it does not really worth to get a breakfast at the hotel. There are better breakfast options for the same price around the hotel. It is definitely a clean and cheap hotel for the location. Staff are friendly and everyday they clean the room and leave you a thai style design on the bed with the towels:) They also have a pool,we did not have a chance to use it though. I can certainly recommend this hotel for your trip to Patong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel upgraded us and we got in late on New years eve. hotel offers large rooms with a small kitchen and good size fridge. a little bit of a walk to Patong but good value for its proximity. shower was always hot and plenty of towels as well, comfy bed! note they also have a pool

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stay here for two weeks in December it was wonderful. I give them a five star customer service every staff was friendly and the Manager Roman was very nice and he make sure we are comfortable during our stay. Everything you need is in this hotel. The food is very good. Thinking about food you should try there vanilla ice cream with crepes dessert it is so good. The room is always clean and it so cool when you go inside the room the maid would do some very cool design with the towels. I would recommend this hotel. The price is very reasonable and you get a five star customer service. I am looking forward to come back to this hotel.

Thanks Sun Hill Hotel and Roman for a great stay.

Howard Brown and Jeanny Sok

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food, friendly efficient staff! Such hospitality, the management went out of their way to make us feel very special and welcome. We truly enjoyed our stay and will be back next year!
Management even made us a special lobster meal, going to buy a fresh live lobster especially for us! They also assisted and arranged outings to popular attractions in the area for us! Very clean and neat hotel! Lovely swimming pool and a very central location as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hill Hotel

Address: 245/2 Nanai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Patong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Patong
#25 Family Hotel in Patong
#32 Romantic Hotel in Patong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hill Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy boutique hotel in Patong Beach to affordable rates. Great value and good service, under German management. In quiet location but close to the beach, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Sun Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hill Patong
Sun Hill Hotel Patong, Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.